We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good country motel”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Glenrowan Kelly Country Motel
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Glenrowan
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 9 December 2013

We stopped overnight on the way from Sydney to Bendigo.

This is a good, no-nonsense country motel with everything you would expect in a 3 star motel, at only $90 per night for a double.

The rooms are very clean, warm & comfortable, and the staff are very friendly and helpful

Recommended.

  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank peterg1001
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (73)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

55 - 61 of 73 reviews

Reviewed 22 October 2013

Stopped overnight in Glenrowan en route from Sydney to Melbourne. Friendly and helpful staff, clean and tidy room with a comfortable bed and enormous bath towels! The small but wide ranging library of DVDs to borrow is a nice touch. The recommendation of the bistro at the pub for dinner was a very good one also. I'd recommend as a good place to stop overnight.

  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Anna D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 September 2013

I stayed at this motel over the weekend with a couple of friends and can't speak highly enough of the place. The rooms are very clean, warm & comfortable with extra large bath towels! Such a luxury! The owners are very pleasant & friendly & bent over backwards to make sure that we had everything we needed. Conveniently situated in the heart of town, we were able to walk to all the attractions. Even the pub next door for our evening meal! Would highly recommend this establishment. We even got to borrow DVDs about Ned Kelly for free. This added to the entire atmosphere for the trip. Will definitely go back again!

  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Heidi K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 August 2013

We are a family of 6 and decided to stay overnight on route to our final destination. We had a wonderful family time and the kids really enjoyed themselves. Owners are lovely and very hospitable. We were all pretty impressed and want to thank the motel for a very comfortable sleep and stay.

  • Stayed: July 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Craigcom
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 July 2013

Very welcoming. The weather is cold and wet but the room was lovely and warm. We were in a clean and tidy room. The price was very good value. Wi-fi was available and there were of DVDs to choose from. Highly recommended.

  • Stayed: July 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Michael N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
JLMSW, Owner at Glenrowan Kelly Country Motel, responded to this reviewResponded 26 July 2013

Thank you for the review and pleased you enjoyed your stay. Also pleased I have newly acquired access to respond to reviews - thank you Trip Advisor!!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 April 2013

We stayed here on our way back from Melbourne to Sydney traveling with a bub. The staff here were lovely and welcoming. The rooms clean and neat. We had the big breakfast and it was tasty.
Small kitchenette doubling as bathroom sink with kettle, toaster and small fridge. No microwave.
Clean linens and big towels +++. Free DVDs at the office. Right next to the pub which did a nice pub dinner. A comfy, welcoming stay. Might be a bit warm in summer but there was a fan in the room and a small air con unit. Take aeroguard, I was eaten alive by mossies.

  • Stayed: April 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Trish W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 December 2012

A quaint little village of great importance in Australia history. The very birth place of the infamous Ned Kelly!
We stopped here en route from Canberra to Melbourne. We were travel vary and in need of a clean room with a firm bed. This little motel more than pleased us. It was the cleanest place on our travels - and we had stayed at 'good' city hotels in Sydney and Canberra. An excellent tariff and the friendliest hostess we had come across.
This is an old motel, but everything was in excellent working order. Wi fi was provided free of charge and the big flat screen t.v. helped us catch up with world news. We would go back!

Room Tip: Even though this motel in on the main route we found it quiet. Definitely cosy and comfortable with...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank benhan_12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Glenrowan
9.9 mi away
Millers Cottage Motel
Millers Cottage Motel
#9 of 10 in Wangaratta
26 reviews
13.2 mi away
Gateway Lifestyle Benalla
13.8 mi away
Glider City Motel
Glider City Motel
#1 of 6 in Benalla
178 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Glenrowan Kelly Country Motel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Glenrowan Kelly Country Motel

Address: 44 Gladstone St, Glenrowan, Victoria 3675, Australia
Region: Australia > Victoria > Glenrowan
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Glenrowan
Price Range: £61 - £83 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Glenrowan Kelly Country Motel 3.5*
Number of rooms: 8
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Glenrowan Kelly Country Motel is comfortable and moderately priced motel accommodation in rural Glenrowan, overlooking the site of the Siege of 1880 where Ned Kelly and the Kelly Gang made their Last Stand. A convenient and pleasant place to stay in the beautiful North East of Victoria, we are in the town's main street and centrally located for walking to the Glenrowan Siege Precict, Glenrowan Hotel and bistro, museums, the animated theatre, the town's cafes, or driving to visit local wineries and attractions. A convenient place to stay en route to or returning home from the Alpine ski region. Free wifi is available to guests. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Odigeo, Hotels.com, Expedia, Agoda and Ebookers so you can book your Glenrowan Kelly Country Motel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing