We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“john & lou” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of The Provenance

The Provenance
Ranked #1 of 38 Restaurants in Beechworth
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: Australian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romantic, Special Occasion Dining, Local cuisine, Business meetings
Dining options: After-hours, Dinner, Full Bar, Parking Available, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
benalla
2 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“john & lou”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 September 2014

We're semi regular at provenance, travelling about an hour to get there my mouth salivates all the way. We usually have the degustation and individually select a few wines and saki's. Never have i been disappointed with the overall meal, may not have enjoyed a courses or two but that is entirely based on my likes/dislikes - the courses are always beautifully prepared and presented. Desserts are superb, the licorice ice cream is heaven on a stick. HIGHLY RECOMMENDED is the weekend there staying at the converted stables and breakfast cooked by Michael.
We are high end eaters and this is worth the trip and stay.

  • Visited July 2014
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank spooklou
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

393 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    264
    91
    26
    12
    0
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
137 reviews
102 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 53 helpful votes
“slow build but excellent finish”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 31 August 2014

My wife and I made an early dinner booking. We were seated just before the main group of diners arrived but service was slow to begin. I was surprised at the lack of local wines on the menu (wines by the glass) as there are some outstanding wines in this region and I like to drink local wines where possible. We are not big eaters so we chose from the a la carte menu rather than the extensive degustation menus (which also included a vegetarian option). My wife is a vegetarian and quite fussy about some ingredients but it was no problem for the chef to adjust the meal items as requested. My wife loved the silken tofu entrée and vegetable sides. I really enjoyed the beef (cooked to perfection) which included radish and rhubarb slithers to add complexity and taste to the dish. The menu obviously has a Japanese influence and each dish has subtle flavours that impressed the taste buds! We shared one of the signature deserts of pineapple rice pudding and it was just delicious. Once we got started the service was good and staff were friendly. Definitely worth a visit as you won't taste meals like these anywhere else.

  • Visited August 2014
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
3 Thank Ross F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
51 reviews
35 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
“Delivers again and again”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 August 2014

We were fortunate to return to Provenance for another meal and it was just as wonderful. The chef came out onto the floor this time and spoke to diners which added something special to the night. Again really enjoyed the wines and sake. Hard to pick a highlight dish maybe the best carrot I have very tasted.

  • Visited November 2013
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Foodieadventure
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
2 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Great food and service...”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 August 2014

We had a later sitting on a Saturday night which meant we had an edge to our appetites. We weren't disappointed. The menu is varied and interesting. The wine list contains a wide variety of local and international options. The inclusion of the sake and Japanese whiskey is also a lot of fun.

  • Visited July 2014
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Geingis
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Blue Mountains, Australia
Level Contributor
31 reviews
16 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Interesting Cuisine”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 July 2014

Japanese influence and very unique. Had heard about this "hatted" restaurant from Sydney and it did not disappoint.

Visited May 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank Jan L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed The Provenance also viewed

 

Been to The Provenance? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing