We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fantastic weekend away”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Freeman on Ford B&B
Ranked #2 of 14 Beechworth B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 18 June 2014

We had a fantastic time at Freeman on Ford. Heidi and Jim were wonderful hosts, going above and beyond to make our stay memorable (even arranging for us to watch the World Cup and have breakfast at the same time!). Our rooms were lovely- spacious and warm (love the open fire). Breakfast was delicious- lovely fruit salad followed by a great omelette with all the tea you can drink. Location was perfect- a relaxing stroll down the Main Street to lovely wine bars and coffee shops. We will be back for sure!

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank sharont139
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (498)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

227 - 233 of 498 reviews

Reviewed 17 June 2014

Freeman on Ford was a gorgeous place to stay and an easy stroll to the excellent restaurants and quirky shops in the town centre. Heidi and Jim were charming hosts also. I can't wait for an excuse to stay there again.

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Ken G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 June 2014

Jim and Heidi were the perfect hosts offering the right mix of privacy and warm, interesting conversation. Breakfast was always a treat with the highlight being warm peaches and vanilla yogurt one morning. And the port and chocolates in front of the roaring fire was rather decadent and fun. The room and sitting rooms were flawless. By some accident, I was in the local paper (just in the background of a photo) and Heidi incredibly graciously, sent me a copy. Overall, an outstanding experience. I cannot wait to return.

Room Tip: Victorian Era Queen Guest Rooms - Blue Room
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Elizabeth U
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Heidi F, Owner at Freeman on Ford B&B, responded to this reviewResponded 18 June 2014

Dear E, thank you for your great review. We try our best to have the best breakfast with local produce ie local peaches, free range local eggs, local jams/honeys /fruit juices and it was great that you came so far to experience the local gems all the way from Queensland. Much appreciated

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 June 2014

Just had a lovely weekend in Beechworth staying at the Freeman on Ford. A beautiful B&B in the centre of town. Jim and Heidi are wonderful hosts. We had a great stay in one of the luxury rooms looking out over the pool and garden surrounds. All in all my partner and I were very happy.

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Amanda S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Heidi F, Owner at Freeman on Ford B&B, responded to this reviewResponded 16 June 2014

Thank you Amanda.....We appreciate that you enjoyed your time away and we will look after your mum if you buy her the voucher. It was lovely meeting such a cheerful and friendly couple xx H & J

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 June 2014

A meticulously designed and decorated country B&B where it's location, interior and exterior finishes and amenities are only matched by the 1st class service of it's proprietors, Heidi and Jim.
From the minute one arrives and is shown around the building, one instantly realises that this is a B&B of the highest quality. The rooms are generally colour coordinated and all finished to a high standard with gas fires and also reverse cycle heating/cooling for added comfort. Our bed was extremely comfortable and warm, while the bathroom was beautifully finished with exquisite period tiling and quality fixtures. We arrived at 2.30pm and were immediately offered a delightfully presented afternoon high tea selection of sandwiches, scones, jam, cream together with either espresso coffee or a multitude of tea varieties. To sit on the balcony overlooking the
"Versailles Palace" inspired pool was heavenly, with extra servings (if one could eat any more) available on request. Nothing is left to chance in this delightful B&B...it is quality through and through and thoroughly deserves it's 2013 "Best B&B in Australia" award. Our congratulations to it's proprietors...we will surely be returning.

Room Tip: The 2 downstairs rooms are larger and superbly finished while the 4 rooms upstairs are slightly sma...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank cherob000
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Heidi F, Owner at Freeman on Ford B&B, responded to this reviewResponded 14 June 2014

Dear Robert,
What a stupendous review! We appreciate that you have absorbed exactly what we have endeavoured to achieve; quality, quality and more quality! (with sincere passion and love) Thank you Robert, Cheryl for your support and booking in three couples. Your company make our job so easy; perfect company/great conversations and we look forward to meeting again.xx Love H & J

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 June 2014

We had a great stay in Beechworth, Heidi and Jim take hospitality to the next level and we wanted for nothing. Rooms were warm, great afternoon tea - like a high tea and then port and choccies at the end of the night. We came to Beechworth for the food and didn't realise where we stayed would be one of our favourite places to eat!

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank C M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 June 2014

Just had an amazing relaxing stay at Freeman on Ford B&B which is centrally located. Heidi and Jim are gracious hosts. Our stay was simply beautiful, from the moment we were welcomed in their gorgeous comfortable B&B to the time we sadly departed. This accommodation is run to the highest standard, the quality fittings were admired, the homely atmosphere was totally relaxing, and their wonderful breakfast and afternoon tea was simply splendid. They pride themselves on quality, cleanliness and attention to detail. I would thoroughly recommend staying here and can't wait to return. Anne & Nor (Kew)

Room Tip: The White Petite Room is gorgeous, comfortable and quite.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Anne C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Heidi F, Owner at Freeman on Ford B&B, responded to this reviewResponded 14 June 2014

Anne/Nor, we had great fun together and I really enjoyed the brisk walk together around the lake. I enjoyed "connecting" to two fun ladies and I look forward to catching up. You both know how to have a good time. Great to have met you both; had lots of fun conversations with you both. x Heidi

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Beechworth hotels
0.8 mi away
George Kerferd Hotel
George Kerferd Hotel
#3 of 6 in Beechworth
385 reviews
0.2 mi away
Finches of Beechworth
Finches of Beechworth
#3 of 14 in Beechworth
568 reviews
0.4 mi away
Albertines Beechworth
Albertines Beechworth
#1 of 14 in Beechworth
528 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.9 mi away
Beechworth On Bridge
Beechworth On Bridge
#2 of 6 in Beechworth
363 reviews
0.5 mi away
Barnsley House Bed & Breakfast
0.2 mi away
Armour Motor Inn
Armour Motor Inn
#1 of 6 in Beechworth
390 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Freeman on Ford B&B? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Freeman on Ford B&B

Address: 97 Ford St, Beechworth, Victoria 3747, Australia
Phone Number:
Region: Australia > Victoria > Beechworth
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Room Service Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 14 B&Bs / Inns in Beechworth
Price Range: £151 - £173 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — Freeman on Ford B&B 5*
Number of rooms: 6
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Named the top B&B in Australia in TripAdvisor’s Travellers’ Choice 2013 awards, Freeman on Ford is Beechworth's only 5 Star accredited B&B - and it has held this accreditation since 2005. Freeman on Ford has also won national HMAA awards for Excellence in 2010 and 2011 and is Eco Friendly Accredited. Here you can choose from two options in luxury accommodation - Victorian era rooms upstairs or 1930's style rooms overlooking the private swimming pool downstairs. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia and Ebookers so you can book your Freeman on Ford B&B reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing