We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Pleasantly surprised”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Beechworth Carriage Motor Inn
Ranked #6 of 6 Hotels in Beechworth
Reviewed 11 March 2014

This was one of the last rooms we could get in Beechworth on the long weekend and I was very happy with this motel. Keith was very friendly on Reception. The room was large with high a ceiling, aircon & fan, a huge TV, very comfortable bed, tea/coffee making facilities and fridge. The bathroom, on the other hand, was small but functional. Everything was very clean and the towels soft which some places fail to provide. It is one block away from the main road and IGA which is handy. I have no hesitation in recommending this motor inn.

  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Stormchaser71
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brian and Cathe... S, Owner at Beechworth Carriage Motor Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 30 April 2014

So happy we were able to help you with a room & that you found everything comfy.

We appreciate your recommendation & we'd love to see you again at the Carriage Motor Inn when back in Beechworth.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (198)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

134 - 140 of 198 reviews

Reviewed 3 March 2014

$130 per night is quite over priced for a country motel that hasn't had much work done to it since the 90's. However, the rooms are very basic and quite clean. Appliances are all new (tv, fridge, coffee machine). Free WIFI is a nice change from a lot of hotels that continue to charge. Beds are incredibly uncomfortable, well the one I "slept" on was. No support, almost sink through to the base.
Location is fantastic, a 5 min walk to the center of town (Beechworth Bakery, etc).
Service of staff was quite average, not very helpful when requesting information regarding 'things to do' in the area or what restaurants to recommend (maybe just caught them on a bad day).
With the exception of the beds, service and price, the motel is what you would expect in a small country town.

  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Grant12369
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 March 2014

We stayed here for 2 nights while doing some family history research in Beechworth and Stanley. It is a lovely country motel, been there for a while, but well maintained. Easy room access and plenty of parking. Staff were friendly and helpful. The motel is also centrally located in Beechworth and this facilitates easy walking access to the shops and eateries.

Room Tip: We stayed in room 15, the spa room in the corner of the complex. Very quiet and comfortable.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Brad2301
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brian and Cathe... S, Owner at Beechworth Carriage Motor Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 30 April 2014

We appreciate your review and happy to hear that you enjoyed a pleasant stay with the convenience of being so close to town.

We look forward to you staying with us again when back this way.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 February 2014

Overnight stays both times, as we passed through from Sydney to Melbourne. Facilities excellent, clean and a friendly welcome after driving all day. Facilities included free WIFI, coffee machine, toaster and lounge provided in each room. Hotel well situated and located to all facilities in the town. The best service of all that was provided was a complimentary windscreen cleaning service. What a wonderful gesture! We ate our evening meal in the closest hotel just up the road. Dont be deterred by the clientele hotel seated outside the hotel. Venture inside and through to the dining room out the back. Wonderful meal and comprehensive menu.

  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ibujenny
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brian and Cathe... S, Owner at Beechworth Carriage Motor Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 30 April 2014

Great to see you again and know that you had a pleasant and enjoyable stay. Good to hear that you liked our 'windscreen clean service' as well.

Look forward to your next visit when in Beechworth!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 February 2014

We had a quick stopover at the Carriage Motor Inn for one night in February. The front office lady was extremely friendly when we arrived at 8pm. This accommodation is just off the main street precinct. The rooms felt very fresh and we were very comfortable given the heat of the day/night. Following breakfast we were pleasantly surprised to find our windscreen being cleaned as a complimentary service. Much appreciated with the 7 hour trip ahead of us.

  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank prta
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brian and Cathe... S, Owner at Beechworth Carriage Motor Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 30 April 2014

So good to hear that you found our service friendly and that you found your room fresh and comfortable. Happy to hear that our complimentary windscreen clean was a nice little surprise and appreciated as well.

We look forward to you staying with us on your next visit to Beechworth.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 February 2014

I stayed at this motel for 3 nights and was very happy with the cleanliness and the professionalism of the staff. The room was a decent size that included both air conditioning and a ceiling fan. The room also contained a coffee machine and free WiFi as well which was a welcome change since most city hotels make you pay extra for this service. I was even offered a ride to Wodonga to avoid a hefty cab fare. I was very happy with this motel and would stay here again. Thank you so much for making my stay in Beechworth enjoyable.

  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Chrissy M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brian and Cathe... S, Owner at Beechworth Carriage Motor Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 30 April 2014

It's really nice to know that you were very happy with our accommodation including having a coffee machine in your room, free wi-fi available and that you found our staff professional.

So glad that we were able to make your stay enjoyable and even be able to help with your trip to Wodonga!

We're looking forward to seeing you again.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 31 January 2014

We chose this motel because of its central location, and were not disappointed as we found we were within easy walking distance of the historical precinct as well as the many dining options in Beechworth. The room was a little larger than some motel rooms, so 2 armchairs as well as a table and 2 ordinary chairs fitted in with ease. The free wi fi was useful (even if the speed occasionally dropped off - perhaps that's inevitable in country towns?), the large screen TV was appreciated and the provision of a coffee machine and toaster as well as the usual kettle was a nice touch. Our room was very quiet and had a pleasant outlook into the side street with its mature elms.

  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Gat16
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brian and Cathe... S, Owner at Beechworth Carriage Motor Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 30 April 2014

We're very happy that you liked our accommodation and faciltities, our staff's professionalism and the motel's excellent location to the centre of Beechworth's historical township.

Wi-fi reception can be tricky here sometimes and is usually beyond our control but we're looking into this to make sure all is well.

We hope that you will come and stay with us again when in Beechworth

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Beechworth
0.6 mi away
Best Western Beechworth Motor Inn
0.9 mi away
The George Kerferd
The George Kerferd
#3 of 6 in Beechworth
398 reviews
15.6 mi away
Lindenwarrah
Lindenwarrah
#1 of 1 in Milawa
365 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Armour Motor Inn
Armour Motor Inn
#2 of 6 in Beechworth
409 reviews
0.9 mi away
Beechworth On Bridge
Beechworth On Bridge
#1 of 6 in Beechworth
378 reviews
0.7 mi away
Golden Heritage Accommodation
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Beechworth Carriage Motor Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Beechworth Carriage Motor Inn

Address: 44 Camp St, Beechworth, Victoria 3747, Australia
Region: Australia > Victoria > Beechworth
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Room Service Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #6 of 6 Hotels in Beechworth
Price Range: £71 - £90 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Beechworth Carriage Motor Inn 3.5*
Number of rooms: 27
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
We are only steps away from many heritage listed buildings and we are surrounded by majestic liquid amber elm trees and overlook the historic Loddon hotel (now a private residence), yet only 200m from the Post Office, Historic Precinct and Visitor Information Centre. Also close by are vibrant cafes and shopping strip, including the famous Beechworth Bakery; award winning The Beechworth Sweet Co and Beechworth Honey Experience. Share our experience of the true region of Beechworth from our friendly welcome to local and regional information. You will love your clean, well setup room, relaxing outdoor areas and the easy two minute stroll to the town centre. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Ebookers, TripOnline SA, Booking.com and Evoline ltd so you can book your Beechworth Carriage Motor Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing