We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Terrible Customer Service”

The Hibernian Hotel
We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Beechworth
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
The Hibernian Hotel
Ranked #8 of 14 Beechworth B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Oklahoma City, Oklahoma
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Terrible Customer Service”
Reviewed 7 September 2012

Room was booked some time ago and price quoted. Charged an extra $80 on top of what was quoted. Refused to refund the extra money, staff member refused to take any responsibility for the decision and contemptuously told us they didn't care if we used them again as 'they would be full anyway'. I would encourage visitors to Beechworth to spend their accommodation dollars with establishements that know how to be friendly and welcoming. There are plenty of them but this isn't one of them.

Stayed August 2012, travelled on business
Helpful?
3 Thank Wendy J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

89 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    42
    36
    7
    1
    3
See reviews for
14
44
6
4
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (22)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
sydney
Level Contributor
202 reviews
52 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 95 helpful votes
Reviewed 31 July 2012

This is a rare eatery that actually sells itself short and far exceeded our expectations!
What was described on the menu as mere "Pub Grub" turned out to be gourmet-quality meals. For just $14.95 I had delicious salt and pepper squid on a salad with exquisite dressing. Unlike many other lesser-quality pubs there were no unhealthy chips served for filler!

The steaks were also delicious and did have chips if you wanted.

The choice of beer was much broader than the usual Tooths/Tooheys/VB-style pubs with up-market boutique beers such as James Squire Golden Ale on tap.

Overall a most pleasant mid-day surprise.

Room Tip: We just ate here.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank chris19531955
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Canberra
Level Contributor
79 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 May 2012 via mobile

Visited Bistro for lunch during day trip to Beechworth. Lots of choice and good prices. Great kids menu! Friendly service and nice and clean. Would recommend for a meal but beer very pricey!!

Stayed May 2012, travelled with family
Helpful?
1 Thank Rob1404
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Melbourne
Level Contributor
115 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 93 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 May 2012

My wife and I were persuaded by Tripadvisor reviews to dine at this attractive old hotel on our last night in Beechworth which was a Thursday. We both found the food to be excellent. The very comfortable chairs in the Hibernian dining room were padded and not the hard wood surfaces that we had observed in some of the other Beechworth restaurants. The waitresses were efficient and welcoming. Young children were present at two nearby tables. They were well behaved and we found that the Hibernian welcomed children but required them to be restrained by their parents from disturbing other diners by running about or shouting. Except for two large tables that were vacant and had been reserved for large groups, all other tables were occupied by diners and those without reservations were being turned away. Our waitress advised us to choose our meal first before going to the bar to order and collect our drinks. The pleasant ambience of the dining area was somewhat disrupted at about 8 pm when two large noisy groups entered the dining room carrying jugs of beer. They were obviously affected by drink and talked and laughed loudly enough to make conversation difficult at nearby tables. Our waitress quietly explained that these noisy arrivals were regulars who attended the dining room in groups on two particular nights including Thursday after drinking for a couple of hours at the bar beforehand. She suggested that it would be a good idea to dine at 6.30pm on those two nights when these groups came in from the bar. We would dine at the Hibernian again after first checking that tables had not been reserved for large groups on the two particular nights that had been mentioned.

  • Stayed May 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank bowenjk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
111 reviews
52 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 56 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 May 2012

We had a beautiful meal early May 2012 at this hotel. It was only walking distance from our motel. The food was delicious and the service first rate. Would highly recommend this hotel for a meal.

  • Stayed May 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Jimbo4444
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 14 March 2012

A group of 10 of us spent the long weekend in three of the Hibernian apartments. They are fantastic! Modern, clean and extremely spacious. The price is very reasonable and includes a continental breakfast. The towels are replaced daily as are the breakfast provisions. The staff were all very cheerful and happy to oblige any requests. I can highly recommend them.

Julie Allison

  • Stayed March 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jackson56145
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sydney
Level Contributor
25 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 March 2012

We had a great evening meal each at this country pub. The food was fresh and plenty of it. My husband said it was the best garlic bread and could have just eat that.
The young lady was helpful. Ask if we had been before. Were to order drinks and were to pay after our meal. Friendly atmosphere.

  • Stayed February 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank wharatah
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Beechworth hotels
0.9 mi away
George Kerferd Hotel
George Kerferd Hotel
#3 of 6 in Beechworth
4.0 of 5 bubbles 337 reviews
0.9 mi away
Beechworth On Bridge
Beechworth On Bridge
#1 of 6 in Beechworth
4.5 of 5 bubbles 352 reviews
0.2 mi away
The Old Priory
The Old Priory
#11 of 14 in Beechworth
3.5 of 5 bubbles 67 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Finches of Beechworth
Finches of Beechworth
#3 of 14 in Beechworth
5.0 of 5 bubbles 521 reviews
0.1 mi away
Freeman on Ford B&B
Freeman on Ford B&B
#1 of 14 in Beechworth
5.0 of 5 bubbles 480 reviews
0.0 mi away
Beechworth Carriage Motor Inn
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Hibernian Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Hibernian Hotel

Property: The Hibernian Hotel
Address: 40 Camp Street, Beechworth, Victoria 3747, Australia
Region: Australia > Victoria > Beechworth
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #8 of 14 B&Bs / Inns in Beechworth
Number of rooms: 7

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing