We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wanted it to be better than it was”
Review of India Gate

No photo provided
Got a photo?
Add it.
India Gate
Ranked #6 of 37 Restaurants in Belgrave
Restaurant details
Melbourne
Level Contributor
69 reviews
18 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 91 helpful votes
“Wanted it to be better than it was”
Reviewed 30 May 2014

The lighting was very poor and the service varied (we were served by a couple of different people).

We were hoping for a great Indian feast, but it was average.

Visited June 2013
Helpful?
Thank Dave Z
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

35 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    18
    13
    2
    1
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
36 reviews
21 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“Best curry”
Reviewed 21 January 2014

The best curry I've had since living in London. I'm almost relieved to find it, as life without a proper curry is barely living.

Visited January 2014
Helpful?
2 Thank mugent
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Melbourne
Level Contributor
8 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Delicious and great service”
Reviewed 6 November 2013

Food is delicious and not especially expensive. Portions are ample and service is impeccable. Only tricky thing was getting a baby buggy down the stairs but we managed.

Visited March 2013
Helpful?
Thank Jessica D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
129 reviews
47 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 50 helpful votes
“You go back for the food”
Reviewed 17 October 2013

Having moved interstate we were missing our 'local' Indian take away shop when we came across the India Gate in Belgrave. We have eaten in the restaurant a few times and have also enjoyed quite a few take aways. The food is delicious, the staff very welcoming and accommodating. The decor is nothing exciting but its a great place to have a quick Indian meal before heading down the road to the cinema.

  • Visited October 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Wombatstew
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
275 reviews
167 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 94 helpful votes
“Not what it used to be”
Reviewed 21 September 2013

Since the change of management & chef this restaurant has been disappointing. I have been served half frozen patties and waited for half an hour after my husband received his food for mine to arrive as the order had been forgotten. This restaurant was once a jewel in the hills and is now a last resort.

Visited September 2013
Helpful?
Thank Partlyblonde
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed India Gate also viewed

 
Tecoma, Greater Melbourne
 

Been to India Gate? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing