We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Always nice but not so good for families”
Review of Royal Mail Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Royal Mail Hotel
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Dunkeld
Certificate of Excellence
Adelaide, Australia
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Always nice but not so good for families”
Reviewed 14 October 2013

This is our 4th trip to the Royal Mail with our family. It is always a nice stay. We stayed in a 2 bedroom apartment which was lovely but starting to show some signs of wear and tear. We would love it if there were 3 bedroom apartments as the house option is a bit too pricey for 1 family.
We were strongly encouraged to make a booking at the bistro when we booked our apartment which was ok but not really great for children. Our eldest two ate from the regular menu and our youngest couldn't find any good options so went hungry. The meal was fine but pretty pricey and fairly small serves so our older children were also hungry at the end after ordering a main and a dessert. Three courses each for a family of 5 at this bistro starts to add up!
We probably should have ate at the pub however on a Saturday night we were concerned it would be too busy and we were told the bistro would be good for a family.
It would be great if the bistro was a little more relaxed and family friendly and left the fine dining for the restaurant. In such a lovely rural setting I feel a more relaxed place to eat would be great as we are here to unwind. We have opportunity to go to formal restaurants in the city-in the country its nice to chill a bit.
The continental breakfast was nice however a cooked buffet breakfast is always popular particularly for hikers!
We will be back.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Tilly788
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Scott H, General Manager at Royal Mail Hotel, responded to this review, 26 October 2013
Dear Tilly788

Thank you very much for your ongoing patronage of the hotel and the team looks forward to welcoming you back time and time again.

I was delighted to read that you had such an enjoyable experience. Families are a very important part of our business and the Hotel is always extremely busy during any school holiday period. New menus have just been rolled out throughout the entire Hotel and there is now a broader offering for children on the Public Bar menu and these childrens dishes can be served in the Bistro.

The Mount Sturgeon offering at the Hotel is a great area for families and there are two, three bedroom cottages there with large grounds for children to enjoy as well as our animal enclosures and an abundance of wildlife.

Please do not hesitate to contact me personally on scott@royalmail.com.au or 03 5577 2241 if I can assist with your next booking. The team and I sincerely look forward to welcoming you back again.

Kind regards

Scott Horn
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

474 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    198
    133
    82
    43
    18
See reviews for
51
288
11
21
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (111)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Melbourne, Australia
Level 3 Contributor
16 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 October 2013 via mobile

My partner and I have just spent a relaxing weekend at the hotel. Everything from the moment we arrived was perfect. The staff couldn't have been friendlier or more helpful. Our mountain view room was spacious and comfortable. The amenities in the bathroom were spa quality. The minibar was well stocked with quality half bottles of wine and delicious snacks. We dined at the hotel bar on Friday night, it was very good pub food. I had the chicken Parma and my partner had the beef burger. We ate in the bistro on Saturday for lunch. We shared a charcuterie platter, I had roast Glengoth chicken and my partner had the steak. We enjoyed both. Saturday night was really good, five course with matching wines. The food was superb. For a chef who has only been there for six weeks he is doing a fantastic job. We toured the kitchen garden that morning and it's produce was evident throughout our meal. Breakfast was also a meal to be looked forward to. I must single out the quince custard doughnuts as outstanding, this from a person who doesn't particularly like doughnuts. All on all, I can't recommend the hotel highly enough.

Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank hammoj
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Scott H, General Manager at Royal Mail Hotel, responded to this review, 25 October 2013
Dear hammoj

Thank you very much for choosing to stay and dine with us and for taking the time to post a review.

I was delighted to read that you had such an enjoyable experience and the team looks forward to welcoming you back again soon.

Kind regards

Scott Horn
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Yarram, Australia
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
Reviewed 8 October 2013

We had been here before and it had been exceptional and we expected to have the same experience again but where very disappointed we ordered Lamb with a mash and char grilled vegetables and received Lamb with tasteless mash and tasteless steamed vegetables we won't be returning and it wasn't cheap !!

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Mooch13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Melbourne, Australia
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 October 2013

I was very excited to try out this restaurant after seeing the reviews and stayed a night in Dunkeld just to visit this place. Honestly next time visiting the Grampians I will be skipping the Royal Mail. Starters was Calamari, it was nice but nothing spectacular. I then had the fish which was in my opinion under cooked. When asked for it to be done a little more I was told that is the way it is served. Now I love my meat rare, I love my fish just to be cooked but this was flesh and was hard to pull apart. If it was cooked the flakes of fish should fall onto your plate but this was fleshy and raw in the middle. Then the dessert was a pistachio cake which was nice but a lot of different flavors that did not match. I am not a fussy eater and have eaten in some excellent restaurants and this was just over pricey for the quality you get. On a positive note the lamb my partner got was beautiful and cooked to perfection and the wine was beautiful too. Its just not somewhere I would rush back to.

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank sepritch
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Scott H, General Manager at Royal Mail Hotel, responded to this review, 25 October 2013
Dear Sepritch

Thank you very much for choosing to stay and dine with us. Thank you also for your feedback and please accept my sincerest apologies that we did not meet your expectations in some areas.

We look forward to welcoming you back.

Kind regards

Scott Horn
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Creswick, Australia
Level 6 Contributor
88 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 September 2013

We had a buy one night; get one free stay at the Royal Mail. Booked a Garden Room, it was clean and roomy, however fairly basic room… very “Motel” style and not what we expected. In fact we considered paying for an upgrade to a Mountain Room. Keep in mind there is not much in the way of “garden”, and the rooms are across the road from the Hotel. We did not know this at the time of booking. We had dinner in the Bistro, it was very good. Something else to keep in mind; big plates, small servings and high prices… but I knew this and this is why we came. Something I did not know was the one of Australia's finest chefs, Dan Hunter, quit his job at Royal Mail Hotel in July. Dan has moved to Sunnybrae, Birregurra. I was irate when I worked this out on the night of our meal, I should have done my due diligence before booking. Robin Wickens is now the Executive Chef, our meal was good, not world class as I was expecting. I had the pigeon salad, the dressing was a bit too acidy and the pigeon was poached in a bag/bath but then not crisped up in a pan before serving. My partner had the Milawa chicken, potato crumble, pancetta which I always consider a pedestrian choice (chicken); however it was extremely tender and did have a crispy skin. I had the fish as my main, it had spent a few seconds too long in the pan. It was cooked through; where I feel it should be very slightly underdone. Waiter service was very good, however I ordered spiced almonds and they sat out under the kitchen heat lights while I sat and watched them for about 15mins until I asked a waiter to bring them over to the table! The day we arrived we just wanted to get a light snack and found “The Old Bakery” around the corner in Martin Street. They had two gluten free cakes and super scones, homemade jam and cream. Ok coffee too!

Room Tip: Don’t book the Garden Room, very plain and across the road from the Hotel.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Rhys M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Scott H, General Manager at Royal Mail Hotel, responded to this review, 1 October 2013
Dear Rhys M

Thank you very much for choosing to stay and dine with us and for taking the time to post a review.

We have just completed a $1.4 million refurbishment project on 17 of our rooms and the room type that you stayed in is planned for refurbishment in 2014.

Talented and award winning chef Robin Wickens has now headed up the kitchen team for the past month and has initiated the roll out of additions and enhancements to what was already one of the most talked about dining experiences in Australia. The overall guest feedback in regards to dining over the past month has been nothing short of overwhelming with everyone very excited about what they have seen and the dining offering moving forward. The pidgeon salad is a dish that has been on the menu for some time now and has been removed within the past month.

The team looks forward to welcoming you back in the near future.

Kind regards

Scott Horn
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Melbourne, Australia
Level 3 Contributor
14 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 September 2013

We recently stayed and dined at the Royal Mail Hotel in Dunkeld.
We were in a newly refurbished Mountain View room and the two mountains that could be seen from our balcony were very impressive. There are walks around the hotel and we took the easy walk. For the more adventurous (and fitter) folks then you could climb up the mountain. We saw lots of wallabies and wild birds.
The room was well appointed and very clean. The hotel has magnificent food ranging from pub food to bistro and fine dining. We tried all three and were very impressed. They have their own private garden and they boast that 70% of the food they serve is grown in their garden! Staff were very friendly and worked as a team. We will stay here again for sure. It is one hour from the coast so we took the opportunity to visit the lovely town of Port Fairy before heading home.

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Stephen141
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Scott H, General Manager at Royal Mail Hotel, responded to this review, 30 September 2013
Dear Stephen141

Thank you very much for choosing to stay and dine with us and for taking the time to post a review. I was delighted to read that you had such an enjoyable all round experience and it looks like you have summed us up to a T.

The team looks forward to welcoming you back again soon.

Kind regards

Scott Horn
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Melbourne, Australia
Level 4 Contributor
34 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 September 2013

Go to Dunkeld, stay at the Royal Mail Hotel and you won't be disappointed. The hotel is situated in a lovely bush setting at the end of the Grampian Ranges. Our room had a wonderful view looking out onto Mt. Sturgeon, the bed was very comfy and the bathroom large, well equipped, with an excellent shower.
The restaurant is world class, definitely one of the best in Australia, if not the best. We had the degustation dinner at the restaurant, which was absolutely fabulous and the matching wines were perfect. We were a bit concerned when we found out that the chef , who everyone had raved about, had left. We were not disappointed however, as whoever has taken over, is brilliant. The food was beautiful, with cutting edge dishes using the best locally sourced ingredients and techniques which really do them justice. Service was impeccable, very friendly, informative with lots of wine knowledge and attentive without being overbearing. The overall the experience was amazing and I would best describe it as being taken on a journey by the wait staff and sommelier with a meticulous description of the food preparation and the origins of some of the very interesting wines.
The continental breakfast the next morning was sensational and really stood out from usual hotel fare too - mainly made up of local produce – local in house smoked ham & salon, yoghurts, pickles & condiments made in the kitchen and beautiful bread.
The second night we booked into the bistro was also fantastic. it is not cheap - but the food is everything their reputation says it is.
The layout of the whole building is interesting as there is a bar at one end of the building, serving bar food and beer to locals and tourists alike. You then move through an adjoining door into the open plan bistro / fine dining area which is not really separated like other restaurants. The Bar menu was also interesting and I would have liked to stay another night as the menu was very different from the bistro and the restaurant.
There are some great walking tracks near the hotel, good way to spend an afternoon.
Be warned, the experience is not cheap - BUT it is priceless. We certainly rank it among the top experiences we have had and we have no reservations in recommending the Royal Mail as an amazing place for dinner and a pretty good place to stay too.

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Hans E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Scott H, General Manager at Royal Mail Hotel, responded to this review, 30 September 2013
Dear Grumpelfuerer

Thank you very much for choosing to stay and dine with us and for taking the time to post a review.

It certainly sounds like you enjoyed the complete experience and I was delighted to read your comments. The team and I very much look forward to welcoming you back again in the near future.

Kind regards

Scott Horn
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Dunkeld
18.4 mi away
Hamilton Lonsdale Motel
Hamilton Lonsdale Motel
#2 of 8 in Hamilton
56 reviews
17.2 mi away
Comfort Inn Grange Burn
Comfort Inn Grange Burn
#6 of 8 in Hamilton
57 reviews
18.6 mi away
Comfort Inn Botanical
Comfort Inn Botanical
#7 of 8 in Hamilton
51 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Southern Grampians Cottages
0.3 mi away
Grampians View Bed and Breakfast
18.4 mi away
Hamilton Townhouse Motel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Royal Mail Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Royal Mail Hotel

Property: Royal Mail Hotel
Address: 98 Parker St, Dunkeld, Victoria 3294, Australia
Region: Australia > Victoria > Grampians > Dunkeld
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Parking Restaurant Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Dunkeld
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Royal Mail Hotel 3.5*
Number of rooms: 41
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Royal Mail Hotel is a unique destination set among native gardens and fruit orchards with stunning views of the Southern Grampians Ranges. Award-winning food and wine, accommodation, conferencing and wedding facilities and the nearby historic Mt Sturgeon Estate are all available for guests to explore and enjoy. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd, Agoda and Ctrip TA so you can book your Royal Mail Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Royal Mail Dunkeld
Royal Mail Hotel Dunkeld, Australia - Grampians

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing