We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nicely Presented, Well Appointed Rooms”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Provenance Accommodation
Ranked #9 of 14 Beechworth B&B and Inns
Reviewed 17 April 2012

My partner and I stayed for one night on a visit to Beechworth. We had been recommended Provenance Restaurant (reviewed separately) by friends so decided to stay the night for ease.

The rooms are clean and spacious, simply decorated but with everything you need. The chilled bottle of Prosecco on arrival was a nice touch. The bathroom had a very large spa, his and hers sinks and large walk-in shower with double heads so is a great setup for couples.

The rooms are situated behind the old bank which serves as the restaurant, and being set back a little are very quiet. A lovely breakfast of fresh croissants, preserves and a cooked option is served up in the dining room.

If you are from out of town and eating at the restaurant then the rooms are a great way of settling in to a few bottles of wine and still being back in your room within a minute! Even if you aren't eating at the restaurant the accommodation is on Beechworth's main street so within 5 minutes of everything in the town.

Overall, a short but pleasant stay.

  • Stayed: April 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank WanderSmog
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (51)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

47 - 51 of 51 reviews

Reviewed 28 March 2012

We stayed here in December for a couple of nights. The rooms are located at the back of the main building where the restaurant is located. It is private and relatively quiet. The rooms have been renovated in style and it felt luxurious. The breakfasts were ok & cooked to order. What disappointed us was that we felt like we were in the way. The owner (Michael) may be a superb chef but he doesn't seem to do people all that well. When people chose to stay in B & B or similar - they do so because they want more than an impersonal motel experience. If you are thinking of staying there & expect an engaging experience then I would suggest you look elsewhere. If you like a bit of luxury but still motel style living - then this may be the place for you.

  • Stayed: December 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank peegeeSydney
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 February 2012

We recently spent two nights at the Provenance which is centrally located in Beechworth. The room is beautifully decorated - very simple and eleganat, and has a comfortable king bed. The bathroom includes an enormous spa bath, huge shower and Le'Occitane products - beautiful. The property includes a restaurant which is located in an old bank buildig - and the food is sensational. My only comment is they need to hire a gardener to tidy the courtyard up a bit.

  • Stayed: January 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank CanberraC
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 October 2006

We did not stay at the hotel but did enjoy a great meal at the Bank. Our favourite part of the meal was the cheeses. In particular, the Jensen Red. I have been searching for the 'red' ever since without success!
Perhaps we'll just have to return to Beechworth if only for the cheeses.

S & G Dell

Stayed: May 2006
2  Thank OmniSafe
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 October 2006

The Bank is a fun place to stay while you're in Beechworth. This place is a true Aussie hospitality experience.

I have eaten here a couple times for business, and found it quite good. The setting is in the Bank itself...and it's all divided into different rooms. The waiters wore white gloves and you feel like you're in a formal, posh 5 star restaurant. The food was excellent and the service was great.

The B&B part is actually separate in the backyard of the restaurant...so you don't get the clattering of the dishes, etc. They are quaint rooms with the antique bed and furnishings. They had port and a bottle of wine upon arrival...along with breakfast revisions for the morning including croissants, jams and tea and coffee.

The best part of the B&B is your chats with the owners. They are well travelled, well educated...and fun to chat with about the area. You have hospitality from the time you arrive...and you feel like a well known guest by the time you leave.

We highly recommend Beechworth. It's one of our favorite cities in the state...and the Bank is a great place to stay and eat.

  • Stayed: November 2005, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
3  Thank rosky
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Beechworth hotels
0.8 mi away
The George Kerferd
The George Kerferd
#3 of 6 in Beechworth
405 reviews
0.4 mi away
Albertines Beechworth
Albertines Beechworth
#1 of 14 in Beechworth
572 reviews
0.3 mi away
Finches of Beechworth
Finches of Beechworth
#3 of 14 in Beechworth
611 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
The Graces Beechworth
The Graces Beechworth
#6 of 14 in Beechworth
87 reviews
0 mi away
Freeman on Ford B&B
Freeman on Ford B&B
#2 of 14 in Beechworth
518 reviews
0.4 mi away
Barnsley House Bed & Breakfast
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Provenance Accommodation? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Provenance Accommodation

Address: 86 Ford St, Beechworth, Victoria 3747, Australia
Region: Australia > Victoria > Beechworth
Amenities:
Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #9 of 14 B&Bs / Inns in Beechworth
Price Range: £112 - £176 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 4
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Agoda and Priceline so you can book your Provenance Accommodation reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing