We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great food, service and atmosphere”

The Press Room Wine Bar
Ranked #2 of 39 Restaurants in Beechworth
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: Mediterranean, Spanish, Wine Bar
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romantic, Local cuisine, Special Occasion Dining, Bar Scene
Dining options: After-hours, Dinner, Accepts Mastercard, Accepts Visa, Full Bar, Outdoor Seating, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Street Parking, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Ho Chi Minh City, Vietnam
Level Contributor
103 reviews
48 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
“Great food, service and atmosphere”
Reviewed 18 August 2014

Eight of us enjoyed a great time at the Press Room Wine Bar on a busy Saturday evening. The service was friendly and attentive and the tapas delicious. Our initial choice from the wine list was not available and by the time selected an alternative, this had also disappeared. Turned out to not be that much of a problem as the Kiewa Valley Shiraz was a gem, until that ran out too. The Spanish replacement proved to be ok as well.

Aside from the need to replenish wine stocks, our praise for the Press Room was universal.

  • Visited August 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Geoff2011
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

381 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    253
    94
    16
    12
    6
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Bright, Australia
1 review
“Awesome, Relaxing, Tasty Sunday lunch”
Reviewed 18 August 2014

What a great little place for Beechworth to be the home of. A lovely warm inviting bar with wonderfully polite and attentive staff. The staff made us feel very welcome and the Tapas were just wonderful, typical Spanish flavours and dishes. The only sad part was ordering to many Tapas which were great sizes..... No Churros for me :(. I will certainly be leaving room for those next time.
A Bar well worth the drive and visit.

Thanks Guys we will be back

  • Visited August 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Melissa M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sydney Australia
Level Contributor
129 reviews
89 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 91 helpful votes
“Wood fire, winter warmth, paella was fantaastic.”
Reviewed 13 August 2014

Very welcoming owners and a great winter environment with a wood fire.

The menu is wine bar/tapas style and every dish has been developed and tested by the owners.

The wine list is extensive albeit somewhat expensive.

We settled on the paella for two and it was fantastic. Chicken, prawns and chorizo were a great combination and beautifully cooked.

The restaurant name comes from the original purpose of the premises - printing local news.

Very happy after a somewhat disappointing pub meal the night before.

  • Visited August 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Sioseeker
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
184 reviews
119 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 103 helpful votes
“Terrific Tapas”
Reviewed 3 August 2014 via mobile

Attentive, helpful staff guide you through the menu and wine list. Local wines and Spanish, but good to choose local on this occasion. Our selection were pleasing to the palates of all at the table. A few tapas, followed by beef cheeks and paella to share...yum...we'll be back.

Visited August 2014
Helpful?
Thank farpavilions
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Beechworth, Australia
Level Contributor
12 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“A touch of Spain in Beechworth”
Reviewed 16 July 2014

Great little spot for a glass of wine and a couple of Tapas plate. The staff are polite attentive and personable. Look forward to the next visit.

  • Visited July 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Ray S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed The Press Room Wine Bar also viewed

 

Been to The Press Room Wine Bar? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing