We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent food and value!”
Review of Coronation Arms

Coronation Arms
We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in St Mary Bourne
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Coronation Arms
Reviewed 5 August 2013 via mobile

Welcome back to the coronation arms! Under new ownership! Although Dave and Julia used to run the pub years ago.,now their son Tom is the top class chef and the food is prepared and cooked to an excellent standard! Please give it a try as you will not be disappointed!

  • Stayed: August 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Alison N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (14)
There are newer reviews for Coronation Arms
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

7 - 13 of 14 reviews

Reviewed 29 July 2013

This pub has been shut for a year or two and looked like it was going to stay that way. However it is back under the excellent management of Dave and Tom Peart. I am pleased to report that all 4 beers are kept very well, a good selection of reasonably priced wine and last Friday I had what has to be the most fabulous gourmet burger, big meaty with an excellent coleslaw and chips all for 9 quid. The staff are friendly and right on their game. Welcome back the Corrie

  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Mike C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 April 2010

I called ahead after reading some good reviews on line and was really looking forward to a nice lunch in a village pub. Unfortunately I might have been a bit optimistic. The staff were very friendly and the drinks reasonably priced. However, the food was pretty poor, both in taste and presentation.

For a £20 rib-eye steak I would expect something yummy and well presented. The steak was tough as old boots being dished up with some frozen chunky fries and frozen onion rings. My wifes dinner was equally poor quality with some tough steak served up in plane white bread and a mound of really greasy fries. Not a problem, but it did cost £13. My side salad never showed up and I couldn't be bothered to ask for it either.

The truth is we could have eaten far better food for half the price at a Harvester. I don't understand why pubs like this are prepared to charge high prices but use cheap ingredients. An expensive lesson to learn and one that I dont want to repeat anytime soon.

  • Stayed: April 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank goggs102
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 January 2009

One of the best experiences in the UK. Th staff was over the top.

The beer was fresh and filling. I would recommend this to everyone!

  • Stayed: September 2007, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
1  Thank dirkcv41
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 February 2008

I stayed for 1 night at the Coronation Arms in the village of St Mary Bourne. It was recommended to me by the other village pub as they hadnt any vacancies. Superb welcome, great food (excellent menu-not your usual pub grub by any means), had the very large ensuite room which was well furnished and in immaculate condition. Would highly recommend this if you are anywhere in this area. (Bear in mind that mobile phones do not get a signal in this village unless you are on a vodaphone network!)

  • Stayed: January 2008, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Hrea
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 May 2007

Spotless, newly decorated rooms, great pub food and the most friendly and helpful owners possible. Highly recommended.

  • Stayed: May 2007, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank riverwatch
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 November 2006

The Food cooked here is superb, fast service and cooked to perfection. A great enviroment not only for adults but to take you'r children; everyone is so friendly, and welcoming.
The Bed and Breakfast is great, the rooms have only just been re-done, and they look fantastic, and very comforable.
I would recommend anyone of all ages to go

  • Stayed: October 2006, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Thank The_Corry_Fan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Been to Coronation Arms? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Coronation Arms

Address: St Mary Bourne, Andover SP11 6AR, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Hampshire > Andover > St Mary Bourne
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 2 B&Bs / Inns in St Mary Bourne
Number of rooms: 6
Also Known As:
Coronation Arms Hotel Andover

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing