We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Oozes Charm”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Camperdown
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Timboon House & Stables
Ranked #1 of 3 Camperdown B&B and Inns
Reviewed 25 March 2013

Had the pleasure of an over night stay. If you want to experience sheer luxury, romance and charm, Timboon House & Stables has it all. Stayed in an upstairs room with ensuite, very spacious, clean and extremely well appointed in keeping with the era of the house. An excellent cooked breakfast was served to us in a delightful downstairs dining room by the charming host, Moira, who made us feel extremely welcome. Look forward to another stay in the future.

  • Stayed: March 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank SandN255355
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (19)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

5 - 11 of 19 reviews

Reviewed 24 March 2013

Had a lovely stay, our host & owner Moira was very inviting. She cooked us a lovely hot breakfast, very pretty place to stay...would definitely recommend for an overnight stop over, weekend away. Gardens and Homestead is gorgeous. Thank you

  • Stayed: March 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank jencees
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 November 2012

TImboon House remains a bed of roses. New owner Moira is a very warm and welcoming host who puts on a delicious breakfast in the colonial-style dining room. She was also happy to talk about the property's history and some of the sites nearby. We stayed in the downstairs bedroom, with our own spacious bathroom across the corridor. Two other larger bedrooms, each with own bathroom, are upstairs. From the moment you arrive in front of the old blue-stone building, to when you enter the beautifully restored rooms (with the old light cords, not switches), you can savour life of the 1850's - but with more comfort! And the rose garden is just beautiful. A great place to discover the volcanic lakes region - we started at nearby Mt. Leura lookout and the Botanic Gardens' view over Lake Gnotuk - or to detour from the Great Ocean Road, or just to indulge yourself.

Room Tip: If stairs aren't a problem, upstairs bedrooms are very spacious, with more light.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Runningamok
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 August 2012

Seeing that the proprietors are moving on, there's not much point writing a review, but Timboon House and Stables was fantastic, country hospitality at it's finest! Beautifully restored and exquisitely furnished home, didn't want to leave!

  • Stayed: July 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Bob S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 January 2012

A last minute decision to show our Italian visitors the Great Ocean rd on the long New Year's Eve weekend had me scouring the internet for any available accommodation - it would appear that half of the country had beaten us to it. I stumbled upon a reference to Timboon House, followed it up, and although it was further from the coast than hoped, we booked - and we are so glad that we did!!! After a long drive through NSW and Victoria we found the B and B (with John's phone instructions to help out) and were delighted at what we discovered....a truly beautiful home, lovingly decorated and cared for and two amazing hosts. The afternoon tea provided in the agrden amongst the roses was a wonderful way to wind down.....and breakfast the morning after was magnificent - home made jams and bread, cereals, freshly squeezed juice, bacon, eggs, mushrooms, tomatoes and smoked salmon along with copious quantities of tea and coffee. The bedrooms were large, extremely comfortable and beautifully furnished. We are in the industry and are therefore rather hard to impress but this little jewel is well worth the effort of finding - very good value for money and beautifully managed. John and Denise are wonderful hosts. What are you waiting for......get yourself booked in for a pampered stay now!!!

  • Stayed: January 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank B_A_L62
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 April 2011

On arrival we were treated to a delicious and filling afternoon tea by a log fire. Our room was spacious and beautiful, furnished with period pieces as was the whole house. Indeed, the decor of this 1850's mansion gave a trip back in time. The bed was very comfortable and the whole setting was delightful. In the evening in the cozy guest lounge we were treated to more cakes and a range of nightcaps. The breakfast was outstanding in all respects. The bread had been freshly baked on the premises and much of the food was home grown and homemade. The jams were delicious and the cooked breakfast made lunch rather redundant. The hosts were charming and hospitable in every way. An ideal place for a romantic stay or to break a journey to the West of the State.

  • Stayed: April 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank George600
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 November 2010

On the Internet I searched for an accommodation building with architectural merit located part way between Tullamarine Airport and Warrnambool. Timboon House at Camperdown looked suitable and I arranged a one night stay for two people, arriving by car after dark.

The building was very interesting and the accommodation excellent. The Georgian style two storey bluestone home has been carefully restored. It features open fire places, elegant living areas, traditional furniture and silverware. Experienced hosts offer wonderful hospitality, fine food and quality service.

Staying at Timboon House was a highlight of our visit to Victoria

  • Stayed: November 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Arkense
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Camperdown hotels
1.3 mi away
Cascade Motel
Cascade Motel
#2 of 4 in Camperdown
25 reviews
1.4 mi away
Manifold Motor Inn
Manifold Motor Inn
#1 of 4 in Camperdown
63 reviews
2.5 mi away
Lakes and Craters Holiday Park
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.8 mi away
The Camperdown Mill
The Camperdown Mill
#1 of 3 in Camperdown
59 reviews
Show Prices

Been to Timboon House & Stables? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Timboon House & Stables

Address: 320 Old Geelong Road, Camperdown, Victoria 3260, Australia
Region: Australia > Victoria > Camperdown
Amenities:
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 3 B&Bs / Inns in Camperdown
Number of rooms: 4

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing