We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Just what we needed :)”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
The Heart of Emerald
Ranked #1 of 4 Emerald B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 24 February 2014

Just perfect!
Sat on the balcony with champagne in the afternoon and watched Puffing Billy go by, before walking up to Elevations for a Valentines Dinner.
The room was simply beautiful - they thought of everything to make our stay amazing.
Love the Robes and fluffy slippers!
We didn't want to go home!

  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Kirsty L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MargaretMegarry, Owner at The Heart of Emerald, responded to this reviewResponded 3 March 2014

Thanky ou so much for your review. The verandah and view from our Sarah Fleming room is spectacular, yet so private. Glad you enjoyed your stay. Kind Regards Marg

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (81)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

76 - 81 of 81 reviews

Reviewed 22 January 2014

Found this gem through wotif and it is fantastic! We decided last minute to visit Puffing Billy with our kids (5&3) and it seemed close (it's literally under 100m from Emerald Station!). The town has a good choice for takeaways, a great IGA and the B&B is excellently stocked with a huge breakfast and lots of teas and coffee as well. Beautiful bathroom, lovely decor, nice garden & extremely friendly hosts in Marg & Matt. Great selection of vids, books, family games, and a playground a few mins walk away. We're staying in the M&M room which is a queen with 2 singles in a separate room. Highly recommended!

Stayed: January 2014, travelled with family
Thank MandaGez
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MargaretMegarry, Owner at The Heart of Emerald, responded to this reviewResponded 23 January 2014

Thankyou so much for your review. We are so glad you enjoyed your stay. Hopefully we will have your family come and stay again in the near future. Keep an eye out for the Thomas the Tank Engine events which run 4 times a year. There is lots of activities for the children as well as getting to meet Thomas. All within 100m of our accommodation. Warm Regards Marg and Matt

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 November 2013

The Heart of Emerald was really lovely. The accommodation is new, clean, comfortable, and unique. Margaret was lovely and friendly. We were there for a wedding at another venue, so a taxi back from Gembrook was around $30. We only had one night, and were very happy to have stayed there. It's just off the main road in town, so easy to get to, and away from the main traffic area.

Room Tip: We stayed in the 'Lucy' room which has a separate kitchen and lounge downstairs that only th...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Liz A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MargaretMegarry, Owner at The Heart of Emerald, responded to this reviewResponded 30 November 2013

Thank you very much for your lovely review. I am glad that you enjoyed your stay in our Lucy suite and look forward to a possibility that you may stay again. All the best Marg

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 November 2013

How good is this? Couldn't ask for a better location. Puffing Billy on the doorstep, Emerald just a stroll away, the great birdlife and walking tracks are all there. Fantastic hosts, highly recommend it.

  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Debra3782
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MargaretMegarry, Owner at The Heart of Emerald, responded to this reviewResponded 26 November 2013

Thank you so much Deb! Glad that you enjoyed your stay and the area.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 November 2013

Fabulous, just fabulous. My partner and I rekindled our relationship. I am so thankful to Margret and Matt for providing the perfect place.
Emerald itself is a beautiful place with much to explore.
We love it, and will be back for more.
If you think you need to reassure that special person on your life, this is the place....don't hesitate.

Room Tip: We had the ground floor...we thought it was the best. We also saw the other rooms, there great also.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Michael S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MargaretMegarry, Owner at The Heart of Emerald, responded to this reviewResponded 30 November 2013

I am so happy that you enjoyed our Queen bed spa apartment. As you have noted, this room is proving very popular with its federation touches encompassing the original dwelling. All the best for your future together. Marg

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 November 2013 via mobile

We stayed in the retro family room for two nights with two little ones and we loved it. The rooms are new, well equipped, sparkling clean with a view of Thomas on the tracks from our window which the kids loved. Close walking distance to everything with lovely hosts would definitely recommend it.

  • Stayed: November 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Tk2000_12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MargaretMegarry, Owner at The Heart of Emerald, responded to this reviewResponded 30 November 2013

I am so glad that you enjoyed our Retro/Steam train theme family suite. It is proving very popular with young families visiting Thomas the Tank and Puffing Billy. All the best!!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Emerald
16.8 mi away
Yarra Valley Lodge
Yarra Valley Lodge
#1 of 1 in Chirnside Park
563 reviews
17.8 mi away
Oscar's on the Yarra
Oscar's on the Yarra
#1 of 4 in Warburton
282 reviews
18.5 mi away
Chateau Yering Hotel
Chateau Yering Hotel
#1 of 1 in Yering
340 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
21.1 mi away
Balgownie Estate Vineyard Resort & Spa
1 mi away
Emerald Ridge Bed & Breakfast
1.2 mi away
Fernglade on Menzies
Fernglade on Menzies
#3 of 4 in Emerald
30 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Heart of Emerald? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Heart of Emerald

Address: 14 Kilvington Dr, Emerald, Victoria 3782, Australia
Region: Australia > Victoria > Yarra Valley > Emerald
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Spa Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 4 B&Bs / Inns in Emerald
Price Range: £128 - £144 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — The Heart of Emerald 4*
Number of rooms: 4
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
We have four private rooms which are individually themed. We have our Queen Room with ensuite which has a French Provincial theme. Very popular with couples. Queen Suite with external bathroom and kitchenette/lounge Vintage theme (popular with one night stay) Family room with Queen bed and two singles which is a Retro/steam train (Family room) Queen bed apartment with spa and gas log fire which is Federation themed. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Ebookers, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Expedia and Agoda so you can book your The Heart of Emerald reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Heart Of Emerald Australia - Victoria

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing