We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice apartments”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
The Sebel Creswick Forest Resort
Ranked #2 of 2 Hotels in Creswick
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 13 August 2014

Kids loved the indoor/ outdoor pool , hot with steam, in July. The apartment was clean and well equipped. The fire was lovely as it was so cold outside. Wifi should be part of the deal I believe.
Creswick has a great French cake and bread shop.

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank LivSt
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
AccorVacationClub, Guest Relations Manager at The Sebel Creswick Forest Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 15 August 2014

Dear LivSt,
Thank you for taking the time to post your review on The Sebel Creswick Forest Resort. We are glad that the kids loved the indoor/outdoor pool & found the apartment was clean and well equipped. We look forward to hosting you again.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (123)
There are newer reviews for The Sebel Creswick Forest Resort
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

51 - 57 of 123 reviews

Reviewed 6 August 2014

Stayed in one of the townhouses in July 2014. Must say we had a very enjoyable stay. They were perfect for our family of five.

Downstairs there is a small living area, a sitting space, dining area adjacent to a fully equipped kitchen, a laundry and separate toilet. The gas fire place was fabulous. It created such a warm and cosy environment. Being July, it was cold and wet during our stay but indoors was amazing.

Upstairs there were two bedrooms with their own split system heating/cooling, stand-alone bath in both bedrooms and separate ensuites. Although ensuites were on the small side, they did the job.

No WI-FI... This in itself was frustrating. Especially with three children and bad weather. Surely, in this day and age and in Australia, WI-FI should be free and available to all guests!!

Surcharge for using credit card was a bit ludicrous...

Property is in Creswick which is about a 15-20 minute drive from Ballarat. You do need a car as there is not much to do in the area. There is a small strip of shops eg a supermarket, a chemist etc about a 2 minute drive away from hotel which is helpful.

Went to Novotel for breakfast one morning. It was nothing spectacular...just average. We did expect more choice and quality. Hygene was appalling; every plate and cup we picked up was dirty. Surely these should be checked prior to being taken out to the restaurant. Dirty dishes are a real turn-off.

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled with family
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Staci1825
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
AccorVacationClub, Director of Sales at The Sebel Creswick Forest Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 23 December 2014

thank you for taking the time to provide feedback on your stay with us in July 2014.
As you mention the apartmetns are fantastic for a family and well laid out.
We are looking into how we can get WIFI to the property for our guests and hope to have a solution soon.
We hope you come and visit us again soon

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 July 2014

Recently had a 4 night getaway from North Queensland at the Sebel Creswick Forest Resort. As luck would have it we were booked in over a weekend when there was an event (possibly wedding) and the place was booked out. We arrived mid afternoon on the Friday and were put in the unit closest to the highway. This is obviously the least used unit of the lot because of the noise from the road. As we were staying for 4 nights I expected that we would have been given one of the other units whereas other units only had people staying for 2 nights. There were cobwebs in toilet room downstairs and the hair and soap scum had not been cleaned in both the shower rooms (my pet hate). This was very disappointing to see from such a well appointed unit otherwise. We came here to do some horseriding and wineries in the region which were close enough and with a break in the winter weather, had a fantastic time. Have no hesitation in coming back however expect that the cleanliness standard to be improved. I understand that there are units that don't get turned over as much due to their unfavourable location. These are the ones that need to have another clean before they are occupied.

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
1  Thank 27times
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
AccorVacationClub, Guest Relations Manager at The Sebel Creswick Forest Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 12 August 2014

Dear 27times,
Thank you for taking the time to post your review on The Sebel Creswick Forest Resort. We regret the situation that you experienced during your stay and we sincerely apologise for the less than satisfactory cleanliness that let down what was otherwise an enjoyable stay. We can assure you that we are addressing your concerns and have embarked on an intensive re-training in Housekeeping to maintain the standards we are proud of, and that our guests rightly expect.
We do hope we can welcome you back, and deliver an experience that you can enjoy without exception.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 July 2014

Stayed in an apartment here in Winter. Very warm and cosy with the heaters pumping. The fake wood heater also added a nice element. On a cold wet day, the trip to the main building was a hard task. Had ethernet in the room but wifi really should be available in this day and age. The pool was ok for kids being heated but it was outdoors so generally too cold for adults. Kids activities were rather limited for school holidays period (and expensive). Aside from a few niggly things mentioned, actually really enjoyed the room and our stay.

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank Andrew L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
AccorVacationClub, Guest Relations Manager at The Sebel Creswick Forest Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 21 July 2014

Dear Andrew L,
We are pleased that overall you really enjoyed your apartment and your stay with your family. We appreciate the feedback and this has been referred to management. We look forward to hosting your family again in our Country Retreat.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 June 2014

I must say this 2 Bedroom Villa property is a fantastic property and I cant wait to return. Located in a quiet tranquil location. There is also a kiddies club on site for families with young children.

The property contains a fully equiped kitchen with a total of 3 reverse cycle air conditioners (1 downstairs and 2 upstairs in the bedrooms) and a gas fireplace located downstairs. Both bedrooms had their own ensuite bathroom and we loved the open plan full sized baths located within the bedroom (not in the ensuite bathroom) where one could watch TV whilst having a bath. Generous supplies of toileteries were supplied plus dishwashing and washing machine sachets were provided.

There is also a toilet located downstairs in the laundry and the laundry contains a front loader washing machine and a dryer.

Property is well located in between Ballarat and Daylesford and only about a 15-20 minute drive away from each. Both places offer a lot to keep visitors occupied during their stay at this resort. Check Tripadvisor for restaurant listings and things to do in the area.

Creswick only has a small local Shopping Centre perhaps a 2 minute drive away where there is an IGA Store Bakery Pub Takeaway etc. Vehicle is essential for staying at this property.

Sebel Creswick Resort is located beside the Novotel Creswick and the facilities like pool spa restaurant etc are shared. There is a golf course located on the property but Im not a great golf player and havent played for many years. The rear balcony did overlook the golf course whilst the front faced the main road but was some distance away.

The property was very well maintained and I saw no maintenance issues in our villa as mentioned in a previous review except for some scratches on the walls leading up the staircase which I assume is the result of visitors luggage scraping the walls.

The only disappointment I had was that there was no Pay TV just free to air. This is the first Accor Vacation Property I have stayed at where there was no pay TV. Also there is no wifi in the rooms but there is cable internet available in the room. The reception area has free wifi and there are 2 computers one can use free of charge in reception.

Great property and one I will certainly return to.

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank tommomelbourne
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
AccorVacationClub, Guest Relations Manager at The Sebel Creswick Forest Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 26 June 2014

Dear tommomelbourne,
Thank you for taking the time to post your review on The Sebel Creswick Forest Resort. We are so pleased that you regard the property as "fantastic". It sounds like you really made the most of the 2 bedroom villa's facilities and appreciate your comments regarding the local area which is always of assistance to other travellers. Your feedback on Pay TV is also appreciated. We'd love to host you again.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 June 2014

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Accorhotels.com
1  Thank Brenda B
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
AccorVacationClub, Guest Relations Manager at The Sebel Creswick Forest Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 5 June 2014

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Reviewed 15 April 2014

We stayed for a weekend. The unit is large and very well appointed. Very easy to cook a full meal with good cooking implements. Large refrigerator and oven etc. The bathrooms were very modern. The complex allows for purchasing breakfast at the Novotel if required. The location is very good and easy to get to Ballarat, Daylesford and Bendigo. Creswick has a number of cafes and restaurants and is only 5 minutes drive away. The hot water was very very slow to heat up - around 4 minutes before the water ran warm and the shower did not have a high pressure. No free wi - fi which is ridiculous these days- we have always had free wi fi at Accor properties overseas. There is also a surcharge for paying by credit card. Again, never had this before.

Room Tip: Even though we were located towards the main road, there was very little noise.
  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Aussietravellers05
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
AccorVacationClub, Guest Relations Manager at The Sebel Creswick Forest Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 6 May 2014

Dear Aussietravellers05,
Thank you for taking the time to post your review on The Sebel Creswick Forest Resort. We are pleased you enjoyed your weekend stay & found the unit to be large and well appointed. I hope you can return soon to enjoy the property's facilities and the cafes and restaurants a short drive away.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Creswick
0.1 mi away
RACV Goldfields Resort
RACV Goldfields Resort
#1 of 2 in Creswick
261 reviews
15.3 mi away
Lake House
Lake House
#1 of 5 in Daylesford
405 reviews
16.5 mi away
Peppers Mineral Springs Hotel
Peppers Mineral Springs Hotel
#5 of 5 in Hepburn Springs
437 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
16.4 mi away
Bellinzona Grange
Bellinzona Grange
#3 of 5 in Hepburn Springs
269 reviews
15.6 mi away
Hotel Frangos
Hotel Frangos
#3 of 5 in Daylesford
113 reviews
9.4 mi away
Mercure Ballarat Hotel and Convention Centre
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Sebel Creswick Forest Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Sebel Creswick Forest Resort

Address: 1500 Midland Hwy, Creswick, Victoria 3363, Australia (Formerly Grand Mercure Forest Resort Apartments)
Region: Australia > Victoria > Creswick
Amenities:
Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 2 Hotels in Creswick
Price Range: £116 - £182 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — The Sebel Creswick Forest Resort 4*
Number of rooms: 18
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Situated in the heart of Victoria's beautiful Hepburn Shire, The Sebel Creswick Forest Resort offers sophisticated two-bedroom self-catering apartments for a truly indulgent getaway. Nestled amongst 150 acres of forest and lagoons, the apartments boast surroundings incorporating indigenous plants and natural timbers. The Sebel Creswick Forest Resort is located just 20 minutes from Daylesford, 10 minutes from Ballarat and is within close proximity to the historical townships of Creswick and Clunes. Known as the 'spa capital of Australia' the region offers comprehensive mineral springs, award winning wineries and an abundance of cultural and exciting places to explore. Please note The Sebel Creswick Forest Resort no longer have access to the swimming pool and fitness centre. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Agoda, Evoline ltd and Cancelon so you can book your The Sebel Creswick Forest Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Grand Mercure Forest Resort Apartments Hotel Creswick
The Sebel Creswick Forest Resort Victoria, Australia

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing