We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“OUR HAUNTED STAY AT THE OLD PRIORY (true story)”
2 of 5 bubbles Review of The Old Priory

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
The Old Priory
Ranked #11 of 14 Beechworth B&B and Inns
Wodonga, Australia
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“OUR HAUNTED STAY AT THE OLD PRIORY (true story)”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 January 2014

When we stayed there got year 5 camp, we went into the font foyer (the one filled with pictures) and saw some moving.

There was a painting with 2 girls an a flock of birds (some standing on the ground and some flying) we left the room and came back, only to find that the picture had moved, the 2 girls had switched places.

My friend had a dream about a hooded figure and there was a picture of some stairs leading to a temple/church. The day after she had the dream, a hooded figure (that looked like the grim reaper) appeared in the painting.

  • Stayed February 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
8 Thank EVJH
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

66 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    12
    27
    17
    5
    5
See reviews for
18
19
2
3
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (23)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
82 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 54 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 January 2014

This place is a gem. It's big, it's beautiful and has an interesting history. It's great to walk around and check the place out.
The staff are friendly, the cafe out front is good as are the gardens in the front and rear.
We stayed in the miners cottage which was very comfortable and we were well looked after and catered for.
Centrally located it's a 1 minute walk to town!

Room Tip: Miners cottage is the way to go.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Nathan R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mudgee, Australia
Level Contributor
275 reviews
61 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 143 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 November 2013

Think we were probably the only guests here when we stayed mid week. We were given an upgrade to an ensuite bedroom outt he back of the old building, probably the most modern part of the complex. The staff were friendly and helpful. We had a wonder through the old building and it looks like it needs a little TLC but seems fundtional and would be a good spot for a group of riders to stay. Within walking distance of the main street and we left our bikes outside of our room with no problems. Very quiet out the back with friendly magpies about. An adequate continental breakfast is supplied.

Room Tip: Ask for upgrade
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank themudgeerambler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
16 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 October 2013

The Old Priory is a lovely old building. We stayed here at the end of riding sections of the Murray to Mountains Rail Trail which was a good place to accommodate three families in the one place. Because of the age, the hallways are noisy and creaky, the bathrooms are a little dated and the main bed in the Chapel Room was very uncomfortable. Communal kitchen was very small for the number of people staying and lucky there weren't more people there that night. Our host was very friendly.

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Ian T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
378 reviews
85 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 156 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 July 2013

The Old Priory is a fabulous place to stay, we stayed here for my sisters 50th birthday and so there were quite a few of us, we stayed on the Friday and Saturday night and had a kids game room, dining room, breakfast room, library and tv room almost all to ourselves, we loved the charm of this place and the size of it is enormous, in fact I have never stayed in a place like this before, was extremely impressed. There was a continental breakfast included as well, and the price was really reasonable. It was so good that as there were 16 of us we could all meet together at the common rooms as hence all be together and comfortable. The staff were also great too. The room was a good size and an open fire in our room. So impressed and will definately be back, meal was great on Saturday night too. Really warm, rustic and charming place to stay, you wont be disappointed.

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank LissyL0u
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brisbane, Australia
Level Contributor
8 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 July 2013

We stayed one night at the The Old Priory in the Miner Room in the town of Beechworth and really loved the rustic charm and history of the building. Would recommend for a nice weekend away. Its locality nearby the town was very useful and a basic breakfast meant we saved a few dollars on eating out. Love the fireplace!!

Room Tip: Miners room cottage was a great choice.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Location
Helpful?
2 Thank JT_TJ321
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Melbourne, Australia
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 June 2013

If you enjoy listening to other people have sex, being kept awake by noisy children, people inconsiderately banging doors, drunk blokes talking loudly late into the evening, or people walking loudly around their rooms or the hallways, then this is the place for you. You can hear everything through the walls and floors in this place. Not worth the $95 (with shared facilities). Worst night sleep in a long time, a horrible end to our holiday.

  • Stayed June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank eat_drive
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Beechworth hotels

Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Beechworth hotels
0.9 mi away
The George Kerferd
The George Kerferd
#3 of 6 in Beechworth
4.0 of 5 bubbles 327 reviews
0.9 mi away
BEST WESTERN Beechworth Motor Inn
0.7 mi away
Beechworth On Bridge
Beechworth On Bridge
#1 of 6 in Beechworth
4.5 of 5 bubbles 345 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.9 mi away
Golden Heritage Motor Inn & Cottages
0.5 mi away
Albertines Beechworth
Albertines Beechworth
#1 of 14 in Beechworth
5.0 of 5 bubbles 507 reviews
0.2 mi away
Finches of Beechworth
Finches of Beechworth
#3 of 14 in Beechworth
5.0 of 5 bubbles 509 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Old Priory? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Old Priory

Property: The Old Priory
Address: 8 Priory Lane, Beechworth, Victoria 3747, Australia
Region: Australia > Victoria > Beechworth
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #11 of 14 B&Bs / Inns in Beechworth
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — The Old Priory 3*
Number of rooms: 21
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Old Priory facilities include:- Accommodation for up to 210 people varying from budget accommodation to deluxe ensuite bed and breakfast and family self contained apartment.- Concert hall including stage, dance floor, bar and open fire.- A range of communal rooms including dining rooms, guest lounge with open fire and sitting rooms.- Large recreation room with table tennis, DVD and TV.- BBQ facilities, outdoor eating areas and peaceful garden settings.- Guest breakfast and Reading rooms with open fires, TV and DVD player.- 3 ? star rating with AAA.- Accredited with Australian Camping Association.The Old Priory is centrally located in beautiful Beechworth North East Victoria one short block from the centre of town and an easy three hours from Melbourne and less than one hour from the Victorian and New South Wales border. Beechworth is an amazing and picturesque township and surrounded by many natural and historic attractions. We are located at the foothills of the snow fields for winter activities and also boast a beautiful spring fed lake or local town swimming pool for summer activities also. The Old Priory building is a former Brigidine Convent which has been comfortably restored and modernised for accommodation, camps, receptions and conferences. Our staff prides themselves and good country hospitality whilst providing an excellent service to our customers. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Traveltool, S.L.U., Agoda and HotelQuickly so you can book your The Old Priory reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing