We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (257)
Filter reviews
257 results
Traveller rating
245
10
2
0
0
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
245
10
2
0
0
Show reviews that mention
All reviewshosts eileen and stevebeautiful conservatorysconesmade us feeldelicious breakfastafternoon teaperfect hostsmemorable staylovely homeguest loungestayed two nightslittle touchesspa bathwe loved our staybeautiful place to staymain streethome away from home
Filter
Updating list...
210 - 215 of 257 reviews
Reviewed 13 April 2013

My mum and I stayed at the Barnsley House Bed and Breakfast for 2 nights - it was a treat for my mums birthday. The rooms were just beautiful and the whole house was full of character and just a beautiful place to stay and so close to all the beautiful spots to see in Beechworth. Eileen and Steve are wonderful hosts and make you feel very welcome. Would highly recommend for that special weekend away.

  • Stayed: April 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Allyson E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 April 2013

We stayed at Barnsley house for two nights and confidently I would say it was the best B&B we have stayed in. The house is beautiful with so much history behind it and located in the heart of stunning Beechworth. What makes Barnsley so special is the host Eileen and Steve, they are extremely hospitable, warm and super caring. Eileen went out of her way to cater for my dietary requirements and provide gourmet breakfast.
I will recommend Barnsley House to all my friends and we will definitely return again to beautiful Beechworth and Barnsley House. Make sure to stay at Elizabeth retreat to couples who are after relaxing and romantic time. Also, make sure to check in before 4pm so you can enjoy the delicious afternoon tea at the conservatory.

Room Tip: Elizabeth retreat is a must if you are after a relaxing and romantic holiday!
  • Stayed: April 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ZSA2807
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 April 2013

We have just returned from a 2 night stay at Barnsley B&B, & thoroughly enjoyed our stay. The house is beautifully decorated with period furniture & photo momentos. Every detail of the rooms has been thoughtfully prepared & sitting in the conservatory with the morning light shining through is just glorious! Congratulations to Eileen & Steve on their new adventure. Your welcoming smile & hospitality was great. Just keep on doing what your doing & we are sure Barnsley will continue its success into the future.

Room Tip: The Windsor room has the bigger spa.
  • Stayed: April 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank SueM267
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 April 2013

We stayed at Barnsley House for four days over the Easter weekend primarily as a base to cycle the sensational Murray to Mountain rail trails. Little did we realize how beautiful the town of Beechworth was and together with the warm hospitality of new owners, Eileen and Steve, we have definitely decided to return. After our first sumptuous three course breakfast, which kept us peddling all day, Eileen and Steve told us that the group was their first and we congratulate them on their expertise. They could not have done more for us (even storing and packing our local produce purchases for our trip home), our room had its own verandah and our bikes were safe under cover. The gardens are lovely and the conservatory is a perfect place for afternoon tea or a glass of wine.

If staying in summer there are two rooms on the south side, we chose the Elizabeth with a much appreciated spa after our long rides, and three on the north side which would be very cosy for a winter visit along with the many open fires.

There are several great places to eat and many interesting historical sites to visit in town, all an easy stroll from Barnsley House. Our hosts were very knowledgeable about their new location and we wish Steve and Eileen well.

  • Stayed: March 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Kswitz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 April 2013

We happened on Barnsley House online and now having come to the end of our weekend away, were very pleased we did.
Eileen and Steve were the perfect hosts. Having only taken over the business 4 days earlier, their hospitaity and knowledge of the local area could not be faulted.
The accommodation was very comfortable and the full cooked breakfast, combined with Eileen's 'special' honey and cinnamon yoghurt and, Steve's expertly ground coffee were highlights.
We will have to return in Winter to reap the benefits of the open fire.
Thanks again or a great break.

  • Stayed: April 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank CAmeron C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews