We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Rooms average , value shocking”
Review of Marwood Villas

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Marwood Villas
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 30 December 2013

Have been twice before and loved it . This time shocking . Bed was actually broken and we had to put pillows in the middle to stop us rolling together . After the dreadful night woke to find no coffee sachets, the outside table unusable , birds nesting in bathroom ceiling . There was no fire wood , had to collect our own.When I spoke to owner he was defensive and unapologetic . In response to bed complaint, he said the last people had complained and had a new one on order ! For $250 I could not believe it . Could have put us in another room as it wasn't booked out ! Shocking

  • Stayed: December 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
7  Thank Joanne C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (114)
There are newer reviews for Marwood Villas
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

80 - 86 of 114 reviews

Reviewed 16 November 2013

marwood villa no 5 , was relaxing and tranquil from the time we pulled into the drive until we left. kangaroos were lazying on the lawn and at dusk we have emu's and more kangaroos out the back of the villa.
The villa was everything that you could ask for, sure there was some chipped paint here and there , but the villa and all that it has to offer was just amazing.
The bed was extremely comfortable and the spa was probably the best in any accommodation that we have stayed in , the wood heater was easy to use and very efficient and the kitchen had everything that you need.
if you want relaxing, tranquil and cosy then this is the place to be

  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Carey32
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 November 2013

Fantastic stay. We were a little concerned after reading some reviews but absolutely loved it as soon as we arrived. Best kitchen we have seen in self contained accommodation, best spa, great shower with fantastic water pressure, most comfortable bed, adequate storage and linen, great heating, very clean. Secure and private. Best array of wildlife we have experienced during a holiday, emus and wallabies outside our kitchen window, kangaroos and ducks lazing out the front. Good walking track around property. Good information booklet on local attractions and eateries. Property is well signed and easy to locate. Good supply of food and beverages for our two night stay. Highly highly recommend, and are already planning our next trip, hopefully for a longer stay!! Fantastic and a credit to current owners...well done and we will see you again soon!

Stayed: November 2013, travelled as a couple
Thank Litia R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 July 2013

I had read other reviews, which were mixed. I think the problem is the 'luxury' and the fact that accommodation at peek times is limited in Halls Gap. They may have been luxury when built but are now showing their age considerably. Never the less when we got a good fire going the villa was very cosy. There was a large spa bath, which we found clean and adequate. Breakfast left out although you would certainly need to supplement this. The Kangaroos bouncing across the lawn were charming.

  • Stayed: June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Colin55
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 July 2013

Just returned from a three night mid-week stay and loved the place, kangaroos on the lawn, lots of bird life. Villa was spacious yet cosy and had everything we needed and we felt very much 'at home'. After reading the reviews we brought our own kindling and wood but needn't have bothered, wood was plentiful and replenished daily so we had a blazing fire each evening. Supplies were more than ample for the 'continental' breakfast advertised, cereals, bread, eggs, juice and we brought our own bacon. Would definitely recommend and if they do the voucher deal again we will be back for another relaxing stay.

  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
3  Thank SusieInOz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 July 2013

I bought a voucher for two nights stay.
Wow!
when we finally managed to get there, we got out of the car & instantly relaxed!
Winter time, was great.... it was cosy on arrival, we got the fire roaring too in the evenings!
self contained to cater for ourselves, only note to self... next time take salt & pepper :)
Nice rural location, with great walk tracks in the area.

Room Tip: there are only great rooms here!
  • Stayed: June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank RobynBurton
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 July 2013

We stayed two nights using a coupon deal. We were greeted by kangaroos as we drove up and we were totally blown away by how romantic the villa was when we stepped inside. The spa, the king bed, the complimentary sparkling wine, the open fire, it was just perfect. We took our own cereal after reading some of the comments made about the breakfast, and there was no kindling which made it difficult to start a fire, but otherwise our stay was beyond expectations, even though it poured rain for most of our trip. My long-term partner actually proposed on the second day of our trip and we will definitely be returning for another romantic weekend away in the future.

  • Stayed: June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Carly211204
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Halls Gap hotels
1.7 mi away
Mountain View Motor Inn & Holiday Lodge
2.7 mi away
The Grampians Motel & The Views Restaurant
1.0 mi away
Halls Gap Caravan Park
Halls Gap Caravan Park
#8 of 42 in Halls Gap
151 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Gariwerd Motel
Gariwerd Motel
#1 of 9 in Halls Gap
696 reviews
0.8 mi away
Kookaburra Motor Lodge
Kookaburra Motor Lodge
#4 of 9 in Halls Gap
255 reviews
5.6 mi away
Aurora Cottages
Aurora Cottages
#1 of 4 in Pomonal
45 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Marwood Villas? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Marwood Villas

Address: 31 Mt Zero Road, Halls Gap, Victoria 3381, Australia
Phone Number:
Region: Australia > Victoria > Grampians > Halls Gap
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free Parking Kitchenette
Hotel Style:
Ranked #10 of 42 Speciality Lodging in Halls Gap
Price Range: £133 - £178 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Marwood Villas 4.5*
Number of rooms: 6
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Marwood Luxury villas, Totally individual, private,and luxurious accommodation in a tranquil bushland setting, for the discerning traveler. Marwood offers four individually decorated Villas, hand made terracotta and slate tiles, granite bench tops, huge sofas, Real log fires, fully equipped kitchens, forged dining tables, matching chairs, bedside tables. King beds. Australian wool under covers, imported linen, floor rugs. The bathroom unfolds double vanities, a large play area shower. A deep double spa grandly colonnaded sits in a window bay beside the bed. Experience an overwhelming sense of space, proportion and harmony as you enter through the arched porch. Breakfast with the birds on the patio in fine weather and unwind to the calming sounds of the bush. In the cooler months the mood lighting and crackling log fires create a cosy atmosphere that encourages relaxation. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, TripOnline SA, HotelQuickly and Evoline ltd so you can book your Marwood Villas reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Marwood Villas Halls Gap, Grampians, Australia

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing