We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“A peaceful haven in the Grampians region” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Aquila Mount Abrupt Eco Lodges

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Aquila Mount Abrupt Eco Lodges
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“A peaceful haven in the Grampians region”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 June 2012

We've just had our second stay in one of the fully self-contained Treehouses at Aquila and it was wonderful. It was the perfect place for us to read - even to do some writing of our own - and it was a complete break from our usual routine. It's private, peaceful and a terrific place to re-charge your batteries and enjoy the natural environment of the southern Grampians (Gariwerd). Harry tip-toeing in each morning with the breakfast tray and bread straight from the oven was a great start to the day, and we really enjoyed the self-guided walks around the property. The Treehouse is the perfect place to enjoy the view of the night sky from the large windows in the mezzanine bedroom.

Room Tip: Recommend the Treehouses.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Lucy C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

29 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    25
    3
    0
    1
    0
See reviews for
6
19
1
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (2)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
7 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 January 2012

We stayed in the Treehouse - it was very secuded, peaceful and private, and there were lovely views of the bush and wildlife from every room. There are lots of great walks on and around the property and a couple of minutes' drive down the road. The bed and shower were both great, and we really appreciated the freshly baked bread each morning. The only drawback was that we found the air cooling system to be ineffective on one of the days we stayed which was 35 degrees and very humid - it was hard to cool down! But we would consider definitely staying here again.

  • Stayed January 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank JRH2011
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Geelong
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 December 2011

Having recently staying at Aquila, we can highly recommend the experience as a place where you are completely removed from your everyday and therefore time stands still. The lodge creates a feeling that you are living 'within' the bush with nothing to seperate you from the outside experience except from being contained within a luxurious eco-lodge. The bathroom was an experience of the outside as well, making you feel part of the environment and complimenting the living, breathing architectural structure of Aquila.

The hosts, Harry and Iwona are so welcoming that we simply cannot wait to return and absorb the best of Australiana on offer at the Grampians. When we were there, the hosts were nursing two baby orphaned joeys which simply added to the experience of seeing other Australian animals and native plant species on the nature walk on the property, some which are endemic to the Southern Grampians and even the property of Aquila itself.

Highly reccomended by Katie and Stewart, Bellarine Peninsula, Victoria

  • Stayed October 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Katie M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
41 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 October 2011

These truly eco-lodges are really beautiful, being architecturally designed to have a minimal impact on the large area of unspoilt bush surrounding them. The property is a five-minute drive from Dunkeld and the Royal Mail Hotel with its wonderful restaurant, and even less than that from the start of the very enjoyable walk up Mt Sturgeon. Wildlife, wildflowers, and birds are abundant, both on and around the property.
We stayed in a one-bedroom 'treehouse' with huge panoramic glass windows around the open plan living/dining area and bedroom, and one glass wall in the shower, looking out over the bush. Since there are only 4 lodges and they are secluded and well-spaced for privacy, we felt no need to draw the blinds at any time, preferring to luxuriate in the views. We thought our lodge was stylishly fitted and furnished (no chintz!) with real timber and quality crockery/pans etc in the well-equipped kitchen. The wood-burning fire kept us very warm on some quite cold evenings.
The owner was very friendly, explaining how some of the eco-friendly aspects of the lodge work, and this enhanced the stay for us, knowing we were helping preserve a beautiful piece of bush.
This is a truly special place to stay if you love nature, and we would happily recommend it to anyone wanting to get away from town for a few days to recharge their batteries.

  • Stayed September 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Guitarfish
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hong Kong
Level Contributor
41 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 September 2011

We stayed in one of the lofthouses.. smoke bush. Pls consider the following before booking:
1) The toilet and bathroom is located outside the lodge.. yes, this means that at night time you need to roll up the blinds, unlock the patio doors and go out in the cold to go to the toilet or take a shower. We were there in winter time, it was freezing cold, and a recipe for catching a serious cold. The inconvenience of having to go outside to go to the bathroom was terrible.
2) On their website it is recommended that the upstairs loft is not suitable for youngsters.. it is infact not suitble for anyone.. the steps are slippery, thin, and it is like climbing a ladder. It was quite unsafe to walk up there.
3) There is no security on the property, and the lodge is as open as a fish tank with windows everywhere. It is quite pleasant during the day time, but with the blinds not closing properly, at night time you are left with an eery feeling that somebody could be outside and looking into your lodge.
4) Heating was not adequate in winter.

I strongly do not recommend it to anyone planning a romantic get away.
Those without a 4WD will also find it a mission to get over the very high tree roots that obscure the driveway to smoke bush.

The owners are quite passionate about the eco lodges,, and the lodges maybe some peoples cup of tea... but certainly not ours.

  • Stayed August 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
10 Thank roangi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
14 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 August 2011

We stayed here for 2 nights in June. The lodge was really big and clean. Fresh bread was made for us in the morning which was really tasty. The surrounding are is really makes you feel like you're in the country. Plenty of kangaroos to see on from the driveway leading to the lodge. We were even dropped off and picked up for dinner on the Friday night. Overall great weekend away!

  • Stayed June 2011
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Damien-Elie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Berkshire
Level Contributor
30 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 October 2010

Fantastic location if you enjoy walking, photography, golf or just want to 'chill out' with the added benefit of the Royal Mail Restaurant just down the road for the perfect meal.

The eco-lodges are beautifully located, with everything you need for your comfort. Harry and Iwona are the most helpful hosts and very knowledgeable of the local flora and fauna.

  • Stayed September 2010, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Holly2854
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Dunkeld
3.4 mi away
Royal Mail Hotel
Royal Mail Hotel
#1 of 1 in Dunkeld
4.0 of 5 bubbles 458 reviews
18.4 mi away
Comfort Inn Grange Burn
Comfort Inn Grange Burn
#5 of 8 in Hamilton
3.5 of 5 bubbles 52 reviews
3.3 mi away
Grampians View Bed and Breakfast
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.1 mi away
Southern Grampians Cottages
19.4 mi away
Hamilton Townhouse Motel
Hamilton Townhouse Motel
#1 of 8 in Hamilton
4.5 of 5 bubbles 93 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Aquila Mount Abrupt Eco Lodges? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Aquila Mount Abrupt Eco Lodges

Property: Aquila Mount Abrupt Eco Lodges
Address: Victoria Valley x Manns Road | Grampians, Dunkeld, Victoria 3294, Australia
Region: Australia > Victoria > Grampians > Dunkeld
Amenities:
Free Parking Kitchenette Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 5 Speciality Lodging in Dunkeld
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £££
Hotel Class:4 star — Aquila Mount Abrupt Eco Lodges 4*
Number of rooms: 4
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Ultra-stylish accommodation set amongst the Grampians National Park. Aquila sets the benchmark for ecotourism and guests can experience that sustainable living need not compromise luxury. Contemporary, award-winning designs of the four lodges have features including fully equipped kitchens, large windows, red gum floors, modern furniture, ‘day-beds’ with oversized cushions that are set in huge picture windows, and also scenic patios with gas BBQ. The lodges are thoughtfully placed in bush environment to create a uniquely peaceful and luxurious atmosphere in a relaxing natural setting. They offer a perfect location for weekend retreats, romantic gateways and exploration of the native environment. Aquila is an ecologically responsible tourist accommodation being designed as a showcase for living in harmony with the environment. It has achieved Advanced Eco Certification and AAA Green Rating. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Agoda and Odigeo so you can book your Aquila Mount Abrupt Eco Lodges reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Aquila Mount Abrupt Eco Lodges Dunkeld, Australia - Grampians

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing