We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A lovely unique motel”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Victoria House Motor Inn
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Croydon
Shepparton, Australia
Level Contributor
23 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“A lovely unique motel”
Reviewed 7 May 2014

Really happy to discover a motel room that didn't feel like a motel room!
We chose this property because of a party nearby (we're from out of town) and the positive reviews online. Just a one night stay
What a pretty terrace; such a nice little oasis at the city fringe.
Our room was a deluxe shower room. I didn't know what a 'deluxe shower' was, and still a little puzzled, but both the room and bathroom were VERY spacious, and in an old-world style- perhaps this was it. Also we had a balcony which felt a bit lovely and special- nice to have an openable window!
Our hosts seemed very down to earth and relaxed, which was lovely.
Our room was missing milk which was provided very swiftly when requested.
Our television wasn't tuned and couldn't be tuned without a password, the manager was very apologetic and said he'd sort that out on our departure.
The only other funny thing was that the bed, which was VERY comfy, had been made with a fitted sheet, flat sheet under doona, and counterpane directly on top of that. When the counterpane was removed for sleeping, the doona was therefore exposed. I really missed that extra flat sheet over the top of the doona, it just looks more clean and pristine. Other aspects of cleanliness were very good (except my used teacup on entering the room), particularly the bathroom.
A strong waft of breakfast made me wish we'd planned ahead and were able to partake...

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Amyshepp
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

87 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    53
    26
    7
    0
    1
See reviews for
21
38
4
13
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (27)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Auckland Region, New Zealand
Level Contributor
24 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 April 2014 via mobile

I stay here frequently , in this part of Melbourne the other options are a bit bland and soulless
I find the hosts make the difference , foods always good with a fair selection and the chefs always happy to help out.
Rooms are enormous , plenty of space and all the things you need inside

Stayed April 2014, travelled on business
Helpful?
1 Thank richard s
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
22 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 April 2014

A great hotel with fantastic hosts that shouldn't be passed. Large air-condition rooms with plenty of charm. The meals we had were fantastic and are well worth staying in for. Excellent stay, very high recommended.

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank WJnCJ
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Adelaide, Australia
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 28 March 2014

We thoroughly enjoyed our stay at Victoria House. I was pleasantly surprised by the quietness of the room considering it's location on the Highway. The windows were double glazed which made the room very quiet. The bed was very comfortable and we had a great night's sleep. Our room was very spacious with quality furniture and lots of places to put your things not like the average hotel where you fight for bench space for toiletries or floor space for your suitcase. You can really spread out. The hairdryer was excellent, I'll know next time not to bring my own. The owners are very friendly and nothing is too much trouble. Looking forward to our next stay at Victoria House. Deb & John

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
Helpful?
1 Thank Debra L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Canberra
Level Contributor
124 reviews
73 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 138 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 February 2014

The rooms are spacious but the hotel has tried to retain some of its yesteryear charm. With this comes old air-conditioning and an outdated bathroom. At night the lights from the spotlights outside shine through the window. I would stay here again and there are numerous eating places a short drive away.

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank craigv01
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ballarat, Victoria, Australia
Level Contributor
33 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 February 2014

We really enjoyed our stay at Victoria house motor inn. Although our room was on the front of the property, the room was not noisy. We had breakfast in our room and it was great value. The owner of the property recommended a very good restaurant near by. The decor of the room was a little different to usual and was clean. The owners were pleasant and obliging We enjoyed our stay

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Mary D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Merimbula, Australia
1 review
Reviewed 7 December 2013

We usually stay with Rob and Renee about three times a year and have been doing so for about five years or more. It's great to be greeted by friendly faces eager to make us welcome - nothing is too much trouble. Renee's a great cook (if you stay during the week night) and the food and wine selection's excellent.

Room Tip: Ground floor at the back is quiet but the double glazing on the front rooms deadens road noise.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Steve2548
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Croydon
4.2 mi away
Yarra Valley Lodge
Yarra Valley Lodge
#1 of 1 in Chirnside Park
528 reviews
3.9 mi away
Yarra Valley Motel
Yarra Valley Motel
#1 of 2 in Lilydale
130 reviews
1.6 mi away
Dorset Gardens Hotel
Dorset Gardens Hotel
#2 of 2 in Croydon
47 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.8 mi away
Linley Estate
Linley Estate
#1 of 1 in Kilsyth
43 reviews
3.5 mi away
Comfort Inn Ringwood Lake
9.0 mi away
Chateau Yering Hotel
Chateau Yering Hotel
#1 of 1 in Yering
327 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Victoria House Motor Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Victoria House Motor Inn

Property: Victoria House Motor Inn
Address: 331 Maroondah Hwy, Croydon, Maroondah, Victoria 3136, Australia
Region: Australia > Victoria > Greater Melbourne > Maroondah > Croydon
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Croydon
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — Victoria House Motor Inn 4*
Number of rooms: 20
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Agoda, Priceline, Traveltool, S.L.U. and Cancelon so you can book your Victoria House Motor Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Victoria House Motor Inn Croydon, Australia

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing