We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Our experience was very disappointing.”
Review of Hotel Nicholas

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Beechworth
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Hotel Nicholas
Ranked #9 of 14 Beechworth B&B and Inns
Australia
Level 5 Contributor
82 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 47 helpful votes
“Our experience was very disappointing.”
Reviewed 30 April 2014

We stopped by hoping for a nice country hotel meal while recently in Beechworth. Without going into it to much, go somewhere else. There are plenty of options in the town. We ended up at the Hibernian down the road and found their restaurant friendly, well priced and quiet.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank KentAustralia
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

49 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    22
    18
    4
    3
    2
See reviews for
10
23
5
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (12)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Wellsford, New Zealand
Level 5 Contributor
89 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 January 2014

We decided to avoid the lunchtime throngs at the cafes in Beechworth and went into the dining room at the Hotel Nicholas. What a treasure-trove the dining room is...lots of old photos and mementos of the past. The staff were all extremely friendly and the bistro food served was tasty and of generous-sized portions. We each had a beer with lunch and when combined with the cost of the food, we came away thinking we had received great value.

Stayed January 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
2 Thank Lesley P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tauranga, Bay of Plenty, New Zealand
Level 6 Contributor
129 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 51 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 December 2013

Having visited Beechworth briefly during a day-long tourist bus trip I returned via public transport on my own. It soon became evident that I needed more time there than the bus timetable allowed. I chose the Nicholas as we'd viewed the many historic photos there during the tour. Within minutes I was shown to a spacious room which exuded a Victorian atmosphere yet had all the conveniences one expects today including heat pump, hair dryer, radio/clock and TV. There was balcony with table and chairs plus a rocking chair. I particularly noted the small things that add so much to one's experience: plenty of coat-hangers, good quality coffee bags; wine glasses for both red and white plus tumblers; tasteful pictures reflecting the ambience; serviettes; matching furniture; large, comfortable bed, plenty of pillows, even a fruit bowl and a platter. The price of $100 included a continental breakfast which was organised and placed in the fridge or was already in the cupboard. There was a bottle of orange juice, a choice of two individual packets of cereal, a jug of milk, cartons of peaches and yoghurt, 4 slices of toast bread [both grain and white] and a whole container of jams/marmalade etc. No one could fault the cleanliness of the room; not a speck of dust, new looking towels and the stainless steel taps, mirror surrounds etc. were polished to the max. I had both dinner and lunch there and both were excellent. Where else would you get a mix of eight roast vegetables with a roast lamb dinner for under $20. Their selection of local wines was also first class and reasonable.
I was given a personal view of their historic cellar and help with finding my way around town and check out was arranged to suit my requirements and my pack stored until required later in the day.
There is also an extensive choice of bars and dining area which would suit all needs. The public bar, though small, was quiet and the patrons friendly. One even found me the cricket score from NZ on his smart phone.
All the staff were lovely and friendly, nothing was too much trouble.
I cannot recommend this venue too highly and certainly enhanced my visitor experience. It rates above just about all I have stayed in around the world which command far higher prices.

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Carol O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brisbane, Australia
Level 5 Contributor
57 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 November 2013

We had lunch here after visiting Splatoons and the service was friendly and efficient. They brought out our meals and they were ample to say the least (huge) and the food was fresh and cooked perfectly for us. The meals are priced for those on a budget which is fantastic. Highly recommended.

Room Tip: We didn't stay here, just had a meal.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank jane s
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Adelaide
Level 4 Contributor
31 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 November 2013

I spent four nights in Beechworth, at the Lake Samball Caravan Park, and had dinner in the Nicholas every night.
Great food, one of the best rib eye steaks I have had, freindly casual atmosphere and serve some of the local brewery, Bridge Road, beers.
Definitely recommend

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Aidan H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Melbourne, Australia
Level 5 Contributor
58 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 52 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 August 2013 via mobile

We ate dinner here. The place is full if character. No folded serviettes, silverware or wine glasses. Order at the bar.
Food is excellent. Large portions. Well priced.
I had the Thai beef noodle salad. $19. Excellent and v large.
Partner had lamb shanks w mash and veg $22. Excellent.
Highly recommended.

  • Stayed August 2013
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
Helpful?
Thank MichaelZZZ
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Melbourne, Australia
Level 3 Contributor
18 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 February 2013

Warm night, dinner on the balcony at the Nicholas is a treat. Good Thai food, slightly surly waitress, but a brilliant location for surveying the world. Decor within the building is lovely and period authentic, all of the other staff were warm and friendly. Residential part looks really nice.

  • Stayed February 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank John F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Beechworth hotels
0.7 mi away
George Kerferd Hotel
George Kerferd Hotel
#3 of 6 in Beechworth
364 reviews
0.0 mi away
Armour Motor Inn
Armour Motor Inn
#2 of 6 in Beechworth
373 reviews
0.9 mi away
Beechworth On Bridge
Beechworth On Bridge
#1 of 6 in Beechworth
358 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Beechworth Carriage Motor Inn
0.1 mi away
Freeman on Ford B&B
Freeman on Ford B&B
#2 of 14 in Beechworth
494 reviews
0.3 mi away
Finches of Beechworth
Finches of Beechworth
#3 of 14 in Beechworth
542 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Nicholas? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Nicholas

Property: Hotel Nicholas
Address: 1A Camp St, Beechworth, Victoria 3747, Australia
Region: Australia > Victoria > Beechworth
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #9 of 14 B&Bs / Inns in Beechworth
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Number of rooms: 2

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing