We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Open today: 09:00 - 17:00
Save
  
Ways to Experience Puffing Billy Railway
from US$137.33
More Info
from US$228.15
More Info
Reviews (1,824)
Filter reviews
1,824 results
Traveller rating
1,123
522
128
32
19
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
Traveller rating
1,123
522
128
32
19
Show reviews that mention
All reviews steam train train ride belgrave station return journey trestle bridge scones lakeside carriage volunteers engine scenery melbourne coal victoria
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
67 - 72 of 1,824 reviews
Reviewed 22 October 2019

Grab a ticket - online or at the station - and have a fun ride on this iconic steam train. Lots of fun!

Date of experience: October 2019
Thank Teresa C
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Puffing Billy R, Marketing Executive at Puffing Billy Railway, responded to this reviewResponded 28 October 2019

Thanks for your recommendation Teresa. Looking forward to seeing you again soon.

From the team at Puffing Billy Railway.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 October 2019 via mobile

We took the option of 1st class with luncheon. Orginally we had booked for a different day, but the company changed it and gave complimentary drinks to compensate.

We started at 12.30pm at Belgrave, entree was served before we departed. The thai cakes were nice, but lacked the thai influence.. than the train departed, it was a moment where do you hold your drink or trust it wont spill. Took the challenge of trust it wont spill and was happily surprised. The pork for main was so tender and perfectly cooked and accompanied by veges.. yummo. Meal was big. The stop (with only toilet break.. this they dont tell you till your own and its started.. so go beforehand if you think you need to go) at the lake is nice was around 45mins, peacefully wall around, there are hire paddles and a miniture train museum with 2k worth of track inside ( we didnt go in, so couldnt rate it) trip back to belgrave was pleasant and esspresso mousse dessert was served with coffee.

Pleasant relaxing enjoyable time, felt like a nap afterwards.
Would recommend

Date of experience: October 2019
Thank 95dannif
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Puffing Billy R, Marketing Executive at Puffing Billy Railway, responded to this reviewResponded 28 October 2019

Thanks very much for your recommendation. We are very happy to hear you enjoyed your Steam & Cuisine Luncheon experience and we look forward to welcoming you back to the railway again soon.

Kind regards,
The team at Puffing Billy Railway.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 October 2019 via mobile

Last night myself and 3 friends went on the steam and cuisine experience. The actual train ride and staff was excellent however the cuisine was well below average. The food was served cold and was tasteless. The crab cakes and pork ribeye was overcooked. The dessert was passable but nothing to rave on about. I feel if Puffing Billy is marketing this type of expensive dinner outing, the quality of the meals needs to immensely improve.

Date of experience: October 2019
1  Thank Jenny B
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Puffing Billy R, Marketing Executive at Puffing Billy Railway, responded to this reviewResponded 28 October 2019

Hello Jenny,

We're sorry to hear you did not enjoy your dining experience at Puffing Billy. We have taken your feedback on board and hope we can welcome you back again soon.

If you would like to raise further concerns to our team, you are welcome to email us at puffing.billy@pbr.org.au.

Thank you.

Kind regards,
The team at Puffing Billy Railway.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 October 2019 via mobile

I did a half day trip leaving from Fed Square which included the Puffing Billy train ride. Train is very well run by volunteers and was a fun but cold ride the day I went as the carriages are open air so rug up if it's cool weather. I was surprised how busy it was for a Monday morning and the train was full so be early at the station to avoid disappointment. There are different exit points and we left the train at McKenzie Creek about 5 km down the track. Fun day that children loved. The rest of the bus trip was pleasant and had a visit to Sassafraz a small town with a range of craft shops and other wares. Great way to fill in your morning prior to catching an afternoon plane home.

Date of experience: October 2019
1  Thank Lonefish33
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Puffing Billy R, Marketing Executive at Puffing Billy Railway, responded to this reviewResponded 28 October 2019

Thanks very much for travelling to Puffing Billy! It sounds like you had a jam-packed day at Puffing Billy and we’re really happy to hear your family enjoyed the train ride.

We look forward to welcoming you back again soon.

Kind regards, from the team at Puffing Billy Railway.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 October 2019 via mobile

Everything there is operated by volunteers so please help to take good care of the place. Very relax moment when you are on the train . Suggest to sit right hand side on the train to get better views . The train to puffing billy station from cbd is simple , take the Belgrave line and travel to the end .

Date of experience: September 2019
3  Thank iamccdla
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Puffing Billy R, Marketing Executive at Puffing Billy Railway, responded to this reviewResponded 28 October 2019

Thanks for your recommendation and feedback. We are glad to hear you had a great experience travelling onboard Puffing Billy and look forward to welcoming you back to the railway again soon.

Kind regards,
The team at Puffing Billy Railway.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews