We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Best value parma schnitzel dinner ever!”

The Hibernian Hotel
We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Beechworth
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
The Hibernian Hotel
Ranked #8 of 14 Beechworth B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Sydney, Australia
Level 5 Contributor
75 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
“Best value parma schnitzel dinner ever!”
Reviewed 18 March 2013 via mobile

Arrived on a Sunday night to be asked 'do you have a booking?' I thought what? Why would you need a booking for dinner at the local pub...but then when you saw how packed the place was for a Sunday night it was obvious...14 types of Parma schnitzel all for less than $15 each....moist tasty schnitzel with potato mash, bacon, cheese and gravy arrived promptly- also known as the english parma schnitzel with chips and salad...great value and definately worth it if you are in the area on parma schnitzel night!

  • Stayed March 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank MRN901
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

92 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    43
    36
    7
    2
    4
See reviews for
15
44
6
5
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (22)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Noosa
Level 3 Contributor
14 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 February 2013

We came here for dinner and loved it - the staff were so attentive and the food was great - we had the chicken parmigiana and the gnocci, both of which were lovely. It was also very well priced.

It's a really good place to go for a great night out!

I think that sums it up; too bad the 200 word minimum doesn't allow for short but sweet reviews.

  • Stayed December 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank The_closet_critic
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Melbourne, Victoria
Level 5 Contributor
26 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 January 2013

Stayed here over Australia Day Long weekend. Spent a fair amount of time researching places in Beechworth and settled on here due to price and location.
For $150 a night we had a separate bedroom, Open plan Lounge room / Dining room / Kitchen and a separate bathroom with Shower, toilet and basin.

From a location point of view i couldn't have been happier. Even though we were next to the Hibernian Pub we didnt hear one bit of noise from them the whole time (3 nights) we were there. We were also roughly 200metres from the main street roundabout, with the local supermarket roughly the same distance.

We booked through the Tourist Information centre and they couldn't have been more helpful from booking the accomodation through to advising of attractions etc when we were there.

Our room though was air-conditioned throughout and the breakfast items were good although we did stock up on our own from the supermarket. My only complaint was the cleaning wasn't the best from the previous occupants but not real dramas. Kitchen had lots of plates and dishes and cutlery etc but the Coffee sachets they give you were "International Roast"...surely they could have pushed the boat out to Nescafe! Oh and the bed was very hard....

All in all a great package of cost / location and amenities and would definitely stay there again.

  • Stayed January 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Willjd
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Melbourne, Australia
Level 6 Contributor
203 reviews
58 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 142 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 January 2013

Friends invited us to join them in the cheap parma night on a Sunday night. It was great. A booking is recommended as the restaurant was full and apparently often is. For $14.90 there is a choice of about 8 different styles of chicken parma with chips and salad. All tasty and plenty of everything. We also had the garlic bread as one of our party reckons it's the best...it was ok. A bit heavy on the butter for us. Good range of local beers and ciders. Wine by the glass and Japanese beer!. Quite noisy but that is expected in a full pub dining room. Good value for money

  • Stayed January 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank judykbee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Oklahoma City, Oklahoma
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 September 2012

Room was booked some time ago and price quoted. Charged an extra $80 on top of what was quoted. Refused to refund the extra money, staff member refused to take any responsibility for the decision and contemptuously told us they didn't care if we used them again as 'they would be full anyway'. I would encourage visitors to Beechworth to spend their accommodation dollars with establishements that know how to be friendly and welcoming. There are plenty of them but this isn't one of them.

Stayed August 2012, travelled on business
Helpful?
3 Thank Wendy J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
sydney
Level 6 Contributor
217 reviews
55 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 105 helpful votes
Reviewed 31 July 2012

This is a rare eatery that actually sells itself short and far exceeded our expectations!
What was described on the menu as mere "Pub Grub" turned out to be gourmet-quality meals. For just $14.95 I had delicious salt and pepper squid on a salad with exquisite dressing. Unlike many other lesser-quality pubs there were no unhealthy chips served for filler!

The steaks were also delicious and did have chips if you wanted.

The choice of beer was much broader than the usual Tooths/Tooheys/VB-style pubs with up-market boutique beers such as James Squire Golden Ale on tap.

Overall a most pleasant mid-day surprise.

Room Tip: We just ate here.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank chris19531955
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Canberra
Level 5 Contributor
79 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 May 2012 via mobile

Visited Bistro for lunch during day trip to Beechworth. Lots of choice and good prices. Great kids menu! Friendly service and nice and clean. Would recommend for a meal but beer very pricey!!

Stayed May 2012, travelled with family
Helpful?
1 Thank Rob1404
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Beechworth hotels
0.9 mi away
George Kerferd Hotel
George Kerferd Hotel
#3 of 6 in Beechworth
362 reviews
0.7 mi away
Best Western Beechworth Motor Inn
0.2 mi away
Armour Motor Inn
Armour Motor Inn
#2 of 6 in Beechworth
370 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.9 mi away
Beechworth On Bridge
Beechworth On Bridge
#1 of 6 in Beechworth
357 reviews
0.0 mi away
Beechworth Carriage Motor Inn
0.7 mi away
Golden Heritage Motor Inn & Cottages
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Hibernian Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Hibernian Hotel

Property: The Hibernian Hotel
Address: 40 Camp Street, Beechworth, Victoria 3747, Australia
Region: Australia > Victoria > Beechworth
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #8 of 14 B&Bs / Inns in Beechworth
Number of rooms: 7

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing