We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Not a bad hotel but in its own way”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Victoria House Motor Inn
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Croydon
Reviewed 9 February 2014

The rooms are spacious but the hotel has tried to retain some of its yesteryear charm. With this comes old air-conditioning and an outdated bathroom. At night the lights from the spotlights outside shine through the window. I would stay here again and there are numerous eating places a short drive away.

  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank craigv01
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (95)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

62 - 68 of 95 reviews

Reviewed 2 February 2014

We really enjoyed our stay at Victoria house motor inn. Although our room was on the front of the property, the room was not noisy. We had breakfast in our room and it was great value. The owner of the property recommended a very good restaurant near by. The decor of the room was a little different to usual and was clean. The owners were pleasant and obliging We enjoyed our stay

  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Mary D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 December 2013

We usually stay with Rob and Renee about three times a year and have been doing so for about five years or more. It's great to be greeted by friendly faces eager to make us welcome - nothing is too much trouble. Renee's a great cook (if you stay during the week night) and the food and wine selection's excellent.

Room Tip: Ground floor at the back is quiet but the double glazing on the front rooms deadens road noise.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Steve2548
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 November 2013

I recently stayed there for three nights and will be back when visiting the area. Rob and Renee were the greatest hosts and the whole experience was very enjoyable.
I just loved the beautiful furniture and especially the bathrooms with the vintage fittings and décor. What a delight after the ultra moderns of the newer hotels.
My nieces came to stay with me for a night and enjoyed the wonderful room service breakfast. My other family members had the beautiful suite which had fully stocked kitchen which made our stay even more enjoyable.
The beds were comfortable and even though close to a road it was very quiet at night. Had a lovely enclosed balcony which was enjoyable because it was cold while I was there so able to enjoy outdoors without being cold.
I will be back to stay again at this wonderful hotel.

Room Tip: The suites are great value if staying a few days.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Mary B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 November 2013

We have now had two stays at the Victoria House Motor Inn, once in October this year and again more recently in November 2013. Each stay was for 2 and 3 nights.

On both occasions we have found Rob and Renee to be extremely friendly and accommodating. We have two young children and have stayed in the family room both times. It is a very large room and a nice alternative to a small hotel room at a similar price. The room we stayed in was on the back side of property and was extremely quiet at night.

As the other reviews mention, this property has more character than a standard hotel so it provides a bit of a unique experience at the same time. Considering the historic nature of the property it was kept clean and still felt like a home away from home.

The location in Croydon provides really good access to Lilydale and the Yarra Valley. We stay here and travel into the Yarra Valley each day (15 minutes drive). This allows us to pick up a nice coffee in Lilydale and then come back for more dinner options at night. We find that Croydon provides good access not only to the Valley but also if you choose to head back to Box Hill, Ringwood or even Melbourne for some dinner. We find that for lower cost we have more options from this location.

I often travel for business and believe that this would be an ideal place to spend a night if I was working in the area as well.

  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Daniel B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 November 2013

I will definitely come back. The rooms are very spacious and furnished with beautiful pieces of furniture. A queen sized bed with heaps of pillows, a large lounge area with a complimentary decanter of port on the coffee table. and a spotlessly clean bathroom with a large spa bath.
I wish I could have stayed a bit longer.

  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Wanderer1352
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 November 2013

So pleasant to stay somewhere with character, style and comfortable roominess. Loved the place and the service. If you want old world charm, plenty of space, then this is the place. Nothing sterile here, just grace, lots of romantic roses and lovely peaceful atmosphere. Relaxing. We will be back.

  • Stayed: November 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank sharni123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Croydon
4.2 mi away
Yarra Valley Lodge
Yarra Valley Lodge
#1 of 1 in Chirnside Park
552 reviews
1.6 mi away
Dorset Gardens Hotel
Dorset Gardens Hotel
#2 of 2 in Croydon
56 reviews
3.5 mi away
Ringwood Lake Inn
Ringwood Lake Inn
#2 of 4 in Ringwood
60 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.8 mi away
Linley Estate
Linley Estate
#1 of 1 in Kilsyth
46 reviews
4.0 mi away
Yarra Valley Motel
Yarra Valley Motel
#1 of 2 in Lilydale
137 reviews
4.0 mi away
York on Lilydale
York on Lilydale
#1 of 1 in Mount Evelyn
108 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Victoria House Motor Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Victoria House Motor Inn

Address: 331 Maroondah Hwy, Croydon, Maroondah, Victoria 3136, Australia
Region: Australia > Victoria > Greater Melbourne > Maroondah > Croydon
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Croydon
Price Range: £75 - £118 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Victoria House Motor Inn 4*
Number of rooms: 20
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Agoda, Hotels.com, HotelsClick, Ebookers, Cancelon and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Victoria House Motor Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Victoria House Motor Inn Croydon, Australia

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing