We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Professionally run b & b”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Barnsley House Bed & Breakfast
Ranked #4 of 14 Beechworth B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Melbourne
Level Contributor
24 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Professionally run b & b”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 August 2011

Rod and Barry really know how to operate a b & b. Having made the decision to move to Beechworth after losing their previous property in the Marysville fires, they purchased historic Barnsley House and added their own personal touches.

The rooms have everything you need, reverse cycle air conditioning, refrigerator, TV and an open fire place together with en-suite facilities. Breakfasts were great and we were welcomed on arrival with coffee and cake. Rooms are serviced daily and are absolutely spotless.

  • Stayed July 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Rawiller
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

232 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    221
    9
    2
    0
    0
See reviews for
8
178
6
2
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (62)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Hong Kong
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 April 2011

My partner and I stayed here recently and were really impressed with the charm of Barnsley House. The owners Rod and Bruce were great and clearly they put their heart and soul into this B&B every day. It's a lovely old house and the owners keep it immaculately neat and clean with incredible attention to detail. The house has a lovely garden and our room had a cute little terrace onto our own slice of the garden. There's a great conservatory at the back of the house..I wish we had more time during our trip just to sit there and relax.

From the minute we arrived we were welcomed as guests. As we parked our car, Rod came bounding out to meet us in the driveway and immediately we felt the owner's passion for what they do. We look forward to staying again. It's a really charming B&B, highly recommended.

Room Tip: They're all great..
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank markarmstrong
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Melbourne, Australia
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 March 2011

My wife and I had a great stay at Barnsley House, Barry and Rod were charming hosts and could not do enough for us. The attention to detail on the property isw onderful and they have an amazing Attrium to while away the afternoon.

Great breakfast, great hosts loveley B & B in one of Victorias most intersting towns,

  • Stayed March 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank gregmill2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Newport Beach, California
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 January 2011

Thank you to the owners of the barnsely house for creating such an amazing retreat for our two day "get away". The accomodation wasboth beautifully decorated and had all the little personal touches to make us feel right home as we explored the Beechworth area. The amazing coffee in morning was the icing on the cake! If you are looking for a cozy and elegant place to stay for your "time out", seriously, stop looking.

  • Stayed January 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Rayna078
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Melbourne Australia
Level Contributor
29 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 October 2010

We have just come back from 2 nights away with our friends after a lovely stay at Barnsley House.
When you arrive Rod & Barry the owners serve you homemade cakes with a cup of tea or coffee,your seated in the very stunning conservatory. Our room was in Albert,it is a large room with a very comfy King size bed, Fireplace and an ensuite with shower and toilet which is always spotlessly clean, Tea and coffee can be made in your room or a glass of wine as there is a fridge in your room, there is a bay window and lovely old worldly chairs in the window to soak up the sun, everything in the room is very clean and little touches like chocolates on the side table, good quality toiletries. There are 5 lovely rooms in the B& B and Rod and Barry are full of information about things to see and do around town, Every morning there is a lovely breakfast cooked for you, start with cereal & fruit then Barry cooks your choice of Bacon,eggs,mushrooms,tomatoe etc then followed by more toast and tea and coffee, your seated in the dining room which is off the conservatory, the garden is amazing, its very quiet so no problems sleeping, our 2 lots of friends and I had a great time, Thank you Rod and Barry as this is my husband's and I 3rd visit we will be back again, Stay at Barnsley House you wont regret it

  • Stayed October 2010, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank mumbo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
23 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 August 2010

We went to Beechworth for a quiet weekend away. Barnsley House was perfect for what we wanted. The hosts were friendly and helpful. Our room was well-equipped and comfortable. We thoroughly enjoyed reading our books in the conservatory with tea and biscuits after walking around town all day.

  • Stayed June 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank SSH218
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Melbourne Australia
Level Contributor
13 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 May 2010

After deciding on a few days away from the hustle and bustle of Melbourne we headed to Beechworth and stayed at the beautiful "Barnsley House". When we arrived our wonderful host made us feel so welcome, they even start your stay with a lovely afternoon tea in the conservatory with home made cakes and slices on the first day you arrive between 3.00pm and 4.00pm and this was scrumptious. We stayed in the Elizabeth Retreat which had an open fire place and a King size spa bath. As the weather was cooler for our stay we had the open fire going on both nights which was very cosy. The cooked breakfast was also terrific. To sum it all up it was an absolutely wonderful place to stay and we will definately be returning ourselves later in the year, and we would not hesitate to recommend Barnsley House for anyone planning a romantic trip away.

  • Stayed May 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank theriddlers
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Beechworth hotels
1.1 mi away
BEST WESTERN Beechworth Motor Inn
0.5 mi away
The George Kerferd
The George Kerferd
#3 of 6 in Beechworth
4.0 of 5 bubbles 327 reviews
0.5 mi away
Finches of Beechworth
Finches of Beechworth
#3 of 14 in Beechworth
5.0 of 5 bubbles 509 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Albertines Beechworth
Albertines Beechworth
#1 of 14 in Beechworth
5.0 of 5 bubbles 507 reviews
0.5 mi away
Freeman on Ford B&B
Freeman on Ford B&B
#2 of 14 in Beechworth
5.0 of 5 bubbles 475 reviews
0.6 mi away
Beechworth On Bridge
Beechworth On Bridge
#1 of 6 in Beechworth
4.5 of 5 bubbles 345 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Barnsley House Bed & Breakfast? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Barnsley House Bed & Breakfast

Property: Barnsley House Bed & Breakfast
Address: 5 John St, Beechworth, Victoria 3747, Australia
Phone Number:
Region: Australia > Victoria > Beechworth
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 14 B&Bs / Inns in Beechworth
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Barnsley House Bed & Breakfast 4*
Number of rooms: 5
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Boutique, hosted accommodation nestled in the historic heart of North East Victoria. Enjoy... the friendly warmth of hosted accommodation Retreat... to private, beautifully appointed guest rooms Relax... in the tranquil ambience of Barnsley House Victorian charm with all the luxuries of first class accommodation set amidst beautiful terraced gardens, just a short stroll to Beechworth town centre. Elegantly appointed, individual guest retreats, garden views, opulent guest lounge, delightful sunny conservatory plus delicious gourmet breakfasts are all waiting for you to enjoy. Barnsley House is guest rated as one of the top 25 B&B's in Australia and awarded TripAdvisor Certificates of Excellence and Travellers Choice Awards. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Odigeo, Agoda, Travel Republic (UK), Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Barnsley House Bed & Breakfast reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing