We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nearly perfect”

The Cricketers Arms
Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
The Cricketers Arms
Ranked #1 of 1 Tangley B&B and Inns
Reviewed 30 September 2013

Stayed on the last night of a walking holiday and thoroughly enjoyed the experience. Good beer, good food and a log fire, what more could you want. Staff friendly and the room spacious and clean. My only disappointment was no bath in my spacious bathroom, which would have been great to relax in after a tough day. Really that was my only gripe and the black pudding in the breakfast nearly made up for it. Great country pub I'd recommend to anyone.

Room Tip: Room 10 was bath less, never found out if the others had baths, so might be worth asking.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Mark F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (46)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

40 - 46 of 47 reviews

Reviewed 25 February 2013 via mobile

This is a warm and friendly pub and the staff do an incredible job at making you feel welcome!
Good value food and drink. The only done side would be the lack of baby changing or wifi, but who cares!? It is a traditional pub. overall an amazing place.

  • Stayed: February 2013
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
3  Thank Benny24601
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 February 2013

The Cricketers is a peaceful village pub with many extra comforts that I find so welcoming. The pub its self is perfect, with low ceilings roaring fires and an interesting selection of decorative artefacts. The Ale is well kept on a traditional tread by staff who know how to look after and respect it. The food is always consistently good and sensibly priced.

The best bit is the accommodation! There is an L shape 10 bedroom Log Cabin complex at the rear of the pub which is a real escape. The rooms are pine inside and out and well appointed with all the usual hotel comforts. Then to top it all off the following morning the Landlord cooks your breakfast fresh to order which is top quality.

If you are looking to escape from it all, whilst on business or pleasure, I can’t rate the cricketers highly enough!!

  • Stayed: February 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank Waycot
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 February 2013

In a previous life I used to go to The Cricketers regularly from home in the parish of St. Mary Bourne. Returning to the area for the first time in 15 years for a funeral, the pub was high on the list for a family get-together the following day and, although it has changed considerably in the intervening years, it's still got character - and characters - and good food and drink. Today there is also a little cluster of wooden lodge style rooms to stay in - wish I'd known about them when looking for a B&B stay for the funeral - but maybe another time.

We arrived at 12pm on a Saturday to find the place largely empty, so although we had booked, we were able to take our pick of the tables. We always prefer to be in the bar for the atmosphere, so as there were to be eight of us, pushed a couple of tables together et voila. A member of staff came over clucking that we were taking up too much room for six people, but once we explained that two more were yet to arrive she was mollified.

Can't quite remember what everyone had, but heard no complaints so it must have been ok. I certainly enjoyed my haddock, chips (nice and crisp) and mushy peas with what looked like home-made tartare sauce and my wife thought her goats cheese and red pepper lasagne with salad was delicious. One of our party was a vegetarian and chose a large brown bap filled with something suitable and seemed to enjoy it, while another had scampi and chips and declared them very tasty.

Pancakes with ice cream and toffee sauce were my wife's choice for pudding (I opted for a glass of red wine instead as usual), although a slight mix up saw them arrive with toffee ice cream instead of vanilla, which was soon rectified. We weren't in any particular hurry, although needing to begin the long trek back to Norfolk sooner rather than later, but the puddings did seem to take an inordinately long time to arrive compared to the main courses; the kitchen can't have been maxed out as the place was practically empty.

Good range of drinks - Stowford cider on draught was good.

Although the fire in the bar was burning well on the opposite side of the room and the radiator on our side was hot when we arrived, by the time we left, around 2:30pm, it was cold and we were feeling distinctly chilly. Almost a pleasure to get back in the car to warm up, which is not a memory you want to take away from a 'cosy' pub.

We'd heard mixed reports locally that The Cricketers was losing its edge and of course many, if not most, establishments go through these up and downs over time, but on the whole we'd have to say the pub is still a worthwhile destination - and destination it is because it's out in the wild country to the north of Andover where road signs are minimal, road surfaces on narrow lanes are disintegrating and a satnav and OS map are probably a good idea, especially after dark.

  • Stayed: February 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Service
3  Thank Peter G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 October 2012 via mobile

Ed and the staff here never fail to make sure you are made very welcome . The rooms are fantastic the food is amazing and real ale makes this my favourite pub and hotel. I stayed here recently after a delayed flight thanks to FlyMabye. Mine Host Ed kept the kitchen open for me and provided a fantastic Steak on my arrival at 9.30 pm. And was there with a warm welcome for breakfast on the morning. Well done Ed you are a star .

  • Stayed: October 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank StevePaton
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 December 2011

The Cricketers at Tangley is exactly what you might hope for from an English country pub. Great atmosphere with real fires, friendly service, and excellent freshly prepared food (not the bought in and warmed up rubbish which you find in so many dining pubs these days). Very lovely surroundings make the cricketers all in all first rate.

  • Stayed: December 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Disinterested
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 December 2011

The Cricketers is a lovely country pub with great food and a very warm and friendly atmosphere all set in a wonderful part of the world. We have stayed here several times over the past few years and have always enjoyed our stay.

The bar has low ceilings, exposed beams and a huge roaring fire. They have a good variety of real ales and wines. There is a dedicated restaurant section to the rear and the food is good and hearty with plenty of choice. The clientele is a mix of young and old, locals and visitors and they all seem to get along fine.

The accomodation, located in the pub grounds is a series of log cabins. They are all ensuite, very warm with crisp white linen on the beds and thick towels in the bathroom. We've always found them clean and comfortable. The breakfasts, served in the restaurant are good.

The pub and the accomodation is dog friendly and there is plenty of parking too.

Tangley and the surrounding areas are beautiful and are worthy of further exploration.

  • Stayed: November 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank tululah
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Been to The Cricketers Arms? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Cricketers Arms

Address: Tangley, Andover SP11 0SH, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Hampshire > Andover > Tangley
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 B&Bs / Inns in Tangley
Hotel Class:3 star — The Cricketers Arms 3*
Number of rooms: 10
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com and Ebookers so you can book your The Cricketers Arms reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing