We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great for big family get together”
Review of Armour Motor Inn

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Armour Motor Inn
Ranked #2 of 6 Hotels in Beechworth
Certificate of Excellence
Melbourne, Victoria, Australia
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
“Great for big family get together”
Reviewed 25 August 2014

We booked several rooms and the consensus was that this is a very cosy place to stay. The hosts were very welcoming, the rooms clean and warm and we had a great bed. The location is great, close to shops, dining and historic sites. Our room opened onto a garden with tables and chairs which was a nice spot to relax. We have been to Beechworth several times and this is our new favourite place to stay.

Room Tip: Rooms at the back are better if you need quiet time.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2014, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Steve B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

377 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    203
    151
    19
    2
    2
See reviews for
88
190
15
14
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (100)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
Bendigo, Australia
Level 4 Contributor
36 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 August 2014

We stayed for 2 nights- midweek. Owner/Manager Fiona was lovely, very knowledgable about Beechworth and surrounding areas, gave good tips on where to visit and great directions too!
Room was very clean, excellent shower! Continental Breakfast was included in our rate (bonus!) and was placed in the room the night before. Comfy bed, with electric blanket! The motel is a short walk into the centre of Beechworth and all its attractions, shops and dining options. Chinese restaurant was a great dinner option!
Only one negative thing I can say is our room was next to the stairs and we did hear some noise of (kids I think) running up and down. But over all couldnt fault the service or room and will be stay next time we are in Beechworth!!
Thank you!!

Room Tip: we prefer downstairs, however the upstairs rooms have a balcony overlooking gardens, which would be...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank GAMWIK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Australia
Level 6 Contributor
187 reviews
185 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 204 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 August 2014

Good value, good location and scrupulously clean summarise my impressions of this Motel. I liked the heater being on in anticipation of my arrival on a very cold night. The motel is walking distance from dining options and many of the sites of this historic town. The room is a fair size and cooled/heated by an old box style A/C - it also had an effective panel heater. The bathroom has a shower only.

If I was being picky I would say the bed was on the firm side of comfortable and the decor was firmly rooted in the 1970/80's. To be honest the motel hides itself from street view with a verging on overgrown front (and rear) garden - which is a shame as it is really well located and has a nice outlook.

Beechworth has many good accommodation options - this is one of them.

  • Stayed August 2014, travelled on business
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank AussieHolidays
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Melbourne, Australia
Level 5 Contributor
65 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 August 2014

We decided to stay a a long weekend for a friends recent 40th birthday party and arrived 1 day earlier in order to explore the local area. Our Hosts turned out to be really well informed on where to eat locally (bakery does the best coffee around - also have to go to the Chinese restaurant it is Legendary. Great fresh food and awesome service and excellent pricing).
The room we stayed in was really spacious, with a reverse cycle air conditioner and 2 panel heaters. The electric blankets were incredibly comfortable in the middle of winter. Even though there is a pub next door (handy) there was little noise to worry about.
We will definitely be back, there is heaps to do in the area and we probably only did half of it.
All in all, a lovely stay made even better by lovely hosts.

Room Tip: Ground floor, access directly from carpark.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Adam C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Adelaide, Australia
Level 2 Contributor
9 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 August 2014

Had a great (albeit short) stay on our way to the snow. Many thanks to our hosts for making us so welcome after our long drive. I couldn't fault the service and the room was just what we needed. Beechworth itself was also a great surprise - what a fantastic town! Will be back one day to explore it all more closely, and will stay a lot longer next time :)

Room Tip: Our room had doors to the parking area which was great and made loading/unloading the car very easy
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Fiona J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Adelaide, Australia
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
Reviewed 31 July 2014

Having had my domestic flight delayed en route, the proprietor waited up to greet us warmly. We awoke on a typically brisk winter morning to see the sights and we were greeted equally warmly. The rooms are spacious and very comfortable in the very centre of this beautiful, historical country town. Spend a night or two, walk The Gorge or spy The Buckland Valley. Additionally, the inn located aside some great eateries!

Comfortable accommodation, great views, along with tasty treats makes for a great stay!

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Scott H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Melbourne, Australia
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 July 2014

The bed was awful, hard as a rock, could not get comfortable. The pillows were the same. I have a crook neck from sleeping on them and the bed and my daughters's back is just as bad. Two days after staying there, and a lot of pain killers on board, I am still in pain. The towels smelt like they had been dried in front of a fire and were far too SMALL. For $125.00, I want nice, fluffy towels. Noisy too, staying near two hotels mean't I could hear people yelling and screaming most of the night. The Fridge in the room continued to CLICK on and off ALL night. I got 3 hrs sleep, if that. I also had to go out to the car at one point during the night, the car park was pitch black, no lighting what so ever. Bloody terrible. Will never stay there again.

Room Tip: Don't stay here.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Penny H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ArmourMotorInn, Manager at Armour Motor Inn, responded to this review, 1 August 2014
"Penny H"
Whilst we welcome constructive criticism, we consider your comments to be bordering on libel and we will be seeking legal advice.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Beechworth hotels
0.7 mi away
George Kerferd Hotel
George Kerferd Hotel
#3 of 6 in Beechworth
368 reviews
0.8 mi away
Best Western Beechworth Motor Inn
0.8 mi away
Beechworth On Bridge
Beechworth On Bridge
#1 of 6 in Beechworth
361 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.9 mi away
Golden Heritage Motor Inn & Cottages
0.3 mi away
Beechworth Carriage Motor Inn
0.3 mi away
Albertines Beechworth
Albertines Beechworth
#2 of 14 in Beechworth
520 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Armour Motor Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Armour Motor Inn

Property: Armour Motor Inn
Address: 1 Camp St, Beechworth, Victoria 3747, Australia
Region: Australia > Victoria > Beechworth
Amenities:
Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 6 Hotels in Beechworth
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Armour Motor Inn 3.5*
Number of rooms: 20
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Armour Motor Inn is the closest motel to the centre of Beechworth. We are just 200 meters and within a 2 minute walk from Beechworth's shops, restaurants, cafes, and historic sites. We provide a range of clean, classic modern furnished suites, a crystal clear in-ground solar heated swimming pool with attached sauna, and a private garden with BBQ facilities. In addition to this we provide every room with free wifi and free off-site parking. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com and Agoda so you can book your Armour Motor Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing