We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Plan to stop here on your driving holiday” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Royal Mail Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Royal Mail Hotel
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Dunkeld
Adelaide, Australia
Level Contributor
34 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
“Plan to stop here on your driving holiday”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 January 2014

Considering this hotel is located far from a capital city and in the heart of a farming community I found the level of service, the quality of the rooms, the food and the general ambiance and design to be outstanding. It is no mean feat to achieve this, partcularly for the length of time this establishment has.
Got a great rate for the room even though it was in school holidays, which included the best complimentary continental breakfast I've had in an age. There are lovely walks around the town of Dunkeld if you're only staying a night on your way through to someone where else.

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled solo
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank SAV68
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Scott H, General Manager at Royal Mail Hotel, responded to this review, 24 February 2014
Dear SAV68

Thank you very much for your review. I was delighted to read your comments and that you had such an enjoyable experience.

The team looks forward to welcoming you back again soon.

Kind regards

Scott Horn
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

458 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    188
    131
    80
    41
    18
See reviews for
51
276
11
20
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (106)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Adelaide, Australia
Level Contributor
14 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 January 2014

This is a meal only review as well. We had heard that the Royal Mail Hotel was the place to eat so we made sure we stopped there for lunch. The meals weren't cheap (especially for a lunch time) and not impressive. We ordered well before a large group of 6 but our meals were served to us at least 15 minutes after them (not a good start). Eventually our meals arrived and were luke warm at best. It appeared that they got a bit excited and cooked my husbands mixed grill and the chips before cooking the burger to go with it. This resulted in everything else being almost cold with a warm burger. The 'salad' comprised of lettuce, a few tomatoes and dressing - not a salad in my eyes. The burger comprised of a patty that fell apart, cheese and relish - not a typical burger. While the food tasted ok, the service and execution was poor and not what we expected of such a highly acclaimed restaurant.

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank AussieUKTraveller
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Melbourne, Australia
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 January 2014

We stayed three nights at the Royal Mail in late December 2013 in a Deluxe Mountain View room. My husband and I have been wanting to visit for some time not just for the Grampians, but primarily for the acclaimed Royal Mail hotel and restaurant.

The hotel has recently undergone a considerable refurbishment, so the rooms are clean and new. The continental breakfast offered as part of the room rate is simple but lovely and I was pleased to discover that on request they offered options for those with dietary requirements (such as dairy free, and gluten free).

At a minimum of $295 AUD per night however, I expect more than the Royal Mail delivered. A more accurate description of the room would be 'mountain glimpses' rather than 'view'. The balcony / deck area was dusty, cobweb-infested and generally lacking in maintenance. The walls of the room were so thin that we could hear our neighbours open their wardrobe, watch TV, have conversations, and yes, yes, yes, YES have highly theatrical sex.

During our stay I tried to call reception perhaps half a dozen times - to ask for the wifi password, confirm checkout time, etc. Not a single phone call was answered.

On the whole we found our stay disappointing. The hotel is likely superior to other accommodation options in the area, however it's certainly not worth a special trip.

Room Tip: Choose a cottage rather than one of the hotel rooms!
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank essaich
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Adelaide, Australia
Level Contributor
107 reviews
45 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 47 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 January 2014

This too is only a meal review. We were referred to this hotel by the owners of where we were staying. The meals took a while to come out and when they arrived it looked like we got the last of the chips and they were in the oil too long. I also had to get up and search for cutlery. It had been placed on the bar and the barman just pointed to it, despite there being no one else there to serve. We were there at the end of meal time and this may have been the difference in our experience.

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled with family
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank DMCC3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
68 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 January 2014

Had a great sleep in this stylish, calm room. Bed was the best ever!
Not delighted with our bistro dinner meal, but the room, great walking treks and yum breakfast still made for a good weekend visit. Not the gourmet adventure we thought it would be but I would visit again for the accommodation and hikes alone.

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Rulip
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Melbourne
Level Contributor
63 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 December 2013

Please note this is a restaurant review only and nothing at all to do with the accommodation. We dined in the Bistro for lunch. Everything was marvellous. In a way the highlight was the kids meal - steak and shoe string chips. I tasted my daughter's steak and I would have been more than happy to receive the same quality as an adult - and yet at $14, this compares more than favourably to $8, $10 and $12 deep fried chicken nuggets at most places for kids. The adult meals were superb, my wife and I both choosing (different) fish meals, done with great flair and originality. Wine also a highlight. Sparkling wine by the glass still bubbly, and a very useful feature was 450ml carafes of some wines, when a full bottle is too much to share with a designated driver. Have been here each of the last 4 years at Christmas and I have to say this was the best of all 4 experiences.

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank MindtheGap1996to2013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Glass House Mountains, Queensland, Australia
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 December 2013 via mobile

Nice casual evening spent in the public bar of the royal mail hotel. Food was good, worth the price. Service excellent for a bar. We had drinks in front of the fire, then moved to a table when dinner was ready.

They say the wine menu is outstanding but I'd like to point out they've put just as much effort into the selection of beers available behind the bar!

  • Stayed November 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
Helpful?
1 Thank Tom G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Dunkeld
17.2 mi away
Comfort Inn Grange Burn
Comfort Inn Grange Burn
#5 of 8 in Hamilton
3.5 of 5 bubbles 52 reviews
18.4 mi away
Hamilton Lonsdale Motel
Hamilton Lonsdale Motel
#2 of 8 in Hamilton
4.5 of 5 bubbles 48 reviews
0.4 mi away
Southern Grampians Cottages
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Grampians View Bed and Breakfast
18.4 mi away
Hamilton Townhouse Motel
Hamilton Townhouse Motel
#1 of 8 in Hamilton
4.5 of 5 bubbles 93 reviews
3.4 mi away
Aquila Mount Abrupt Eco Lodges
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Royal Mail Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Royal Mail Hotel

Property: Royal Mail Hotel
Address: 98 Parker St, Dunkeld, Victoria 3294, Australia
Region: Australia > Victoria > Grampians > Dunkeld
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Parking Restaurant Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Dunkeld
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Royal Mail Hotel 3.5*
Number of rooms: 41
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Royal Mail Hotel is a unique destination set among native gardens and fruit orchards with stunning views of the Southern Grampians Ranges. Award-winning food and wine, accommodation, conferencing and wedding facilities and the nearby historic Mt Sturgeon Estate are all available for guests to explore and enjoy. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Ebookers, Odigeo, Agoda and MrandMrsSmith so you can book your Royal Mail Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Royal Mail Dunkeld
Royal Mail Hotel Dunkeld, Australia - Grampians

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing