We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“What a wonderful find!”

The Hibernian Hotel
We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Beechworth
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
The Hibernian Hotel
Ranked #10 of 14 Beechworth B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 27 April 2014

Very happily surprised by the cleanliness, location, functional and very cost effective place to stay for a night. Traveling with a family of five is always hard to find suitable and affordable accommodation. this was perfect. Breakfast in the fridge, fantastic rooms and a very central location. We will most definitely stay again. This place is exceptional.

Room Tip: Just chat to Helen in reception when you book and I am sure she will find you a suitable room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank SingaporeSusie222
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (92)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

60 - 66 of 92 reviews

Reviewed 4 April 2014

We stayed here for one night only, but would rate this as the best accommodation we had whilst travelling in Australia recently. We had a two bedroom apartment, was incredibly spacious, very tidy and had very good air conditioning! The Staff were very friendly and it appeared nothing was too much trouble. Breakfast was included in the price and was more than adequate. Overall a lovely stay in a gorgeous part of Australia!!!

  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Gaznbeth
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 March 2014

For the same price of a small motel room nearby, you can stay in a 2-bedroom apartment. Only 2 years old, they are fresh and spacious. Only 7 on site ( two are double bedroomed with upstairs storey) with parking outside door. I arrived hot and harassed because my motel booking has been inexplicably cancelled on a group vintage car tour. Rod was most helpful and professional. Free guest laundry facilities, IGA supermarket a 2 minute walk away with easy stroll to shopping centre with several restaurants, cafe and bakery. Don't be misled thinking this is noisy and part of a hotel -- the Hibernian has been a hotel since Gold rush days of 1868 but everything is modern and was quiet when we stayed mid-week outside of school hols.There are reverse cycle air con/heaters in lounge and both bedrooms. Liked extra handsink in kitchen with guest towel, mugs, wine and tumbler glasses and continental breakfast with 4 packets of cereal, 2 small bottles of orange juice, 4 slices of bread, large jug of fresh milk, black tea bags and instant coffee sachets and sweet biscuits.There is a TV in lounge downstairs and upstairs in master bedroom, but we used neither. Fridge and microwave but no stove. Tubes of Shampoo conditioner and shower gel provided plus hairdryer. Overall highly recommended and good value. Why stay in a small motel room?

  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank jeeves2576
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 March 2014

I agree with what most other reviewers have noted: spacious apartments with separate bedroom and living room with basic kitchen facilities. Fabulous bathroom and everywhere spotlessly clean. Being right in the centre of town, it's convenient to walk to restaurants, although the menu at the Hibernian is excellent and definitely worth a look. Overall a great place to stay in Beechworth and good value for money.

  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Bernie P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 October 2013

Great location. Fairly new, excellent bathroom. Extremely clean. Stairs to upstairs bedroom, bathroom and toilet. Staff in hotel / reception unhelpful and surely. Cleaning lady lovely and does a fantastic job. Excellent heating and air con. Two decent televisions. The apartment has a microwave, but no cook top or or oven. Almost no food preparation objects in cupboard, so perhaps you are meant to eat out at night.
We found it extremely comfortable, but thought they could make it more attractive with better pictures on the wall. When I return to Beechworth, I would stay at the same place, but bring frozen meals from home, due to the lack of kitchen equipment.

Room Tip: We chose this place because it had two bedrooms, and each bedroom had a queen sized bed. This is per...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank 25gypsy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 October 2013

Alongside the Hibernian Hotel are 7 lovely apartments that are centrally located to the town centre allowing you to walk to nearly every thing.

The rooms are very well appointed with a small kitchenette and lounge area. Only down side is no window in the bedrooms. There are two units that a clearly double with upstairs.

We were charged $135.00 and that included continental breakfast - a bargain.

Parking is at the front door and just across the road is the Hibernian Hotel, a friendly hotel covering food, drink, tab and even entertainment on Saturday night (live music)
Bistro is very user friendly though Saturday night saw a few large groups holding up meal for others but really excellent food at affordable prices
Staff could do well to brush up on their knowledge or should I say lack of knowledge re wines and likewise waitress should not take plates away from tables when others at table are clearly still eating..

  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Noddy47
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 October 2013

This looks just like any other Hotel-Motel: But it isn't.
The hotel is a typical small country pub with a popular and reasonably priced bistro.
But the accommodation, whilst priced like a middle of the road motel, actually provides self-contained apartments.
I stayed two nights in a single bedroom apartment which had a living-dining-kitchinette with microwave, fridge, digital plasma TV and DVD player; a nice clean modern bathroom with shower, and a bedroom with queen-sized bed and another TV.
Rarely, both TV's had sleep timers which is a welcome change to those found in many hotels.

  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank potblak
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Beechworth hotels
0.7 mi away
Best Western Beechworth Motor Inn
0.5 mi away
Albertines Beechworth
Albertines Beechworth
#1 of 14 in Beechworth
565 reviews
0.2 mi away
Finches of Beechworth
Finches of Beechworth
#3 of 14 in Beechworth
598 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Freeman on Ford B&B
Freeman on Ford B&B
#2 of 14 in Beechworth
514 reviews
0.1 mi away
Provenance Accommodation
Provenance Accommodation
#8 of 14 in Beechworth
51 reviews
0.5 mi away
Barnsley House Bed & Breakfast
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Hibernian Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Hibernian Hotel

Address: 40 Camp Street, Beechworth, Victoria 3747, Australia
Region: Australia > Victoria > Beechworth
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #10 of 14 B&Bs / Inns in Beechworth
Number of rooms: 7

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing