We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Glenrowan Kelly Country Motel
Nearby Hotels
US$98
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$95
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Quality Hotel Wangaratta Gateway(Wangaratta)(Great Value!)
US$155
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$141
Agoda.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Ryley Motor Inn(Wangaratta)(Great Value!)
US$135
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$126
Agoda.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Parkview Motor Inn(Wangaratta)(Great Value!)
US$125
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$131
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$115
Travelocity
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Advance Motel(Wangaratta)(Great Value!)
US$121
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Lindenwarrah(Milawa)(Great Value!)
US$301
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$293
Hotels.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Wangaratta North Family Motel(Wangaratta)(Great Value!)
US$83
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
TripAdvisor
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (81)
Filter reviews
81 results
Traveller rating
37
35
7
1
1
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
37
35
7
1
1
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsned kellyfamily roomking valleyfree dvdshelpful ownergreat showernext morningdvd playernight's sleeproom was spaciousstayed here for one nighta great place to staysucculent gardenwithin walking distancesiegesydneyheater
Filter
Updating list...
72 - 77 of 81 reviews
Reviewed 10 March 2012

We stayed here on a weekend road trip. From the street it didn't look all that impressive but the owners are very nice and welcoming and they really made the place.

We stayed in a small family room, which had a double and a set of bunks. It was on the small side and a basic room, but it did the job!

It was neat and clean and had everything we needed, except for maybe a microwave, but we certainly lived without it, it's just a nice to have, rather than a necessity.

The bedding and linen were all good quality and comfortable.

We went next door to the hotel for a pub meal which was nice, but they don't have extensive hours.

Overall the place was a little old fashioned, but well cared for, in good condition and very comfortable.

We'll definitely stay here again if/when we're back in the area!!

  • Stayed: March 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Bananas28
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 December 2011

Many years ago, we discovered this small motel in the quaint Ned Kelly Town. The motel is pretty basic but less than $100 for a family of 3, that is all we need for an overnight stay. The town is just 1km off the freeway so no getting to and from a town (like Benalla, some 6km from the freeway exit).

They have smallish rooms with a double and a single bed or a double and bunk beds (kids absolutely love bunk beds, as does mum when she does not have to make it)! We also had a small family room one time.

Glenrowan gets cold in winter and the rooms have a simple wall mounted fan heater which is more than adequate. The family room had an extra portable oil heater which was needed for the larger room. The bathrooms were cold but OK even if they are on the smallish side. Some cars can park under an awning, keeping frost off the car. We did experience an incredibly heavy fog on the Hume freeway one evening so take it easy if driving in these conditions. Even the locals were talking about the fog the next morning!

I do not recall any cooling (a/c) in the room and suspect things could be quite hot in the middle of a warm summer night.

There is a small bistro in the hotel next door that serves huge country meals but watch out for early closing times. Also, we discovered one time it was not open on a Monday night leaving us no option but to make the 15 min trip to Benalla to get a meal as Glenrowan is dead at night! No trucks thundering past here!

In summary, if you don't want to pay for fancy facilities when you just need a place to sleep, this is a good place to stay for a night or two while exploring the many attractions in the area.

Room Tip: Higher no rooms are further away from the front but there is no noise through town to worry about. Ask about Pub bistro hours on arrival.
  • Stayed: July 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank offshore956
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 December 2011

This small family motel is the perfect place for an overnight stay on a trip to or from Melbourne on the Hume Highway.. The price is very reasonable (ie cheap), the rooms are very comfortable and impeccably clean,the friendly & helpful service from the owners makes it the sort of place you want to return to.

  • Stayed: December 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank hmc16
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 September 2011

I've visited this hotel quite on numerous occasions, usually on a motorcycle getting a headstart on a friday afternoon before heading up to Canberra. The owners are very nice people and quite accomodating with a good selection of DVD's for free at the reception area. The area is quiet and feels very safe. There's a pool there that I haven't used and haven't seen used. It might be a touch expensive but it still think it's good value for money.

The best thing about the place is that it is always fastidiously clean - to me the most important thing about a motel like this. Linen is always fresh and bathroom always immaculate.

However one thing to keep an eye out for, especially if you're on a motorcycle, is the gravel driveway and parking area. It's not a problem on a light naked bike or trailie but I wouldn't want to come turn in off the street on a big tourer or sportsbike and hit the gravel without knowing it was there.

Otherwise a great place to stay.

  • Stayed: November 2010, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Marlon34872
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 September 2011

We were pleasantly surprised with this motel, Jenny was very accomodating in allowing us early room availability. The room was very clean and perfectly located in town. For travellers wanting to explore the North East of Victoria, this motel is just right.

  • Stayed: September 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank RonaldoMelbourne
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews