We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent value for money.”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Dorset Gardens Hotel
Ranked #2 of 2 Hotels in Croydon
Reviewed 16 January 2014 via mobile

Perfect budget hotel booked at last minute, for location & air conditioning! 3 of us stayed for just one night during heatwave & for the price we couldn't fault it. A bit of confusion with room allocation on check in but very quickly sorted out.

  • Stayed: January 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank SuziAustralia
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (53)
There are newer reviews for Dorset Gardens Hotel
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

50 - 53 of 53 reviews

Reviewed 5 October 2012

Spacious room with large double and a single bed, storage, table and 3 chairs. Equipped with iron and board, extra bedding, toaster and tea making facilities, TV, Internet available, bath/ shower. Regular housekeeping who were very friendly and helpful. The aircon /heater is remote controlled which is handy for the 4 seasons weather that can affect Melbourne.
There is a very good restaurant within the attached reception, conference and Tabaret room. They have various events and cabaret on in the main building. There is also a large drive through liquor store on the entrance lot.
There is plenty parking but be careful when coming off main road to the driveway as the dip in the road at the entrance can catch the front of the car. Best not to access straight on, take slow at an angle to avoid problems.
A short drive from here to Croydon railway station and you can enjoy a carefree, car free journey into the CBD. Remember to buy a MYKI card for travel on Bus, tram and train systems in Melbourne area. In all, a good location in south eastern suburbs for access to Mount Dandenong Viewpoint, Lilydale lake and shopping centres.
It was a good place to use as a base, especially when visiting relatives but wanting a bit independence.

Room Tip: Those at the rear of the property don't have as many potential early drivers passing. Motel also...
  • Stayed: September 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Jayemem
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 October 2010

The rooms are spacious, beds large and comfortable, linen crips and fresh and serviced every day by really lovely ladies... BUT, we've been here 4 days and woken up each and every morning to no hot water. After a call to the friendly lady on reception maintenance was sent to reset the system and we had water thereafter within 30mins altho this didn't prevent my partner being late for his course 1 morning due to this and having to have a shower in an alternate room with a functioning shower on another morning. The rooms are basic, altho functional and spacious, but are starting to show their age. Our kettle leaked and alarm clock didn't work (but were replaced within the hour once notified), however, we couldn't fix the icy air pouring in our bedroom window from the faulty seal and/or swelling of the window sill (we stuffed bathroom towels into the gaps). No wonder there were 2 split systems in the unit! We had no problems at all with noise or drunks and the saving grace for this hotel is just how lovely its staff are. The bistro is reasonably priced for breaky, a little pricy for dinner but still a good meal. Despite our complaints we actually would stay here again as efforts were made to fix problems (the staff were lovely) and we realise when you book a 'budget' hotel, you get a 'budget' hotel.

  • Stayed: October 2010, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Kookaburra243
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 August 2010

The rooms here are basic but adequate - acceptable for the price range. Unfortunately there is a nightclub situated very close to the motel. When we returned from a wedding (reason for our trip) the booming bass was at a ridiculous level and there were already people milling around yelling and being obnoxious. We were woken up numerous times during the night by drunk people carrying on in the rooms next to us and outside the complex. Absolutely terrible.

The motel had numerous signs in the rooms about keeping excessive noise down - now I see why.

The only plus to the stay here was the meal in the bistro which was excellent.

  • Stayed: April 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank 211,210
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Croydon
2.1 mi away
Linley Estate
Linley Estate
#1 of 1 in Kilsyth
46 reviews
4.3 mi away
Golden Pebble Melbourne
Golden Pebble Melbourne
#1 of 3 in Wantirna
157 reviews
4.0 mi away
York on Lilydale
York on Lilydale
#1 of 1 in Mount Evelyn
108 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.8 mi away
Ringwood Lake Inn
Ringwood Lake Inn
#2 of 4 in Ringwood
60 reviews
5.8 mi away
Yarra Valley Lodge
Yarra Valley Lodge
#1 of 1 in Chirnside Park
547 reviews
4.9 mi away
Yarra Valley Motel
Yarra Valley Motel
#1 of 2 in Lilydale
134 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Dorset Gardens Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Dorset Gardens Hotel

Address: 335 Dorset Rd, Croydon, Maroondah, Victoria 3136, Australia
Region: Australia > Victoria > Greater Melbourne > Maroondah > Croydon
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Casino and Gambling Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 2 Hotels in Croydon
Price Range: £54 - £87 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Dorset Gardens Hotel 3.5*
Number of rooms: 45
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Dorset Gardens Hotel has an adjoining Motel Complex with 45 Motel Style Units including a large 3 bedroom self contained apartment. Our accommodation caters for all types of requirements whether it be individual travellers, families, couples, group bookings or corporate guests. Key Features •45 motel style units available in double and twin share, including 2 family rooms with separate lounge area and spa facilities. •All rooms have ensuite facilities, remote A/C and LCD screens, table and chairs, tea and coffee facilities, iron and board and small refrigerator. •Breakfast, lunch and dinner seven days a week in Gardens Restaurant. •Ground floor and second storey units. •Ample car and coach parking FREE. •Wireless internet facilities. •Guest laundry with washing & drying facilities. •Multiple room booking concessions available. Along with our in-house entertainment, Bistro, Sports Bar, Beer Garden, Pokies, Night club and function rooms we boast walking distance and close proximity to: • Wedding venues such as Bramleigh and Linley estate • Dorset public golf course • Eastland shopping centre • Croydon train station • Croydon main street • Delicious cafes and retail outlets • Croydon leisure centre • Woolworths supermarket • Croydon cinema • And multiple service stations We are located 20 minutes drive to Sky-High look-out, 1000 steps, Mt. Dandenong and The Yarra Valley. Please ask our friendly staff for information about local events and attractions. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Agoda, Ebookers and Cancelon so you can book your Dorset Gardens Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Dorset Gardens Hotel Croydon, Australia - Victoria

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing