We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Absolutely perfect & beautiful!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
The Heart of Emerald
Ranked #1 of 4 Emerald B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Melbourne, Australia
1 review
“Absolutely perfect & beautiful!”
Reviewed 18 August 2014

My family and I hired out the whole B&B for two nights and had the most perfect weekend! I have a lot of siblings so it was a perfect set up for us all; having our own suites, bathrooms and kitchenette's. We loved the different themed rooms, it was so clean and had such a nice feel about it!! The breakfast was great too! We wished we hired it for the whole week, we didn't want to leave! We had a Wedding on Saturday night so it was great to have our own bathrooms to get ready in but then also utilise the large kitchen and lounge in the Constable Fleming suite to all hang out together! Such a beautiful and perfect place, we will definitely be back! It is also a perfect location, just a short walk to town and Puffing Billy! Absolutely loved it! Marg and Matt were so lovely! Highly highly recommend staying here! Cannot wait to come back!

Room Tip: The Sarah Fleming suite was absolutely beautiful, feels like you're in Paris - perfect for a rom...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Nikita S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

68 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    64
    3
    1
    0
    0
See reviews for
29
25
2
3
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (21)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 3 August 2014

Stayed with a colleague in Family suite (M&M room?) with retro 50s look. Modern, very clean and a surprisingly great breakfast provided in the fridge. Room had everything we needed. Room provided with everything we needed. Great location - right next to Puffing Billing Station and 2-minute walk to Emerald Village. Hosts were lovely too.

Room Tip: I preferred the retro room decor over other rooms.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2014, travelled on business
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Kevin B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 June 2014

We were surprised by how lovely our B&B room was. We had the "Sarah" room on the top floor, which overlooked the leafy street and was an easy stroll to the heart of the town. The room was fresh and beautifully decorated in a French chic style with a gorgeous bath. The homemade banana bread waiting for us on arrival was an extra treat. We will certainly be back.

Room Tip: If you can, the top room is worth the extra money.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Karen M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Launceston, Australia
Level Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 June 2014

Wonderful B&B and host, great location to go and explore further. The B&B was very clean and every guest need had been thought of and catered for. From one B&B owner to another it was a pleasure staying with you and seeing hospitality done with perfection and easy nothing seemed to be too much trouble. I has a quick visit but could of stayed much longer and relaxed, loved the visiting parrots in the morning and thank you for the wonderful food for break, my daughter and I had a very pleasant stay. Hope to see you in Tassie one day. Regards Jane

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with family
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jane O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MargaretMegarry, Owner at The Heart of Emerald, responded to this review, 10 June 2014
Thankyou so much for your very kinds words Jane. When I am in Tassie I will definitely look you up and stay at your B & B in Launceston. Kind Regards Marg
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cairns, Australia
Level Contributor
22 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 April 2014

My partner, Dr Yvette Williams, and myself recently had the great pleasure of staying at the “Heart of Emerald” B & B accommodation for 8 nights during the recent PAVE festival in Emerald Victoria.

The accommodation was superb, especially her attention to detail, such as the wonderful supplied food hamper that we used during the week. We stayed in the Sarah Fleming suite which was absolutely perfect for us, but Margaret was kind enough to show us the remaining accommodation, including the Constable Fleming suite and the unique and funky themed rooms. It all looked and felt wonderful and inviting.

The location also was ideal. The centre of town was only a short walking distance away and once there Emerald has a collection of great cafes, a bakery, galleries and theatres. Many if the PAVE events we attended were also in walking distance and the festival was an outstanding success.

The Dandenong Ranges is a wonderful area to explore and Yvette and I had a wonderful time and fell in love with the region. Emerald is a true jewel of the region but appears to have limited accommodation options. The “Heart of Emerald” is a fantastic asset to the town and is exactly the type of accommodation and service visitors are looking for when they explore a new region.

The hospitality shown from Margaret and Matt during our time there and their willingness to give to the local community by being involved in the PAVE festival shows their commitment and passion for the region. Small business like the “Heart of Emerald” should be encouraged and assisted where possible.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank wildaboutaustralia
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Melbourne, Australia
1 review
Reviewed 23 March 2014

Our extended family hired the whole house for our daughters wedding, we were greeted by the lovely hostess Margaret, on entering the house felt immediately at home in an old world warm home . It was fantastic and very comfortable. We would love to come back someday. Well done !!

  • Stayed March 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank HelenNKenny
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Melbourne, Australia
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 February 2014

"First Entry for the year for this room!!! A quaint B&B nestled in the hills and forest. Thoughtfully set out and the surrounds so tranquil. Thank you!!" This accommodation is very close to other amenities, and the hosts were very gracious. We would certainly stay again and highly recommend to other travelers.

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank GerryD67
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Emerald
16.8 mi away
Yarra Valley Lodge
Yarra Valley Lodge
#1 of 1 in Chirnside Park
4.5 of 5 bubbles 522 reviews
18.5 mi away
Chateau Yering Hotel
Chateau Yering Hotel
#1 of 1 in Yering
4.5 of 5 bubbles 322 reviews
17.8 mi away
Oscar's on the Yarra
Oscar's on the Yarra
#1 of 3 in Warburton
4.5 of 5 bubbles 260 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.2 mi away
Fernglade on Menzies
Fernglade on Menzies
#2 of 4 in Emerald
5.0 of 5 bubbles 29 reviews
6.2 mi away
Gembrook Cottages
Gembrook Cottages
#1 of 3 in Gembrook
5.0 of 5 bubbles 60 reviews
21.1 mi away
Balgownie Estate Vineyard Resort & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Heart of Emerald? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Heart of Emerald

Property: The Heart of Emerald
Address: 14 Kilvington Dr, Emerald, Victoria 3782, Australia
Region: Australia > Victoria > Yarra Valley > Emerald
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Spa Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 4 B&Bs / Inns in Emerald
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — The Heart of Emerald 4*
Number of rooms: 4
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
We have four private rooms which are individually themed. We have our Queen Room with ensuite which has a French Provincial theme. Very popular with couples. Queen Suite with external bathroom and kitchenette/lounge Vintage theme (popular with one night stay) Family room with Queen bed and two singles which is a Retro/steam train (Family room) Queen bed apartment with spa and gas log fire which is Federation themed. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Odigeo, Agoda and Priceline so you can book your The Heart of Emerald reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Heart Of Emerald Australia - Victoria

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing