We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Mt Sturgen Magic” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Royal Mail Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Royal Mail Hotel
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Dunkeld
Killarney Vale, Australia
Level Contributor
66 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
“Mt Sturgen Magic”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 June 2014

Stayed at The Royal Mail Hotel Mt Sturgen Cottages with two other couples last Fri. Sat. Nights.We arrived Fri. Night and had a trouble free booking in session. Booked a cellar tour for Sat. afternoon for all, and a garden tour Sun. morning for the wives. Settled in to the beautiful cottages that supply everything you could want, and lit the fire that was all set up ready,and went to the hotel bar for dinner. Great food, hot wings with soft blue cheese sauce, scotch broth, chicken parmajama,and steaks were all excellent. Toured up through the Grampians to Halls Gap and a lot of villages, and got back for our cellar tour which was ok, 26,000 bottles of wine and we only got offered one white and one red to try, but Dennis the guide really knew his wines very well. W e celebrated one of the groups 60th b/day with the degustation meal, but got our waitress (Whitney) ,who deserves a special mentIon for putting up with our rather noisy group, to help select the wines for us,and we loved every course and wine. Next morning our wives did their kitchen garden tour with the 3rd year apprentice chef Abbie and really enjoyed it saying she was very informative. Once again, thanks Whitney for your excellent service and great sence of humour and also the young lady that picked us up and drove us home in the bus and made sure everyone got back to their cabins ok. We found everything ran smoothly all weekend, and left after our late checkout,very happy with the stay and all staff

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank kevincri
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Scott H, General Manager at Royal Mail Hotel, responded to this review, 10 July 2014
Dear kevinkri

Thank you very much for taking the time to post a review.

I was delighted to read that you had an enjoyable stay and thank you for your wonderful feedback on our team members.

We look forward to welcoming you back again soon.

Kind regards

Scott Horn
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

458 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    188
    131
    80
    41
    18
See reviews for
51
276
11
20
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (106)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Melbourne, Australia
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 June 2014

We went to the Royal Mail for our last trip as a family of 2 and it was excellent.

We ate at the restaurant, bistro and the public bar. All were great, from the 5 star food to the burger I can't fault a thing.

The rooms were fantastic, hotel and restaurant staff so helpful and accommodating.

If you're looking for somewhere to do absolutely nothing and just relax look no further, so relaxing and peaceful we ended up booking an extra night.

Thank you Royal Mail, well done.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Jimmy D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Scott H, General Manager at Royal Mail Hotel, responded to this review, 10 July 2014
Dear Jimmy D

Thank you very much for choosing to stay and dine with us and for taking the time to post a review.

I was delighted to read that you enjoyed your stay and it was that good that you stayed an extra night.

The team looks forward to welcoming you back again in the near future.

Kind regards

Scott Horn
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
52 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 June 2014

My partner and I stayed at the Royal Mail in May this year to celebrate a birthday. Coming from Melbourne, the drive took around 3,5 hours but it was well worth it! The positives: we booked a cottage (cottage 3) which was absolutely beautiful. It was quaint and suited the environment outside. We had an amazing view of Mt Sturgeon and the cottage was equipped with a full kitchenette (including microwave and small fridge) as well as plenty of firewood to keep the room warm all night (and a heater in case it got super cold!). The cottages are very private- they are around 3km away from the hotel reception (and restaurants) and the road getting to them is quite bumpy. I would highlight- there is NO TV, INTERNET or PHONE connection in the cottages so keep in mind you are completely secluded. For us, this made for a nice getaway from every day life. The rainwater tank was made into a converted bathroom which although sounds like a great idea, it was a very cold space to use the bathroom or have a shower and were very basic. I think the bathroom's could do with built in heating.

We had the 8 course tasting menu at the restaurant which was very pricey but for us the meal was worth it. Our waiter (who seemed to be the host for the evening) took the time to explain each of the elements on the dish and the food was beautiful. I have to admit we were one of the first to arrive- once the restaurant became busier we didn't get the same 1 on 1 attention as initially, however the breaks between meals were welcomed given the amount of course to trial! The following day we had breakfast in our cottage- this was part of the room we had booked. It was quite basic- bread, cereal, some toppings, yoghurt, fruit and juice. However again each part of the breakfast was very tasty as it was all obviously locally made. I would suggest though a complimentary hot breakfast would have been a lovely touch. The rest of the day we made the most of the many walks around the hotel to try and walk off some of our dinner from the previous night and also took the farmers tour which took around 30 minutes and showed you where the chefs from the previous night sourced their ingredients for the menu. This part I loved and would recommend to anyone with an interest in gardening.

Room Tip: We went with Cottage 3 which was great but keep in mind the cold bathrooms in the middle of winter!!
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Traveling_angel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Scott H, General Manager at Royal Mail Hotel, responded to this review, 12 June 2014
Dear Travelling_angel

Thank you very much for choosing to stay and dine with us and for taking the time to post a review.

I was delighted to read that your stay was such an "amazing experience" and the team looks forward to welcoming back again in the near future.

Kind regards

Scott Horn
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Penshurst, Australia
Level Contributor
25 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 May 2014

A whille ago I wrote a review on this Hotel - how things have changed since Dan Hunter left. Ate in the Bar area this Friday night just gone and it was very disappointing as have the previous few visits been. The food and service is really 'off the boil' - duck confit? I don't think so, a skinless piece of duck on a pumpkin puree with cubed carrots, a small portion in a large plate, very dry and uninteresting. $22.00??? A custard tart which had a lovely filling but was not blind baked at all. Staff more interested in talking amongst themselves rather than watching what is needed around the room with all diners. Comments from other people unknown to us this night confirmed it was not just us who have noticed the decline. It is a pity this is occurring and let's hope the Management pick up the services soon as they are going to lose a lot of regulars and visitors otherwise, the venue and the setting deserve better that the current status.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with friends
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank TAG348
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Victoria, Australia
Level Contributor
25 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 May 2014

We have dined at the Royal mail a number of times with the previous head chef and were keen to try the restaurant with the new chef - six week's ago we had a lovely meal with matching wine's and the service was fantastic unfortunately Saturday night was not a good experience we dined there with our friends on our recommendation. We could not get into the restaurant which was fine after only dining there a few week's ago. Boy were we dissapointed with the bistro. We ordered our drink we had to wait, our meals took forever so we asked for some bread they arrived mine was just warm I did tell the waiter who did tell the chef who was very unhappy and I was told that he was sorry and they were having a terrible evening in the kitchen (our bad luck I say). The sides were good.
We ordered dessert which again took forever.
When asked how we enjoyed the evening and gave our opionion we were greeted with disbelief.
Sorry think there are better places to travel for a meal.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with friends
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Ruth G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brisbane
Level Contributor
124 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 May 2014

We went to the Royal mail because of all the write ups and were very disappointed. The food was good but the staff were not interested and our waiter even left halfway through without apologising and introducing new waiter. Had to wait 45 minutes for our dessert and were only served after we enquired where it was. On leaving the kitchen was flat out, but most staff had departed. Will not return.

Room Tip: Did not stay in hotel
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with friends
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank di05
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
1 review
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 May 2014

Staying for 6days in Dunkeld at the Royal Mail has been really nice. Staff is really friendly, atmosphere is warm, and they offer food in all price ranges.
I had several times lunch in the bar, where good meals are served for lower prices and also visited by lots of locals.

The bistro is next door and I had one evening a lovely dinner there. The heirloom tomatoes, basil, advocado, sheep milk panna cotta was absolutely outstanding!! The matching wines were the icing on the cake. Next day went there again for lunch.
Also free breakfast is served in the bistro. The home made bread is really tasty and so are all the local fresh products from their own garden.

I would love to visit again and have dinner in the restaurant.

  • Stayed May 2014
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Jolijn O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Dunkeld
17.2 mi away
Comfort Inn Grange Burn
Comfort Inn Grange Burn
#5 of 8 in Hamilton
3.5 of 5 bubbles 52 reviews
18.4 mi away
Hamilton Lonsdale Motel
Hamilton Lonsdale Motel
#2 of 8 in Hamilton
4.5 of 5 bubbles 46 reviews
18.6 mi away
Comfort Inn Botanical
Comfort Inn Botanical
#7 of 8 in Hamilton
3.5 of 5 bubbles 50 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Southern Grampians Cottages
0.3 mi away
Grampians View Bed and Breakfast
18.4 mi away
Hamilton Townhouse Motel
Hamilton Townhouse Motel
#1 of 8 in Hamilton
4.5 of 5 bubbles 93 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Royal Mail Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Royal Mail Hotel

Property: Royal Mail Hotel
Address: 98 Parker St, Dunkeld, Victoria 3294, Australia
Region: Australia > Victoria > Grampians > Dunkeld
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Parking Restaurant Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Dunkeld
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Royal Mail Hotel 3.5*
Number of rooms: 41
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Royal Mail Hotel is a unique destination set among native gardens and fruit orchards with stunning views of the Southern Grampians Ranges. Award-winning food and wine, accommodation, conferencing and wedding facilities and the nearby historic Mt Sturgeon Estate are all available for guests to explore and enjoy. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Odigeo and Agoda so you can book your Royal Mail Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Royal Mail Dunkeld
Royal Mail Hotel Dunkeld, Australia - Grampians

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing