We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Even worse than it used to be”
Review of Motel Maroondah

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Motel Maroondah
Ranked #2 of 2 Box Hill B&B and Inns
Reviewed 8 November 2013

Well if you think the rest of the reviews were bad, guess what? It's changed hands. And for the worse.
Now, as well as what everyone else has to say, you can expect gaggles of tourists arriving in the middle of the night, and screaming at each other at the top of their lungs. The management finds this normal because it is a cultural thing. Seriously. We got no sleep whatsoever, with doors slamming, yelling and cars coming and going. It is really something to behold. Stay away. (oh, and prices have gone up significantly from when Peter had it.)

  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank RJB458
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (46)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

34 - 40 of 46 reviews

Reviewed 19 July 2013

The staff are pleasant enough but they don't enforce cleaning. The room stinks of mould and smoke. I got a rash from laying on top of the bed - and I don't have sensitive skin. The room stinks. The place is way overpriced, and might have been acceptable if it was $20 not $110. Handy to Box Hill if you need to be there for a specific reason, but Box Hill has nothing particularly interesting itself. If you do need to be in the area, there are other places in the area that are much better value although more expensive.

This is possibly the worst place I have ever stayed. Staff are friendly though. No complaint about them.

  • Stayed: July 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank ScottDK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 July 2013 via mobile

This place is something that needs to been seen to be believed! Front door wouldn't open, urine in the shower, whipped cream all over carpet ( well mum and dad think it was whipped cream lol), melted cheese still on grill, silver fish in crockery, and this was all in the only 10 minutes we were there... Had to leave as all in tears, but we knew they wouldn't see us return key into outside box as the windows were too filthy to see through.

  • Stayed: June 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank gippyhippy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 June 2013

have stayed in many motels but this has too be the worst one. arrived late afternoon after a long road trip, made my way too my room dull lights, water over bathroom floor, but the worst was too come ,rolled back the pillows too find dirty sheets coffee or something spilt on them .i am still waiting for owners too reply too me ,as i have taken photos of sheets for proof as nobody would believe you if you told them.

Room Tip: yes do not bother.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank jgp14
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 June 2013

Avoid this place, we stayed here because it was close to the hospital and thought it was cheap at $125 a night being from the country. Their was mold in the bathroom and the door handle was almost broken off on the front door, I didn't feel safe at this place at all. There was bits of food on the spare bed and the floors where dirty. The only good this about this place is where it is and even still i am never going back their and i advise you all to believe all these reviews this place needs to be taken down. The next day we booked in to the box hill motel a few minutes down the road for only $115 and was absolutely beautiful.

  • Stayed: May 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank RollaStan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 March 2013

The rooms were tiny and the showers were very small. The motel did not meet any basic standards, as we found long black hair in the bathroom and the rooms hat a strong smell. We only stayed for a single night, but we already had paid for 2 nights. We tried to contact the booking agency, in this case hotels.com, which was very hard to contact and of course we did not get a refund for the second night. The motel is the worst we stayed in and we had traveled for 3 month across Europe last year.It is a place you have to see to believe how bad it is and I suggest that hotels.com is not a reliable booking agency.

Room Tip: Find something else, but book early!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Duststorm200
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 March 2013

my partner and I booked the closest hotel to the hospital as he was being admitted for surgery and while I wasn't expecting luxury accommodation for $105 a night I was at least expected LIGHT BULBS! there was absolutely no working light in any of the rooms and the so called 'air-conditioning' blew out hot air, which on a 35degree day made the room sickeningly hot

please DO NOT stay here! for an extra $10 we booked in at the best western tudor down the road which was miles ahead of this dump in every regard.. the manager wouldn't give us our money back for the night but you couldn't have paid me to stay!

  • Stayed: March 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank kdear88
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Box Hill hotels
0.4 mi away
Quest Mont Albert
Quest Mont Albert
#1 of 2 in Box Hill
392 reviews
1.1 mi away
Best Western Plus The Tudor-Box Hill
0.7 mi away
SAV  Hostel
SAV Hostel
#1 of 4 in Box Hill
4 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0 mi away
The Chen
The Chen
#1 of 2 in Box Hill
23 reviews
0 mi away
Whitehorse Apartments Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Motel Maroondah? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Motel Maroondah

Address: 768 Whitehorse Road, Box Hill, Whitehorse, Victoria 3128, Australia
Region: Australia > Victoria > Greater Melbourne > Whitehorse > Box Hill
Amenities:
Kitchenette
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 2 B&Bs / Inns in Box Hill
Price Range: £49 - £70 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Motel Maroondah 3*
Number of rooms: 23
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Agoda, Ctrip TA, Booking.com, Expedia, TripOnline SA, Hotels.com, Ebookers, Evoline ltd, HotelsClick, Cancelon, HotelQuickly and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Motel Maroondah reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Motel Maroondah Box Hill, Australia - Greater Melbourne

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing