We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good fun, and someplace different”
Review of The Old Priory

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
The Old Priory
Ranked #12 of 14 Beechworth B&B and Inns
Reviewed 30 March 2014

The Old Priory is a very old building, with lots of creaks and old smells (not bad). We stayed in the Chapel which was a huge room straight off reception. Our light switch was actually outside our room, and the bathroom was a fair hike around the hallways but, we found the staff to be very friendly, the breaky was basic and free and it's in a great location. We had a great time exploring the building and although there seemed to be other people there, we heard nothing during the night. A great place to stay if your on a budget with a group of friends.

  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Karen M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (69)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

42 - 48 of 69 reviews

Reviewed 21 February 2014

i stayed there for year 7 camp it is so spokey i didnt want to go anywhere without someone with me it is very very scary our light didnt work the beds nearly broke the beds squickd everytime i moved there was no raielings on some of the bunkbeds and someone fell off the edge of the top bunk

  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Squidling7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 January 2014

I've been so at odds with myself about writing this review and to be honest I still don't really know how I felt about our stay at The Old Priory.

We were a party of two families 4 adults and 5 kids ranging in ages from 4 through 13.

On arrival the first thing you notice is the serious lack of staff around the place and as the time passes you almost get the feeling you're the only ones rattling around in the 'rabbit warren' of an establishment. There didn't seem to be anywhere off bounds and wandering around there is room after room that you can go into/use with furniture and odds and ends that are in varying condition. We found this 'run of premises' quite confusing as there was no real understanding or direction as to what we were entitled to what was on offer to do there.

We booked two bedrooms (no ensuite) that adjoined a large, dormitory style room where our kids stayed. There were about 20 or more bunk beds of which we used 3 for our kids (our kids thought it was like being in an old orphanage). Thankfully they were the only ones in there during our stay, but I don't know if that was due to the bookings at the time or if they only have one group in there at a time. It was a little disconcerting at night as we didn't want to lock them in for safety reasons, but also didn't want any of the other guests on our level just wandering in.

Our rooms were VERY basic, just a bed hard up against the wall and an old bedside cabinet with a mirror that you had to bend down to look in (and I'm pretty short). The bed was pretty comfy, but as other reviewers have mentioned any noise carries as the walls are quite thin.

There are two large bathrooms with odd old blue tubs with showers over the top - be prepared for water going everywhere on the floor! There are also girls/boys bathrooms that have a bank of about 4 toilets and 4 showers in them - bit like the style at the gym or local pool.

The breakfast on offer is a help yourself type of arrangement with very uninspiring components. Loaf of bread with a couple of types of spreads, choice of Rice Bubbles or Corn Flakes and an urn and instant tea/coffee. Would be fine I'm sure if you wanted to have a quick and free brekkie and head out for the day, but be warned there is a sign saying that you need to do your own dishes!!!!!

On the second morning we ate breakfast at the restaurant on the front verandah of The Priory - wow! Fantastic food and service - highly recommend.

On the whole, we did enjoy our stay at The Priory - it was very different to anywhere we would usually stay, but the kids thought it was a fantastic adventure. Sort of like school camp mixed with camping mixed with visiting relatives (if that makes any sense!)

Room Tip: Both the dormitory styled room and the double room we stayed in were not pictured on the website (po...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
6  Thank aussiegreta
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 January 2014

When we stayed there got year 5 camp, we went into the font foyer (the one filled with pictures) and saw some moving.

There was a painting with 2 girls an a flock of birds (some standing on the ground and some flying) we left the room and came back, only to find that the picture had moved, the 2 girls had switched places.

My friend had a dream about a hooded figure and there was a picture of some stairs leading to a temple/church. The day after she had the dream, a hooded figure (that looked like the grim reaper) appeared in the painting.

  • Stayed: February 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
10  Thank EVJH
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 January 2014

This place is a gem. It's big, it's beautiful and has an interesting history. It's great to walk around and check the place out.
The staff are friendly, the cafe out front is good as are the gardens in the front and rear.
We stayed in the miners cottage which was very comfortable and we were well looked after and catered for.
Centrally located it's a 1 minute walk to town!

Room Tip: Miners cottage is the way to go.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Nathan R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 November 2013

Think we were probably the only guests here when we stayed mid week. We were given an upgrade to an ensuite bedroom outt he back of the old building, probably the most modern part of the complex. The staff were friendly and helpful. We had a wonder through the old building and it looks like it needs a little TLC but seems fundtional and would be a good spot for a group of riders to stay. Within walking distance of the main street and we left our bikes outside of our room with no problems. Very quiet out the back with friendly magpies about. An adequate continental breakfast is supplied.

Room Tip: Ask for upgrade
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank themudgeerambler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 October 2013

The Old Priory is a lovely old building. We stayed here at the end of riding sections of the Murray to Mountains Rail Trail which was a good place to accommodate three families in the one place. Because of the age, the hallways are noisy and creaky, the bathrooms are a little dated and the main bed in the Chapel Room was very uncomfortable. Communal kitchen was very small for the number of people staying and lucky there weren't more people there that night. Our host was very friendly.

  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Ian T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Beechworth hotels
0.9 mi away
George Kerferd Hotel
George Kerferd Hotel
#3 of 6 in Beechworth
385 reviews
0.3 mi away
Armour Motor Inn
Armour Motor Inn
#1 of 6 in Beechworth
390 reviews
0.7 mi away
Beechworth On Bridge
Beechworth On Bridge
#2 of 6 in Beechworth
363 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Finches of Beechworth
Finches of Beechworth
#3 of 14 in Beechworth
568 reviews
0.4 mi away
The Graces Beechworth
The Graces Beechworth
#6 of 14 in Beechworth
81 reviews
0.9 mi away
Golden Heritage Motor Inn & Cottages
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Old Priory? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Old Priory

Address: 8 Priory Lane, Beechworth, Victoria 3747, Australia
Region: Australia > Victoria > Beechworth
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #12 of 14 B&Bs / Inns in Beechworth
Price Range: £50 - £88 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — The Old Priory 3*
Number of rooms: 21
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Old Priory facilities include:- Accommodation for up to 210 people varying from budget accommodation to deluxe ensuite bed and breakfast and family self contained apartment.- Concert hall including stage, dance floor, bar and open fire.- A range of communal rooms including dining rooms, guest lounge with open fire and sitting rooms.- Large recreation room with table tennis, DVD and TV.- BBQ facilities, outdoor eating areas and peaceful garden settings.- Guest breakfast and Reading rooms with open fires, TV and DVD player.- 3 ? star rating with AAA.- Accredited with Australian Camping Association.The Old Priory is centrally located in beautiful Beechworth North East Victoria one short block from the centre of town and an easy three hours from Melbourne and less than one hour from the Victorian and New South Wales border. Beechworth is an amazing and picturesque township and surrounded by many natural and historic attractions. We are located at the foothills of the snow fields for winter activities and also boast a beautiful spring fed lake or local town swimming pool for summer activities also. The Old Priory building is a former Brigidine Convent which has been comfortably restored and modernised for accommodation, camps, receptions and conferences. Our staff prides themselves and good country hospitality whilst providing an excellent service to our customers. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Ebookers, Agoda, HotelsClick and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your The Old Priory reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing