We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Warm and Hospitable” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Freeman on Ford B&B

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Freeman on Ford B&B
Ranked #1 of 14 Beechworth B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Blue Mountains, Australia
Level Contributor
31 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Warm and Hospitable”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 July 2014

My husband put together a surprise 70th Birthday gift for me. A 9 day trip to Barossa Valley with Freeman on Ford as our first stop. Heidi and Jim were very welcoming. Room's decorated with Victorian furnishings together with fire. Very warm and cozy. Provenance "hatted" restaurant directly opposite was excellent. Our stay was only overnight, with a scrumptious breakfast together with "Happy Birthday" sung around the communal table, but would be very happy to return and recommended without hesitation. Thank you Heidi and Jim for our first stop on an unforgettable week.

Room Tip: Upstairs at front had view over main street, altjough not noisy.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Jan L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

467 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    447
    17
    3
    0
    0
See reviews for
22
326
14
17
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (155)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Tamborine Mountain, Australia
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 July 2014

This is the B & B that sets the standard for all the others. The attention to detail is amazing and the service is wonderful. Heidi and Jim are great hosts and they make you feel very special from the moment you arrive.
Freeman's is far more than accommodation It is an experience in classic living from a bygone era. Congratulation Heidi and Jim and thank you.

Brian & Betwyn

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank brian c
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Heidi F, Owner at Freeman on Ford B&B, responded to this review, 28 July 2014
Thank you B and B for returning to us. It is very flattering! We appreciate your fine words xx H & J
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
4 reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 July 2014

magic, what a wonderful place. from the beautiful food, very excellent, to the finishing touches and of course Jim and Heidi, beautiful people. why stay anywhere else especially when there is port at the end of the night when you have come in from the cold

Room Tip: ii think they would all be great but there are stairs involved in case you don't pack lightly
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank joseph L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Heidi F, Owner at Freeman on Ford B&B, responded to this review, 18 July 2014
Dearest S & K, what an honour to get such a glowing review from two "movers and shakers"! You have certainly excelled in your careers and it humbles us to know that you complimented our food considering you are such an accomplished chef yourself. We wish you every success in your new venture and you both deserve the accolades which we are sure you will receive. God bless H & J
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Wagga Wagga, Australia
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 July 2014

Everything was perfect.Not only was it a beautiful location, but Heidi and Jim were so warm and welcoming They couldn't have been more accomodating.
Breakfast was amazing and I would have no hesitation recommending Freeman on Ford B & B to anyone looking for a luxurious getaway.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Lisabrenden
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Heidi F, Owner at Freeman on Ford B&B, responded to this review, 18 July 2014
Dear L & L, it was lovely meeting you both and it was refreshing to see how you used your initiative to have such a great time. Look forward to seeing you both again. Love H & J
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Diepe
Level Contributor
129 reviews
33 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 50 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 July 2014

From 1st contact via the web site we felt comfortable with our choice of accommodation. Heidi and Jim, our hosts, were so helpful right down to booking restaurants for both nights. Breakfast was magnificent and plentiful - fresh and tasty. There are wonderful items on display throughout the premises.

Room Tip: We had the gold room and it was wonderful with a larger than king bed, gas fire, TV and ensuite. Ne...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Wendy B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Heidi F, Owner at Freeman on Ford B&B, responded to this review, 5 July 2014
Dear W & D, it is easy to be welcoming as we really enjoy ensuring that guests are thoroughly looked after - You were both great conversationalists and I was flattered that you were so complimentary re the building. Considering you are builders, that makes it even more flattering! xx
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 June 2014

Freeman On Ford is a great B&B with top quality service and value. Heidi and Jim looked after me very well with a great range of continental and hot food for breakfast. The room was quiet, clean and very comfortable! I would recommend this to anyone who wants a great getaway in central Beechworth!

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Henry L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Heidi F, Owner at Freeman on Ford B&B, responded to this review, 29 June 2014
Henry, thank you for your lovely comments and we look forward to having you stay again. Regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 June 2014

Without sounding cliche' this place was amazing. Awesome. Perfect. The room was stunning and the staff are so accommodating and friendly it was hard not to smile. Best getaway I've ever had. Thank you

Room Tip: The deluxe room all the way.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Daniel T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Heidi F, Owner at Freeman on Ford B&B, responded to this review, 25 June 2014
Daniel, our pleasure to make your stay "perfect"...thank you for your great review and I am glad your stay was so joyous. Love to you both and good luck with your future plans xx Heidi
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Beechworth hotels
0.8 mi away
George Kerferd Hotel
George Kerferd Hotel
#3 of 6 in Beechworth
4.0 of 5 bubbles 315 reviews
0.7 mi away
BEST WESTERN Beechworth Motor Inn
0.2 mi away
Finches of Beechworth
Finches of Beechworth
#3 of 14 in Beechworth
5.0 of 5 bubbles 493 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Albertines Beechworth
Albertines Beechworth
#2 of 14 in Beechworth
5.0 of 5 bubbles 498 reviews
0.9 mi away
Beechworth On Bridge
Beechworth On Bridge
#1 of 6 in Beechworth
4.5 of 5 bubbles 339 reviews
0.5 mi away
Barnsley House Bed & Breakfast
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Freeman on Ford B&B? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Freeman on Ford B&B

Property: Freeman on Ford B&B
Address: 97 Ford St, Beechworth, Victoria 3747, Australia
Phone Number:
Region: Australia > Victoria > Beechworth
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Room Service Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 14 B&Bs / Inns in Beechworth
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £££
Number of rooms: 6
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Named the top B&B in Australia in TripAdvisor’s Travellers’ Choice 2013 awards, Freeman on Ford is Beechworth's only 5 Star accredited B&B - and it has held this accreditation since 2005. Freeman on Ford has also won national HMAA awards for Excellence in 2010 and 2011 and is Eco Friendly Accredited. Here you can choose from two options in luxury accommodation - Victorian era rooms upstairs or 1930's style rooms overlooking the private swimming pool downstairs. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com so you can book your Freeman on Ford B&B reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing