We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The Old Priory
Nearby Hotels
The George Kerferd(Beechworth)(Great Value!)
US$101
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
Armour Motor Inn(Beechworth)(Great Value!)
US$104
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$105
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Best Western Beechworth Motor Inn(Beechworth)(Great Value!)
US$111
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$104
Agoda.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Golden Heritage Accommodation(Beechworth)(Great Value!)
US$106
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$103
Travelocity
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Beechworth On Bridge(Beechworth)(Great Value!)
US$105
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$102
Orbitz.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Yackandandah Motor Inn(Yackandandah)(Great Value!)
US$98
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Top of the Town Motor Inn(Yackandandah)(Great Value!)
US$102
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$99
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Motel on Alpine(Myrtleford)
US$102
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$99
Hotels.com
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
Chiltern Colonial Motor Inn(Chiltern)(Great Value!)
US$103
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (73)
Filter reviews
73 results
Traveller rating
14
29
19
5
6
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
14
29
19
5
6
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsschool camplovely old buildingminers cottagebreakfast roomchapel roomboarding schoolinteresting buildingold world charmself contained flatrice bubblesgames roomlow fussbreakfast was includedgreat place to visitbar fridgecommon areaslovely garden
Filter
Updating list...
41 - 46 of 73 reviews
Reviewed 4 August 2014

We stayed here for one night and were cold. The building is cold and the room with the TV and breakfast had no chance of heating up with the small heater that was in it. In the morning neither my wife or I couldn't get a hot shower (I hate cold showers in winter) :- ( . The place is set up for school groups and that is their main business, they should stick to this as I don't believe that they understand the B&B business.

As the management were not up when we left, I left a note about the hot water and I would have appreciated a phone call apologizing for the lack of hot water.

There were also a lot of extension leads running around the room - this is very dangerous.

On the plus side the lady how was managing the premises was very friendly.

We will not be staying here again.

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
2  Thank fred-pollak
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 July 2014

The Old Priory has an interesting history and it isn’t difficult to experience this when staying here. The building itself is well worth exploring and one can soon imagine the Old Priory in times when it was home to the Brigidine nuns of Mt St Joseph and a school that started in the late nineteenth century.

We spent a night in the self-contained flat. In fact, because things were quiet, this was a generous upgrade from our booking of a double room with shared facilities. It meant we sampled breakfast in our own room, because the breakfast room wasn’t in operation.

Our accommodation was clean spacious and comfortable. We appeared to have full range of the Old Priory and we liked what we saw. We imagine in busy times it could have a very different energy and feeling and if your choice of room means shared facilities it could get busy.

All in all a stay here is well worth while.

Room Tip: There's a range of room types (self contained, rooms only that rely on shared facilities etc). and it rooms that cater for different size groups. It's important to choose your room carefully to match your needs. It may be a difficult building if you have mobility concerns.
  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
1  Thank Rose-Mike C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 July 2014

This place is definitely for history buffs or people looking for a unique experience. We stayed in the chapel room which was huge! Don't go there expecting your own ensuite & 5star rating, go for the experience. The toilet was a bit of a hike, but the showers were hot. The room was comfortably warm despite the cold conditions outside. Breakfast was very basic. Credit to the owners, the upkeep on such an old, large building must be enormous.

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
1  Thank Annat048
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 April 2014

Because we had had such a great time 3 years ago our group decided to book again for the 2014 Easter holiday. Like last time we couldn't fault the cheerful staff who served our lovely meals and were happy to help us if they could.
However unknown to us a craft market, music and food stalls had been planned and were held in the gardens at various times over the weekend. The absence of a person in charge, no curfew and no locked entry doors enabled the public to wander anywhere throughout the building at any time and at their leisure. On the Saturday evening partying went on outside until the early hours of the morning keeping many of the paying guests awake by their singing and loud noisy behaviour.

To improve the service I suggest that fire evacuation procedure be practiced by the staff to avoid confusion by the guests. When booking that prospective guests be aware that there is no one in charge at certain times during the day or night, know that there may be a function planned in the gardens or building and a night time curfew.

Beechworth is such a great place to visit that with a little more organisation The Old Priory could be a lovely place to stay.

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Brenda K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 March 2014

The Old Priory is a very old building, with lots of creaks and old smells (not bad). We stayed in the Chapel which was a huge room straight off reception. Our light switch was actually outside our room, and the bathroom was a fair hike around the hallways but, we found the staff to be very friendly, the breaky was basic and free and it's in a great location. We had a great time exploring the building and although there seemed to be other people there, we heard nothing during the night. A great place to stay if your on a budget with a group of friends.

  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Karen M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews