We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Poor service and a bit pricy”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Beechworth Carriage Motor Inn
Ranked #6 of 6 Hotels in Beechworth
Reviewed 22 June 2014

Only stayed here because the Armour Motel was full, the friendly woman there said to tell them she sent us and it's central. When I asked to see the room first the receptionist directed me to a photo display on the counter, she referred me to the compendium if I had any questions, took our payment and informed us that if we incurred no further charges we could drop the key back without queuing. Poor service. The motel was quiet, the room comfortable and clean enough but a bit pricy for what you get.

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank SeriousFrolic
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (196)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

127 - 133 of 196 reviews

Reviewed 28 May 2014

We stayed in this motel for a night ( not cheap) by looking at reviews, but it seems we must of stayed at the wrong place. The person who checked us in was very rude which did not put us in a good frame of mind from the beginning, the rooms are very noisy and you can hear everything from the next room , snoring included.
The bathrooms are extremely small and not finished from recent renovations.
I would select alternative accommodation to this place which there are many.

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank EC120
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brian and Cathe... S, Owner at Beechworth Carriage Motor Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 10 June 2014

Thank you EC120 for taking he time to review our property. I am sorry your welcome was not to the standard we pride ourselves on giving our guests. The staff member will now be doing a refresher module on customer service. Please contact me on my direct mobile 0419309950 if you wish to discuss this further. Thank you for noticing that we are constantly upgrading our property.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 May 2014

The lady at reception was not friendly or helpful and didn't make us feel welcome.
No smile, no thank you, complaints that we might let her dogs out if don't close the door quick enough even though the 3 dogs shouldn't have been in reception, told not to ask her for any information on Beechworth, had to ask for my receipt, and she gave to me in an angry manner just saying "here" and slamming it on the top of the counter, etc.
We spoke to at least 6 other guests that were staying there and they all had the same treatment and wouldn't be back.

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank WandLSB
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brian and Cathe... S, Owner at Beechworth Carriage Motor Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 10 June 2014

Thank you wandlsb for taking the time to write a review of our property. Yes it was unfortunate our little lap dogs ran into reception, something they rarely do. They came out to see what the commotion was. As did I. Only to be confronted by 8 people (4 couples) presenting with varying levels of intoxication. I am sorry if you felt your welcome was not as you would have liked. I was trying to make it VERY clear to you all that we are NOT a party motel. Whilst I appreciate you had come away to let your hair down with friends. We have a responsibility to ALL of our guests to ensure they get a quiet and relaxing nights sleep. It appears by your review that you were happy with all other aspects of our property like the coffee pod machine, free internet and split systems.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 April 2014

I stayed here a few nights in early April and enjoyed it. It doesn't look like much from the outside, but don't let that bother you! The room was surprisingly beautiful, really spacious, and I especially loved the instant coffee-maker with hot cocoa, tea, and coffee! People at reception were friendly and I didn't have any trouble with late-night noise or anything. If you want a 5-star hotel, look elsewhere. This was perfect for me.

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank LilMackRN21
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brian and Cathe... S, Owner at Beechworth Carriage Motor Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 10 June 2014

Thank you LilMack21RN for leaving feedback on your recent stay with us. Our property has a heritage overlay on it so we are unable to change the external look of the property. But that is what makes Beechworth so unique. I'm happy to hear that you enjoyed the layout of our rooms. We have tried to keep with the rural historic feel of the area. Great to know you used the espresso machine. They are a great little luxury in the rooms.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 March 2014

We stayed at the Carriage Motel in Beechworth Victoria. Room was clean and the bed was comfortable. Coffee machine with pods or you could use instant coffee by boiling a kettle if preferred.
Our breakfast of scrambled eggs and poached eggs were lovely.
There had been a mix up because our names had not been included in the group booking. However two single people in our group shared one room so that we were able have a room.

  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Jo R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brian and Cathe... S, Owner at Beechworth Carriage Motor Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 30 April 2014

Glad that you enjoyed your stay at Carriage Motor Inn. Great to hear you enjoyed our scrambled & poached eggs as well!

So sorry about the mix up. Good that we got it sorted & it worked out well.

We look forward to you staying with us again when back in Beechworth.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 March 2014

This was one of the last rooms we could get in Beechworth on the long weekend and I was very happy with this motel. Keith was very friendly on Reception. The room was large with high a ceiling, aircon & fan, a huge TV, very comfortable bed, tea/coffee making facilities and fridge. The bathroom, on the other hand, was small but functional. Everything was very clean and the towels soft which some places fail to provide. It is one block away from the main road and IGA which is handy. I have no hesitation in recommending this motor inn.

  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Stormchaser71
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brian and Cathe... S, Owner at Beechworth Carriage Motor Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 30 April 2014

So happy we were able to help you with a room & that you found everything comfy.

We appreciate your recommendation & we'd love to see you again at the Carriage Motor Inn when back in Beechworth.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 March 2014

$130 per night is quite over priced for a country motel that hasn't had much work done to it since the 90's. However, the rooms are very basic and quite clean. Appliances are all new (tv, fridge, coffee machine). Free WIFI is a nice change from a lot of hotels that continue to charge. Beds are incredibly uncomfortable, well the one I "slept" on was. No support, almost sink through to the base.
Location is fantastic, a 5 min walk to the center of town (Beechworth Bakery, etc).
Service of staff was quite average, not very helpful when requesting information regarding 'things to do' in the area or what restaurants to recommend (maybe just caught them on a bad day).
With the exception of the beds, service and price, the motel is what you would expect in a small country town.

  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Grant12369
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Beechworth hotels
0.6 mi away
Best Western Beechworth Motor Inn
0.9 mi away
The George Kerferd
The George Kerferd
#3 of 6 in Beechworth
394 reviews
0.3 mi away
Armour Motor Inn
Armour Motor Inn
#1 of 6 in Beechworth
399 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.9 mi away
Beechworth On Bridge
Beechworth On Bridge
#2 of 6 in Beechworth
370 reviews
0.7 mi away
Golden Heritage Motor Inn & Cottages
0.3 mi away
The Old Priory
The Old Priory
#12 of 14 in Beechworth
70 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Beechworth Carriage Motor Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Beechworth Carriage Motor Inn

Address: 44 Camp St, Beechworth, Victoria 3747, Australia
Region: Australia > Victoria > Beechworth
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Room Service Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #6 of 6 Hotels in Beechworth
Price Range: £71 - £85 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Beechworth Carriage Motor Inn 3.5*
Number of rooms: 27
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
We are only steps away from many heritage listed buildings and we are surrounded by majestic liquid amber elm trees and overlook the historic Loddon hotel (now a private residence), yet only 200m from the Post Office, Historic Precinct and Visitor Information Centre. Also close by are vibrant cafes and shopping strip, including the famous Beechworth Bakery; award winning The Beechworth Sweet Co and Beechworth Honey Experience. Share our experience of the true region of Beechworth from our friendly welcome to local and regional information. You will love your clean, well setup room, relaxing outdoor areas and the easy two minute stroll to the town centre. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Ebookers, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA and Evoline ltd so you can book your Beechworth Carriage Motor Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing