We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Wonderful day out!” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of A Tour With A Difference

A Tour With A Difference
Ranked #3 of 10 things to do in Belgrave
Attraction details
Perth, Australia
Level Contributor
20 reviews
6 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“Wonderful day out!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 July 2014

We booked a Yarra Valley wine tour for our 10th wedding anniversary and had a wonderful time. We visited great wineries, a brewery, a cheese factory (yum) and had a delicious lunch with our guide. He gave us a great personalised service and gave us lots of interesting facts about the area. We thoroughly enjoyed our day out, have recommend A Tour With A Difference to family and friends visiting Melbourne and would definitely take another tour with them when we are next in Melbourne.

Visited August 2013
Helpful?
Thank 1cam30
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

141 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    118
    17
    1
    3
    2
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Singapore, Singapore
Level Contributor
14 reviews
5 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
“Awesome Great Ocean Road Tour”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 July 2014

I decided on ATWAD Great Ocean Road (GOR) tour because it seemed to be more value for money, promising small tour groups of maximum 10 passengers with more meals provided and more stops than other available tour operators.

It was a long day trip that started picking all 9 of us up from 7.10 am and we only returned to Melbourne CBD past 8 pm. Although it was tiring, it was a great day out taking in all the breathtaking sights along GOR. Furthermore, we had morning tea with Vegemite, Crackers and traditional Lamington Cakes at a sheltered area near Bells Beach, quite a nice experience to kick-start the day. Proper sit-down lunch and dinner were also included in the tour, and I must say the lunch was great!

Doug our guide was also knowledgeable and approachable. With a small tour bus and group, it seemed like we could stop by at many more scenic spots for photo-taking that other big tour buses could not. The only grouse I had of ATWAD was its pre-tour service. They practically ignored my email queries till I arrived in Australia and called them up personally. I even had to follow up with calls to confirm the day of my tour and the time and venue of the pick-up point, although I had left my Australian mobile number with them and they promised to confirm via phone the day before. So 1 star less due to the (lack of) pre-tour service, else it would be perfect...

Visited May 2014
Helpful?
5 Thank travelpenchant
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Singapore, Singapore
Level Contributor
32 reviews
16 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“Time well spent!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 June 2014

The trip was good! Went on a two day tour with Brian. He was a super knowledgable person whom can go on and on about many different things in Australia. Overall one can just learn many things by hearing his stories. The trip was fantastic, first day on the tour was going to the Great Ocean Road. Although we didnt spent much time per stop we still managed to cover up the entire journey and took lots of pictures, which was great :) food was good too, especially lunch. Second day trip is the trip to philip island. Also great, as the second day we stopped by a chocolate factory, then headed down to the philip island wildlife park. There, you could feed some kangaroos! Brian also gives you the option to travel to the nearby beach if you didnt want to feed them. Next, after nightfall we went to see the penguins! Brian encourage us to sit at a good spot to see the penguins, which was great! At the end of the day, ended with dinner, Which was also super good! Overall this tour is excellent, and really does makes a difference to how you can see the different places! :)

Visited June 2014
Helpful?
Thank JL1597
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Singapore, Singapore
1 review
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“A wonderful 3-day tour:)”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 June 2014

We have booked 3 tours with this company based on TripAdvisor reviews and we were not disappointed.

Our 1st tour: Great Ocean Road was with Ian and the group size was around 10 people which was convenient to move around. We learnt a lot about Great Ocean Road through Ian's storytelling sessions and Q&A sessions:) We also had the chance to see the milky way on the drive back to Melbourne City.

Our 2nd tour: Philip Island was with Brian (boss). The overall experience at Philip Island was great! The penguins were so cute! Brian was also attentive and provided blankets for us to seat on while waiting for the penguins. Also, thanks to Brian for introducing the fruit cheese to us, it is so yummy! We also have the chance to feed wallabies & kangaroos! It was a refreshing experience:)

Our final tour: Puffing BIlly & Yarra Valley with Grace (Boss). There were only the 3 of us so it was a personalized kind of service. Grace also helps us to come up with the itinerary for the day by providing us different options which we can consider. We were grateful to Grace for getting us good seats for the puffing billy. It was a great experience. We also had the chance to eat lunch at Sky High where the view was so nice. Later on, we went to a big winery as requested by us.

Thanks Ian, Brian & Grace for the great experience in Australia:))

Visited May 2014
Helpful?
2 Thank sunnywei2014
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Düsseldorf
Level Contributor
46 reviews
11 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“Awesome great ocean road tour”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 June 2014 via mobile

We really enjoyed our tour of the great ocean road with atwad. It is quite a bit to see if you have one day only and after considering all our options we decided to go on this small tour (We were nine people alltogether) instead of driving it all by ourselves, which i would think to be nearly impossible, now that I've actually been there. Obviously, it's been quite a bit of driving for one day, but due to frequent stops and our great driver/ guide (Ian I think his name was), who kept us entertained with loads of stories, historical knowledge and fun facts, it didn't feel that long. An earlier reviewer mentioned that he felt rushed during this tour, not being able to enjoy every stop to it's fullest and I agree with him that one could probably spent way more time at every place and that their schedule is pretty tight, not leaving too much time for eventualities like people being late etc., but thats because they really want to show you all the best bits, preferably before or after the big tour busses arrive. Also you will get enough time to enjoy every place (roundabout half an hour at most stops). So if one day is all you have, I would definetly recommend going for the atwad tour. Lunch and dinner were decemt.

Helpful?
1 Thank hoeferjan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed A Tour With A Difference also viewed

Belgrave, Yarra Valley
 

Been to A Tour With A Difference? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing