We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (257)
Filter reviews
257 results
Traveller rating
245
10
2
0
0
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
245
10
2
0
0
Show reviews that mention
All reviewshosts eileen and stevebeautiful conservatorysconesmade us feeldelicious breakfastafternoon teaperfect hostsmemorable staylovely homeguest loungestayed two nightslittle touchesspa bathwe loved our staybeautiful place to staymain streethome away from home
Filter
Updating list...
219 - 224 of 257 reviews
Reviewed 14 January 2013

I cannot think of enough words to express how much we enjoyed our overnight stay in this gorgeous b&b in December. Rod & Barry have thought of everything and are the perfect b&b hosts. The breakfast was delicous and served in a beautiful dining room. Wish I could have stayed longer to enjoy the gardens & conservatory. Our room was super clean and very comfortable. Tea & coffe making facilities made for a lovely afternoon tea on our own private courtyard on the verandah. We walked down to the town for dinner @ Gigi's. Love to return with some friends to enjoy the wonderful hospitality. Great stopover after wine tasting in the King Valley.

  • Stayed: December 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank colourcooljul
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
RodbarryBeechworth, Owner at Barnsley House Bed & Breakfast, responded to this reviewResponded 16 January 2013

Dear Colourcooljul (though we really know you differently!!)
thank you so much for your beautiful review on our B&B. We enjoyed your company here and so glad you enjoyed your stay. Yes definitely come back with friends, we'd love to host you for such a return visit.
Warm wishes
Rod & Barry

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 November 2012

Had an overnight stay during November 2012. We thoroughly enjoyed everything about the time spent here. Our hosts Rod and Barry and Mary the cat couldn't have been more hospitable. The house is surrounded by beautiful gardens that reflect the charm and style of the home. Afternoon tea with the hosts was just a delight and added to the overall pleasure of our visit. We can certainly recommend Barnsley House for a Beechworth experience.!!

Room Tip: The very front room is charming.
  • Stayed: November 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank John B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 October 2012

After living in Melbourne for a number of years it was always our intention to visit Beechworth and the surrounding areas. Happily this did finally occur and we booked in for a two night midweek stay at Barnsley House. Upon arrival we were impressed by the state of the home and the gardens - which is maintained by Rod and Barry our hosts. We we then ushered into the lovely dining, breakfast and outdoor area to register. Upon arrival we were also treated to a home made afternoon tea made by Barry and served by Rod. We then were taken to our room which was the Edward room, having A/C, Ensuite, open fire which could be lit, tea and coffee facilities in the room and a small patio that looked over the secluded garden everything was extremely well maintained and comfortable. Over the next few days Rod would introduce us to the new visitors. Breakfast was magnificent and cooked as you sat. The most pleasant thing was our hosts stayed in the background when not actually providing information about Beechworth or other services. All that said it was a wonderful stay and I would have no concerns about telling my friends about this wonderful property.

  • Stayed: October 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank ianrichards8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
RodbarryBeechworth, Owner at Barnsley House Bed & Breakfast, responded to this reviewResponded 4 November 2012

Dear Ian & Joy
Hello you 2! Thank you so much for taking the time to write this wonderful review. We are very pleased everything here was to your liking and we certainly enjoyed having you stay with us and getting to know you. We do hope we may see you again at Barnsley House! Kind regards Rod and Barry

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 October 2012

We stayed at Barnsley House a few times about 10 years ago, and it is lovely to see it is still a delightful property. Very well maintained, with great attention to detail. Rod and Barry do a great job.The breakfast is excellent, cooked to order. Lovely sitting area, perfect place to read. the garden is well laid out . recommend this for a relaxing break.

  • Stayed: September 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank katiedove
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 August 2012

Stayed four nights with Rod & Barry (and Mary the cat!) and it was WONDERFUL. It is well worth making a trip to Beechworth if only to experience the hospitality at Barnsley! Such a beautiful old house which has been so tastefully decorated and Rod & Barry are superb hosts. Nothing is too much trouble for them and Barry's breakfasts are yummy!
Hope we meet again guys!

Room Tip: EVERY room is good!
  • Stayed: August 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Lesley255118
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
RodbarryBeechworth, Owner at Barnsley House Bed & Breakfast, responded to this reviewResponded 26 August 2012

Dear Lesley
Hello from Rod Barry & Mary (the cat)!! Thanks so much for your kind words of appreciation. Really enjoyed meeting you and having you stay with us..hopefully you might get to return and visit again, we will certainly enjoy your company again. Stay safe and happy!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews