We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great location and host”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
The Heart of Emerald
Ranked #1 of 4 Emerald B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Launceston, Australia
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Great location and host”
Reviewed 8 June 2014

Wonderful B&B and host, great location to go and explore further. The B&B was very clean and every guest need had been thought of and catered for. From one B&B owner to another it was a pleasure staying with you and seeing hospitality done with perfection and easy nothing seemed to be too much trouble. I has a quick visit but could of stayed much longer and relaxed, loved the visiting parrots in the morning and thank you for the wonderful food for break, my daughter and I had a very pleasant stay. Hope to see you in Tassie one day. Regards Jane

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with family
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jane O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MargaretMegarry, Owner at The Heart of Emerald, responded to this review, 10 June 2014
Thankyou so much for your very kinds words Jane. When I am in Tassie I will definitely look you up and stay at your B & B in Launceston. Kind Regards Marg
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

75 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    70
    4
    1
    0
    0
See reviews for
31
28
2
3
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (24)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Cairns, Australia
Level 3 Contributor
22 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 April 2014

My partner, Dr Yvette Williams, and myself recently had the great pleasure of staying at the “Heart of Emerald” B & B accommodation for 8 nights during the recent PAVE festival in Emerald Victoria.

The accommodation was superb, especially her attention to detail, such as the wonderful supplied food hamper that we used during the week. We stayed in the Sarah Fleming suite which was absolutely perfect for us, but Margaret was kind enough to show us the remaining accommodation, including the Constable Fleming suite and the unique and funky themed rooms. It all looked and felt wonderful and inviting.

The location also was ideal. The centre of town was only a short walking distance away and once there Emerald has a collection of great cafes, a bakery, galleries and theatres. Many if the PAVE events we attended were also in walking distance and the festival was an outstanding success.

The Dandenong Ranges is a wonderful area to explore and Yvette and I had a wonderful time and fell in love with the region. Emerald is a true jewel of the region but appears to have limited accommodation options. The “Heart of Emerald” is a fantastic asset to the town and is exactly the type of accommodation and service visitors are looking for when they explore a new region.

The hospitality shown from Margaret and Matt during our time there and their willingness to give to the local community by being involved in the PAVE festival shows their commitment and passion for the region. Small business like the “Heart of Emerald” should be encouraged and assisted where possible.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank wildaboutaustralia
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Melbourne, Australia
1 review
Reviewed 23 March 2014

Our extended family hired the whole house for our daughters wedding, we were greeted by the lovely hostess Margaret, on entering the house felt immediately at home in an old world warm home . It was fantastic and very comfortable. We would love to come back someday. Well done !!

  • Stayed March 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank HelenNKenny
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Melbourne, Australia
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 February 2014

"First Entry for the year for this room!!! A quaint B&B nestled in the hills and forest. Thoughtfully set out and the surrounds so tranquil. Thank you!!" This accommodation is very close to other amenities, and the hosts were very gracious. We would certainly stay again and highly recommend to other travelers.

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank GerryD67
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Melbourne, Australia
1 review
Reviewed 24 February 2014

Just perfect!
Sat on the balcony with champagne in the afternoon and watched Puffing Billy go by, before walking up to Elevations for a Valentines Dinner.
The room was simply beautiful - they thought of everything to make our stay amazing.
Love the Robes and fluffy slippers!
We didn't want to go home!

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Kirsty L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MargaretMegarry, Owner at The Heart of Emerald, responded to this review, 3 March 2014
Thanky ou so much for your review. The verandah and view from our Sarah Fleming room is spectacular, yet so private. Glad you enjoyed your stay. Kind Regards Marg
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 January 2014 via mobile

Found this gem through wotif and it is fantastic! We decided last minute to visit Puffing Billy with our kids (5&3) and it seemed close (it's literally under 100m from Emerald Station!). The town has a good choice for takeaways, a great IGA and the B&B is excellently stocked with a huge breakfast and lots of teas and coffee as well. Beautiful bathroom, lovely decor, nice garden & extremely friendly hosts in Marg & Matt. Great selection of vids, books, family games, and a playground a few mins walk away. We're staying in the M&M room which is a queen with 2 singles in a separate room. Highly recommended!

Stayed January 2014, travelled with family
Helpful?
Thank MandaGez
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MargaretMegarry, Owner at The Heart of Emerald, responded to this review, 23 January 2014
Thankyou so much for your review. We are so glad you enjoyed your stay. Hopefully we will have your family come and stay again in the near future. Keep an eye out for the Thomas the Tank Engine events which run 4 times a year. There is lots of activities for the children as well as getting to meet Thomas. All within 100m of our accommodation. Warm Regards Marg and Matt
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Melbourne, Australia
1 review
Reviewed 27 November 2013

The Heart of Emerald was really lovely. The accommodation is new, clean, comfortable, and unique. Margaret was lovely and friendly. We were there for a wedding at another venue, so a taxi back from Gembrook was around $30. We only had one night, and were very happy to have stayed there. It's just off the main road in town, so easy to get to, and away from the main traffic area.

Room Tip: We stayed in the 'Lucy' room which has a separate kitchen and lounge downstairs that only th...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Liz A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MargaretMegarry, Owner at The Heart of Emerald, responded to this review, 30 November 2013
Thank you very much for your lovely review. I am glad that you enjoyed your stay in our Lucy suite and look forward to a possibility that you may stay again. All the best Marg
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Emerald
16.8 mi away
Yarra Valley Lodge
Yarra Valley Lodge
#1 of 1 in Chirnside Park
541 reviews
17.8 mi away
Oscar's on the Yarra
Oscar's on the Yarra
#1 of 3 in Warburton
270 reviews
18.5 mi away
Chateau Yering Hotel
Chateau Yering Hotel
#1 of 1 in Yering
334 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
21.1 mi away
Balgownie Estate Vineyard Resort & Spa
1.2 mi away
Fernglade on Menzies
Fernglade on Menzies
#2 of 4 in Emerald
30 reviews
17.0 mi away
Yering Gorge Cottages
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Heart of Emerald? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Heart of Emerald

Property: The Heart of Emerald
Address: 14 Kilvington Dr, Emerald, Victoria 3782, Australia
Region: Australia > Victoria > Yarra Valley > Emerald
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Spa Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 4 B&Bs / Inns in Emerald
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — The Heart of Emerald 4*
Number of rooms: 4
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
We have four private rooms which are individually themed. We have our Queen Room with ensuite which has a French Provincial theme. Very popular with couples. Queen Suite with external bathroom and kitchenette/lounge Vintage theme (popular with one night stay) Family room with Queen bed and two singles which is a Retro/steam train (Family room) Queen bed apartment with spa and gas log fire which is Federation themed. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Odigeo and Agoda so you can book your The Heart of Emerald reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Heart Of Emerald Australia - Victoria

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing