We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great gastro pub”
Review of The Hawk Inn

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
The Hawk Inn
Ranked #1 of 1 Amport B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Andover, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Great gastro pub”
Reviewed 31 July 2013

My wife and I have just had a very pleasant meal here. Very friendly staff and great food. It's not cheap but is good value for money. It's reasonably local for us so we will definitely go there again.

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank AlbatrossSquawk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

118 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    62
    33
    13
    4
    6
See reviews for
21
44
3
21
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (22)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Andover
Level Contributor
45 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 July 2013

We were surprised to read unfavourable comments on The Hawk. My wife and I with family and friends have eaten here in an evening and at lunchtime without any problems. The quality of the food is excellent and service couldn't be improved upon. Interestingly, the young staff that served us on both occasions were extremely knowledgeable on the menu items and didn't need to refer to someone else to explain the dish. It is true that the prices are a little higher than other pub locations in the area, but "you get what you pay for"!
Not a place that we would eat at every week, but pleasant enough to remain on our favourites list.
The decor is brasserie style, but well spaced tables. Outside overlooks a quiet road with a meadow / green park beyond.

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank PRM42
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
27 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 July 2013

We booked to stay here as we were going to a wedding in the area. I called the day before to see if they could arrange an early check in or allow us somewhere to change before going to the church. The woman we dealt with was unpleasant to the point of rudeness and was completely unwilling to help. She stated that the check in was 3pm and that was it. I appreciate that early check ins are dependent on people leaving....but anywhere decent that I have stayed has been able to provide a minimum of storage for your bags and a place to change. We arrived before the wedding to at least see if we could get a key to save us going back before the reception. The guys behind the bar were really nice and were trying to help, but had to summon the same woman to speak to us. I don't know who gave her a job that involved dealing with the public, but she lacked even the most basic skills in customer handling. She didn't even look at us - just kept shaking her head and tutting and finally walked away without even speaking directly to us (all we wanted was the key...). When she was gone, one of the young barmen - clearly embarrassed by her behaviour offered to help us and said he would take care of our bags if we wanted to leave them and he arranged a key for us. In the end we kept our bags with us and decided to pay the bill and go home after the wedding because we couldn't face running into her again and spending the evening being treated so poorly. This is a place that charges the prices of a far superior establishment. They charge £100 per night for terrible service, bad attitude and no facilities. Others at the wedding that stayed the night before told us were unimpressed with the rooms and the food. There are lots of nice hotels and guesthouses in the area so take my advice and choose one of them.

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank mary_b2000
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Andover, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
185 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 116 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 June 2013 via mobile

We visited as a family but due to the terrible service only our 2 year old managed to eat lunch. The waiting staff seemingly didn't listen properly to our instructions when we ordered, failed to apply common sense and ultimately ruined our trip out for lunch. By the time our son had eaten we were still waiting for our food to arrive. it turns out that our order hadn't even been given to the kitchen. Everything took forever, the staff were generally inattentive and we left extremely disappointed. The food looked good on other tables but the service is atrocious.

  • Stayed June 2013
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
Helpful?
2 Thank 201212201212
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
17 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 June 2013

I have been here several times, having recently moved to the area. Sadly it is the only decent pub we have within a reasonable distance, so is popular for that reason alone with us. The food is good, I just begrudge having to pay London prices for a pub meal in Hampshire! It is also very much an eating place in the evenings, with not much seating if you want to go for a drink, especially given the size of the place. We will go back again, but only because we don't have too many other options around here.

  • Stayed May 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank 5goabroad
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Southampton, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 12 June 2013

The location is fabulous and this was the perfect place to spend the evening before my wedding and afterwards. The staff were amazing and made us feel so welcome from the moment we arrived. We were given early access to one of the rooms so we could store all the wedding bits while we decorated our venue which was very much appreciated. The food was incredible and it exceeded our expectations. I was in room 7 which was a suite so I had plenty of room to get ready in on the morning of the wedding. My suite had a lovely homely feel to it with a good flat screen TV with freeview, the en-suite was spotless with plenty of lovely fluffy soft towels and it also had lots of welcomed extra's such as tissues, cotton wool, shampoo, conditioner, soap etc. The bed was extremely comfortable but on the downsize the quilt was too warm for me but easily remedied with just using the sheet. There was a good kettle in the room together with a bottle of mineral water, a selection of different tea's and also coffee. It was nice to find a fridge on the landing containing plenty of small bottles of fresh milk for each of the guests to help themselves too rather than supplying just a small amount of UHT milk. The breakfast was fantastic plenty of free choices, chunky farmhouse white and brown bread, croissants, various cereals, fresh fruit juices etc. There is also the option of a paid cooked breakfast with all the trimming but we didn't even consider this as the breakfast which came with the room was perfect. I also dined there the following day with my new husband and immediate family after a church blessing and the Hawk Inn let us use a room so that we could all get changed out of our wedding attire. I would definately stay and dine here again 5/5.

Room Tip: Go for Room 7 the view is spectacular and the room is large and well appointed
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Christine S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Derby, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
12 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 June 2013

We chose to stay here as my partner was competing in the Tough Mudder event which was only 25 minutes away so it was a great location for us. It's set in one of the most beautiful villages I have ever seen and could not have more 'postcard shots' if it tried. We were fortunate enough to be upgraded when we arrived so had one of their suite rooms which looked out over the quiet road and across over the downs, very beautiful. The decor is lovely, modern with a homely feel and very luxurious. Freshly ground coffee and fresh milk in your room are a nice touch. We ate in the restaurant and unfortunately the food didn't quite live up to the menus promise, although it was a nice feed and to be fair we did get there just as they were about to finish serving, so maybe chef was on wind down? Overall, we would definitely stay there again and recommend to anyone visiting the area.

  • Stayed June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank EmmaDoodley
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Amport
0.0 mi away
The Star & Garter
The Star & Garter
#2 of 8 in Andover
236 reviews
0.0 mi away
White Hart
White Hart
#7 of 8 in Andover
178 reviews
0.0 mi away
Esseborne Manor
Esseborne Manor
#1 of 1 in Hurstbourne Tarrant
630 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.0 mi away
Peat Spade Inn
Peat Spade Inn
#1 of 2 in Stockbridge
198 reviews
0.0 mi away
The White Horse Inn & Restaurant
0.0 mi away
Bourne Valley Inn
Bourne Valley Inn
#1 of 2 in St Mary Bourne
229 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Hawk Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Hawk Inn

Property: The Hawk Inn
Address: Amport, Andover SP11 8AE, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Hampshire > Andover > Amport
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 B&Bs / Inns in Amport
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3 star — The Hawk Inn 3*
Number of rooms: 9
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Re-furbished in April 2011, The Hawk Inn is now a stunning country pub with 9 bedrooms, all en-suite. Open 7 days a week for Breakfast, Lunch and Dinner and all day for drinks. There is a Private Dining Room that seats 20, ideal for shoot parties and a secure gun cabinet. Local attractions include The Hawk Conservancy, Thruxton Race Circuit and fishing. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Odigeo and Priceline so you can book your The Hawk Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Hawk Hotel Andover

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing