We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (257)
Filter reviews
257 results
Traveller rating
245
10
2
0
0
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
245
10
2
0
0
Show reviews that mention
All reviews hosts eileen and steve beautiful conservatory scones made us feel delicious breakfast afternoon tea perfect hosts memorable stay lovely home guest lounge stayed two nights little touches spa bath we loved our stay beautiful place to stay main street home away from home
Filter
Updating list...
10 - 15 of 257 reviews
Reviewed 6 November 2017

Barnsley House Beechworth is a haven of comfort and relaxation. The hosts Steve& Eileen are just lovely, our room was perfect, we were greeted at the door & the history of this lovely home was shared. We stayed two nights, the atmosphere, rooms and food are 10/10. Easy walk into Main Street, heaps of choice for dinning and interesting shops.

Stayed: November 2017, travelled as a couple
Thank derynm2014
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
346StephenW, Owner at Barnsley House Bed & Breakfast, responded to this reviewResponded 7 November 2017

Hi Derryn & Michael,
Thank you for choosing to stay at Barnsley House for the weekend (your first ever bed and breakfast stay) we're so pleased you enjoyed it. It's certainly a pleasure to see all our guests chatting happily over the breakfast table and obviously having a great time. We hope you can return again soon.
regards, Steve & Eileen

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 November 2017

We arrived and were welcomed warmly. Eileen and Steve showed us round and and explained the house’s history, which made the friendly house seem even more friendly. Amenities were excellent and a comfy room was backed up by a superb cooked breakfast and great advice about where to get dinner in town. We loved our stay and will look to return on our next trip to Oz!

Stayed: October 2017, travelled as a couple
Thank Roz M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 October 2017

We couldn't fault our accommodation. Extremely relaxing, unbelievable garden.
Steve and Eileen were very welcoming, very informative regarding the history of Barnsley House and Beechworth.
Eileen's breakfast was delicious and even Steve's coffee was better than some cafe's.

Stayed: October 2017, travelled as a couple
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank FrankR3358
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
346StephenW, Owner at Barnsley House Bed & Breakfast, responded to this reviewResponded 20 October 2017

Hello Frank,
Thank you for taking the time to write a review - much appreciated. Our aim is to have guests leaving us relaxed and happy after sharing our company, our tranquil home and our pleasant gardens. We're pleased that you did. It was a pleasure for us to meet you and we hope you will find an opportunity to stay with us again in the future.
regards,
Steve & Eileen

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 October 2017

What a lovely spot to get away from it all. For all those who love old world charm and warm hospitality this is the perfect place. From the beautifully manicured gardens full of shady reading nooks to the authentically maintained interior Barnsley is absolutely charming. The hosts Eileen and Steve do a fantastic job of making you feel welcome and their enthusiasm for their home and the region is contagious. Loved our weekend in Beechworth & Barnsley House.

  • Stayed: October 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank CountryAdventurer59
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
346StephenW, Owner at Barnsley House Bed & Breakfast, responded to this reviewResponded 20 October 2017

Thank you for taking the time to write a review, particularly as modern day life is often quite frenetic. So it's particularly important to stop and smell the roses - or just enjoy bluebells, irises, magnolias, azalias or daffodils :) . So pleased that you were able to do just that in our peaceful garden and enjoy old fashioned 'slow down' time in our old world charm home. We do hope you can take a break with us again soon.
regards, Eileen & Steve

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 October 2017

My partner & I were grateful to have spent a lovely weekend in this beautiful house in the heart of Beechworth! We stayed two nights in the "Elizabeth Spa Retreat" room and it was absolutely gorgeous! On our arrival, we were warmly welcomed by Steve & Eileen who are really lovely & friendly people. They shared their history of their home & were very helpful to share tips and recommendations for local sightseeing, attractions & places to dine. They treated us to a scrumptious afternoon tea in their stunning "sun room" overlooking the immaculate gardens, with freshly baked scones & berry muffins! We felt truly relaxed in their home. Also, the house is immaculately clean, there was not one speck of dust anywhere in sight. The furnishings are antique & truly capture the history & periodic era of the town too. Some highlights we enjoyed amongst many were the crackling cosy fire in the guest lounge, the deliciously cooked breakfast (which filled us up throughout the day!), also Steve makes a great cup of coffee especially the cappucino! (He also shared about one or two words he knew of Italian which made us feel even more at home!) :) The spa bath was amazing and there is a function which keeps it at heated temperature so you can soak for ages without getting cold! The antique bed was very comfortable and the little touches from the linen, vintage pink flowers and old fashioned furniture make you feel like you have stepped back in time. The house is within about 10-15 mins walking distance from the main town (Ford & Camp St) which is filled with beautiful & colourful shops, you can easily spend a whole day walking around! A must see is the "Gorge walk" scenic drive, and "Woolshed Falls." Eilleen also helped us find nice places to dine, there are two great places we dined went to for dinner, the Tanswell's Commercial Hotel in Beechworth dish up good meals with live music, & if you feel like taking a half hour drive down to Myrtleford, there is the "Happy Valley Hotel" which is a gem with amazing affordable meals & very friendly staff. In the afternoons after we had been out and about, I enjoyed just relaxing in the sun room or the gardens to read and relax! We really enjoyed our stay at Barnsley House and would definitely recommend this place to our family & friends. Thank you for a wonderful stay, we left feeling refreshed and relaxed!

Stayed: September 2017, travelled as a couple
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank BlueButterfly99
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
346StephenW, Owner at Barnsley House Bed & Breakfast, responded to this reviewResponded 5 October 2017

Thank you Sara!
Everyone is so busy these days that we appreciate your taking the time to provide a comprehensive review of your experience at Barnsley House. So pleased that you left us relaxed and refreshed, ready to face the everyday pace of the city! Thank you also for recommending us to friends and family, we would be delighted to have them stay so they can enjoy Barnsley House too.
regards, Steve & Eileen :) :)

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews