We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Perfectly pleasant three star motel”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Beechworth Carriage Motor Inn
Ranked #6 of 6 Hotels in Beechworth
Canberra, Australia
Level Contributor
499 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 178 helpful votes
“Perfectly pleasant three star motel”
Reviewed 7 July 2013

This motel is an excellent quality three-star motel. Spacious rooms, comfortably furnished. Fittings getting a little old eg switches on bed head not operational, replaced I suppose by the remote control for TV and heating. Cupboard in our room awkwardly positioned. Very clean, and quiet though rooms are on the road. Service is friendly. Wi-fi free ... Worked very well in our room but not in our friends' corner room. Location is excellent ... Only a few minutes walk to restaurants, shops, historic sites.

Stayed July 2013, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Sue T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

185 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    50
    81
    29
    11
    14
See reviews for
46
89
8
6
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (26)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
28 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 July 2013 via mobile

I arrived by accident (booked Armour Inn via Wotif and they double booked) but pleased I did. Nothing flash to look at but perfectly comfortable. And it's very well located, two blocks (200m?) from centre of town.

Stayed July 2013, travelled with family
Helpful?
Thank JPTAust
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
108 reviews
63 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 77 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 June 2013

With the help of the local Information Centre we booked a room at the Beechworth Carriage motel. Our sole requirement was for a spacious ground floor unit adjacent to our parking space.

An older style establishment, the place didn’t seem too promising in the initial encounter. The woman at reception, seemingly the owner, had merely to hand us our key as we had booked and paid at the Information Centre, but made us wait while she completed the whole registration procedure for another couple who arrived at the same time as us – in lengthy silences while the forms were completed by the other guests. No notion here, obviously, of multi-tasking in the interests of service delivery.

It was a pleasant surprise to find – albeit some ten minutes later - that our room was indeed large, a corner unit with a high, vaulted timber ceiling and curtained windows looking out onto two streets. Very comfortably furnished, there were places to leave both suitcases open for easy access and packing, table and chairs with good lighting for reading, and a large and very comfortable bed with ample choice of bed covers and pillows.

We slept very comfortably in pleasant surroundings.

Room Tip: It seems to be a relatively quiet street, so road noise would not be a problem in any of the rooms.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank HappyItinerant
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Melbourne, Australia
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 June 2013

On arrival, we booked in for 2 nights. Great location. The floor in bathroom was wet, but the room looked fine. The next day we returned to find that the beds were not restored, dishes had not been washed, bathroom not cleaned and when I asked at the desk was told to wash my own dishes, that HE had been in and cleaned the room earlier. WiFi was also offered but no reception in room. I questioned that and was told that my device must be the problem. We were only 4 rooms from the office! And our device was working at other hotels on our trip.
After returning home, I checked my bank statements and found that an additional $10 was deducted from MC. When I rang the Motel owner/manager i was told that we used the second bed in the room, so we had to pay more. As this was never discussed and the room paid for, I felt this was unreasonable.
All in all, we found this motel and management very poor and would not recommend to anyone.

  • Stayed June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Karen17-1957
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Canberra, Australia
Level Contributor
35 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 April 2013

Spent one night as a stop over. Friendly welcome, roomy and very clean presentation. Close to all amenities. Big spa which was wonderful after a days travel. Would stay there again, Glad we booked ahead as the place was fully booked.

  • Stayed April 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank CDHBU
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
WA
Level Contributor
46 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 April 2013 via mobile

We stayed two nights in the room with a spa. Clean rooms with nice decor. Great spa and good sized lcd tv. A well appointed motel room with all you need. Lovely friendly cleaning staff. Walking distance to main attractions.

  • Stayed April 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank WaGem80
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
12 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 April 2013

Just came to Beechworth without having booked anywhere to stay. I drove past a few places which had no vacancy and then I stumbled across this little gem. Room was quite small but who cares it was only me, high ceilings and a nice bathroom. It was very close to all the places I wanted to see. Reasonably priced at $110 for the night but that is quite standard these days. If I come through Beechworth again I wouldn't hesitate to stay here at all.

  • Stayed April 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank MickB78
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Beechworth hotels
0.9 mi away
George Kerferd Hotel
George Kerferd Hotel
#3 of 6 in Beechworth
4.0 of 5 bubbles 339 reviews
0.6 mi away
Best Western Beechworth Motor Inn
0.9 mi away
Beechworth On Bridge
Beechworth On Bridge
#1 of 6 in Beechworth
4.5 of 5 bubbles 352 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Armour Motor Inn
Armour Motor Inn
#2 of 6 in Beechworth
4.5 of 5 bubbles 353 reviews
0.7 mi away
Golden Heritage Motor Inn & Cottages
0.3 mi away
The Old Priory
The Old Priory
#11 of 14 in Beechworth
3.5 of 5 bubbles 67 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Beechworth Carriage Motor Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Beechworth Carriage Motor Inn

Property: Beechworth Carriage Motor Inn
Address: 44 Camp St, Beechworth, Victoria 3747, Australia
Region: Australia > Victoria > Beechworth
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Room Service Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #6 of 6 Hotels in Beechworth
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Beechworth Carriage Motor Inn 3.5*
Number of rooms: 27
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
We are only steps away from many heritage listed buildings and we are surrounded by majestic liquid amber elm trees and overlook the historic Loddon hotel (now a private residence), yet only 200m from the Post Office, Historic Precinct and Visitor Information Centre. Also close by are vibrant cafes and shopping strip, including the famous Beechworth Bakery; award winning The Beechworth Sweet Co and Beechworth Honey Experience. Share our experience of the true region of Beechworth from our friendly welcome to local and regional information. You will love your clean, well setup room, relaxing outdoor areas and the easy two minute stroll to the town centre. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travel Republic (UK), Expedia, Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Hotels.com, Priceline, Evoline ltd, Hotel.de and HotelQuickly so you can book your Beechworth Carriage Motor Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing