We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Barnsley House, Beechworth”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Barnsley House Bed & Breakfast
Ranked #4 of 14 Beechworth B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 23 April 2013

Fantastic Service, beautiful and relaxing place to stay. The cooked breakfast in the morning was delicious and tomato relish was a hit! Definitely recommend Barnsley House for anyone who is looking for a tranquil weekend away.

  • Stayed: April 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Melissa B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (248)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

199 - 205 of 248 reviews

Reviewed 20 April 2013

A big thank you to Steve and Eileen for their hospitality. The room, the house and gardens along with a yummy cooked breakfast, made for a perfect anniversary getaway. We look forward to seeing you again soon :)

  • Stayed: April 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Sarah T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 April 2013

Selecting Barnsley House B&B was the perfect choice for our trip to Beechworth Victoria. Eileen and Steve have recently moved into the B&B as the new owners and provided us with the perfect weekend away for part of our 40th Wedding Anniversary escape - made to feel special from the first steps inside the front entrance :) Both Eileen and Steve have settled into the B&B life like naturals (or at least they appear to have and that is the important impression in having just taken over what would (from all reports) appear to have been a well established B&B).......they welcomed us to their home and while it is easy to say we will be back.....we really will be back as we felt very relaxed during the days we spent at Barnsley. It is a beautiful property with lots to offer even if you do not venture outside to Beechworth or the surrounds. Afternoon tea served in the sunshine of the atrium has you relaxed and ready to enjoy your escape immediately. The advice of places to eat or to visit from Eileen and Steve greatly appreciated, amazing local knowledge for the short time they have been in the area - homework well done :)
Do yourself a favour and visit Barnsley, everything was great, breakfast and the choice was an extra - this is truly a piece of history that you really will want to share with Eileen and Steve. We can wish them nothing but success in this new venture and truly hope they will be at Barnsley for many years to come.

Room Tip: We stayed in Albert and it was perfect.....although Eileen showed us all the rooms and truly they ar...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank travellercanberra
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 April 2013

My mum and I stayed at the Barnsley House Bed and Breakfast for 2 nights - it was a treat for my mums birthday. The rooms were just beautiful and the whole house was full of character and just a beautiful place to stay and so close to all the beautiful spots to see in Beechworth. Eileen and Steve are wonderful hosts and make you feel very welcome. Would highly recommend for that special weekend away.

  • Stayed: April 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Allyson E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 April 2013

We stayed at Barnsley house for two nights and confidently I would say it was the best B&B we have stayed in. The house is beautiful with so much history behind it and located in the heart of stunning Beechworth. What makes Barnsley so special is the host Eileen and Steve, they are extremely hospitable, warm and super caring. Eileen went out of her way to cater for my dietary requirements and provide gourmet breakfast.
I will recommend Barnsley House to all my friends and we will definitely return again to beautiful Beechworth and Barnsley House. Make sure to stay at Elizabeth retreat to couples who are after relaxing and romantic time. Also, make sure to check in before 4pm so you can enjoy the delicious afternoon tea at the conservatory.

Room Tip: Elizabeth retreat is a must if you are after a relaxing and romantic holiday!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ZSA2807
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 April 2013

We have just returned from a 2 night stay at Barnsley B&B, & thoroughly enjoyed our stay. The house is beautifully decorated with period furniture & photo momentos. Every detail of the rooms has been thoughtfully prepared & sitting in the conservatory with the morning light shining through is just glorious! Congratulations to Eileen & Steve on their new adventure. Your welcoming smile & hospitality was great. Just keep on doing what your doing & we are sure Barnsley will continue its success into the future.

Room Tip: The Windsor room has the bigger spa.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank SueM267
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 April 2013

We stayed at Barnsley House for four days over the Easter weekend primarily as a base to cycle the sensational Murray to Mountain rail trails. Little did we realize how beautiful the town of Beechworth was and together with the warm hospitality of new owners, Eileen and Steve, we have definitely decided to return. After our first sumptuous three course breakfast, which kept us peddling all day, Eileen and Steve told us that the group was their first and we congratulate them on their expertise. They could not have done more for us (even storing and packing our local produce purchases for our trip home), our room had its own verandah and our bikes were safe under cover. The gardens are lovely and the conservatory is a perfect place for afternoon tea or a glass of wine.

If staying in summer there are two rooms on the south side, we chose the Elizabeth with a much appreciated spa after our long rides, and three on the north side which would be very cosy for a winter visit along with the many open fires.

There are several great places to eat and many interesting historical sites to visit in town, all an easy stroll from Barnsley House. Our hosts were very knowledgeable about their new location and we wish Steve and Eileen well.

  • Stayed: March 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Kswitz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Beechworth hotels
0.5 mi away
The George Kerferd
The George Kerferd
#3 of 6 in Beechworth
391 reviews
0.3 mi away
Albertines Beechworth
Albertines Beechworth
#1 of 14 in Beechworth
540 reviews
0.5 mi away
Finches of Beechworth
Finches of Beechworth
#3 of 14 in Beechworth
579 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
Freeman on Ford B&B
Freeman on Ford B&B
#2 of 14 in Beechworth
501 reviews
0.6 mi away
The Graces Beechworth
The Graces Beechworth
#6 of 14 in Beechworth
83 reviews
0.6 mi away
Beechworth On Bridge
Beechworth On Bridge
#1 of 6 in Beechworth
368 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Barnsley House Bed & Breakfast? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Barnsley House Bed & Breakfast

Address: 5 John St, Beechworth, Victoria 3747, Australia
Phone Number:
Region: Australia > Victoria > Beechworth
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 14 B&Bs / Inns in Beechworth
Price Range: £117 - £154 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Barnsley House Bed & Breakfast 4*
Number of rooms: 5
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Boutique, hosted accommodation nestled in the historic heart of North East Victoria. Enjoy... the friendly warmth of hosted accommodation Retreat... to private, beautifully appointed guest rooms Relax... in the tranquil ambience of Barnsley House Victorian charm with all the luxuries of first class accommodation set amidst beautiful terraced gardens, just a short stroll to Beechworth town centre. Elegantly appointed, individual guest retreats, garden views, opulent guest lounge, delightful sunny conservatory plus delicious gourmet breakfasts are all waiting for you to enjoy. Barnsley House is guest rated as one of the top 25 B&B's in Australia and awarded TripAdvisor Certificates of Excellence and Travellers Choice Awards. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Ebookers, Agoda and Evoline ltd so you can book your Barnsley House Bed & Breakfast reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing