We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“I'd stay here again”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Chiltern Colonial Motor Inn
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Chiltern
Reviewed 19 May 2013

This was a one night stopover on the way home at the end of a motoring holiday.
Clean and comfortable, spacious room.
I only wish I'd heard some trains!
It was really hot outside but the air-con worked very well.
There was a seasonal bug notice, warning to keep doors and windows closed. This was a necessary warning - and spoke well of the good seals on those windows and doors! When I went outside in the morning there was a carpet of insects that had gathered and died on the doorstep overnight. An intriguing sight but glad they had been unable to enter my room.

  • Stayed: January 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank MobileEm
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (44)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

37 - 43 of 44 reviews

Reviewed 18 April 2013

The rooms are very nice and a good size, service is excellent and the beds very comfortable.
If you are a light sleeper the nearby train line may be a problem. All amenities are included such as flat screen TV, Microwave etc and we found the price to be good value.

  • Stayed: March 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank ondama
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 November 2012

We were wanting to stay in Wangaratta but all booked out because of car racing. We were referred here by a Wangaratta Motel owner and we were not disappointed. Good size rooms, fabulous mattress, large TV and a couch that was extremely comfortable. Very good all round value. Once or twice a train noise but the sound did not intrude. we would stay there again.

Room Tip: Rooms 1 2 3 or 13 14 15 are away from the raiway line
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Eric S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 October 2012

about 20-30 Kms from Rutherglen, Wnagaratta, Beechworth, Wodonga this is a good central hotel in a sort-of historic village. The town is old, but the Motel only about 20 yrs old. It is very well maintained and really good value, with all ground floor units.

The bed was comfortable, big screen TV, M/wave, toaster etc., and good manchester makes for a comfortable night. No real drawbacks, but is close to rail line. Swim pool rather public and unheated, but in summer would be v good and convenient to all units.

I felt the breakfast range was fine and price reasonable.

So, it's central and good base to visit places in the region - worth a stay!

  • Stayed: October 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank uzzul
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 October 2012

I've stayed at the Chiltern Colonial Motor Inn twice. I won't beat about the bush, it is not an extravagant motel, but it feels modern and lacks little, particularly given the cheaper rates you pay. What it does not have is any shampoo.

Another issue is the trains. This can be good or bad, depending on your likes. I liked it. The motel is directly behind the Melbourne-Sydney railway. During daylight hours the railway is quiet, but at night the processsion of superfreighter trains starts. They run all through the late night/early morning and they can be loud. For me though, being a train buff, that's a plus. I like the sound and it in no way disturbed me.

I also found the mangers friendly and the adjoining restaurant is not without merit.

The motel is also in a great location. It is just off the Hume Freeway. Chiltern is an historic town and it is close to the larger and much busier historic town of Beechworth.

I look forward to staying there again and I recommend the motel.

Room Tip: The rooms on the east side are closest to the railway line.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Rod_NR92
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 September 2012

This is the 4th time I have stayed here and will do so again. Extremely friendly Manager and clean comfortable rooms - the structure is brick. The tariff is most reasonable.
The rooms are comfortably appointed and on this winter night of just 3 degrees, the air-conditioner kept us warm and cosy. The bathroom would have benefitted from a heat light as it was a bit cool after a shower.
Others have noted the proximity of the Sydney - Melbourne railway and level crossing (with classic "ding ding" bells) but these seem to go onto a quiet mode during the evening and night as I was not waken up once by trains. Trains must blow their horn on approach to the crossing for safety but this is momentary and was not a problem to us. In fact it provides a pleasant alternative to trucks on a highway.
For those arriving late, do be aware of limited eating opportunities in this quiet town. The Telegraph hotel provides a great meal but may not be open every night and probably not open much after 8pm. Worth checking before you rock into town. The motel is just 1km off the Hume freeway making it easy and convenient to access.
Chiltern itself is a Historic town and well worth a walk around if you have time. When was the last time you saw an old fashioned service station with the pumps kerbside?

Room Tip: Most of the rooms seem to be the same - other than bedding configuration
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank offshore956
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 September 2011

We stayed for one night and found it to be a very comfortable and very clean motel. There is no internet connection and no wifi. Our room was No. 9 and the air conditioner was very noisy. The weather was mild so for us this wasn't a problem but light sleepers may have difficulties. The motel is close to a railway crossing and during the night there were a few trains pass blowing their whistle because of the crossing. So again, a light sleeper might find this a problem. Having said all that we would stay again and consider it to be a nice motel. The manager is a very friendly fellow.

  • Stayed: September 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
5  Thank didowollongong
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Been to Chiltern Colonial Motor Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Chiltern Colonial Motor Inn

Address: 1 Main Street, Chiltern, Victoria 3683, Australia
Region: Australia > Victoria > Chiltern
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Chiltern
Price Range: £75 - £83 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Chiltern Colonial Motor Inn 3*
Number of rooms: 14
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com and Ebookers so you can book your Chiltern Colonial Motor Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing