We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“God's country”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Halls Gap Log Cabins
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 12 June 2014

What a spot - nestled between ranges to the east and west and a vast array of wildlife at the door, Halls Gap Log Cabins provide the ideal base to discover all the nature that this region has in abundance. It is extremely rare to see any property consistently receive such high guest ratings however after staying there it is obvious why this is so. We enjoyed a delightful spa suite which was very comfortable and had everything that we could have needed. The Grampians is an exceptional region in Victoria's natural environment and Halls Gap Log Cabins is located within walking distance to the Brambuk Centre as well as the village shops. If you are planning to visit the Grampians for the first time or the fortieth you would be hard pressed to find a better spot to stay and the hosts are very friendly and knowledgeable on the local area.

Room Tip: Try the walk to Boronia Peak behind the Cabins, it's a two hour hike to the summit but the views...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank JummaBee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (91)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

59 - 65 of 91 reviews

Reviewed 27 April 2014

Log cabins come with a well equipped kitchen (better equipment than usual in places of this kind), spa, cable TV, DVD and fireplace. Carpeted interior done up to a good standard.
There is a pool and roos to keep you company.
The place is very well maintained and walking distance to Halls Gap.
I would suggest that overnight visitors to Halls Gap either bring their own groceries or stop in at the Safeway along the way (in Stawell for example) as the local grocery store has limited selection and relatively high prices.

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Gordaus
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 April 2014 via mobile

A warm welcome to a great place. Rooms are clean and good value. The rooms are surrounded with natural bush & grassland teeming with roos and emus. Pool & grounds are neat & tidy but preserve a rural feel. Nothing is too much trouble for the caretakers who know the area and will keep you informed with local knowledge of events and places to be. Will definitely stay and recommend.

Stayed: April 2014, travelled with friends
Thank Woody3366
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 April 2014

Stayed here in a two bed log cabin, fantastic! Open fire is great fun and nice addition. The location is fantastic and owners very friendly. This is a great place to stay, don't look any further. The two times I have stayed here I have never been in the pool as you would probably need an ice pick to get in, but I have only stayed in autumn.

  • Stayed: June 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Dave R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 April 2014

This is an excellent location for exploring the Grampian National Park . The accommodation was very comfortable and the kitchen was well equipped . The unexpected highlight was the wildlife . It was a delight to sit on the verandah in the evenings and be observed by passing Kangaroos , emu and deer .
The cockatoos were particularly inquisitive and would perch on our table looking for treats ..
The staff were particularly helpful and had a wealth of information on walks etc ...
A gem of a place .

Room Tip: ask the manager where you will see most kangaroos
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank jen m
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 March 2014

Stayed here for one night.
Rose was terrific with information and hospitality
We stayed in a two bedroom cabin With another couple and it was clean and well appointed
Full kitchen to make a hearty breakfast to start the day
Wildlife was amazing and very friendly
Would stay again

  • Stayed: March 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank ddh04
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 January 2014

We stayed for four nights in late December. The cabin was clean with charming touches. The spa was great and really big. Proper kitchen, good size fridge and oven with bar stools and a nice table to eat at (from the photos I wasn't sure there would be a table.) Two armchairs in front of the TV with DVD player. DVDs for rent at reception $7 each or two for $10. The A/C in the lounge worked well. Plenty of kangaroos, emus and a few deer on the property, really enhanced the experience. You need to wear solid shoes and socks to go out the back, so you don't get prickles on your feet which really hurt! The visitor's centre (location is not permanent though) is a 20 min walk from the place which was really handy but there are a selection of brochures at reception to get you started. We did lots of walking and had one afternoon at quad biking, one at the zoo, another at Dunkeld. Good phone reception with Amaysim.

Stayed: December 2013, travelled as a couple
1  Thank princess_tara18
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Halls Gap hotels
1.9 mi away
Mountain View Motor Inn & Holiday Lodge
0.7 mi away
Comfort Inn Country Plaza Halls Gap
0.9 mi away
The Grampians Motel & The Views Restaurant
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.3 mi away
Gariwerd Motel
Gariwerd Motel
#1 of 9 in Halls Gap
795 reviews
1.1 mi away
Halls Gap Valley Lodges
Halls Gap Valley Lodges
#5 of 42 in Halls Gap
129 reviews
0.6 mi away
Halls Gap Motel
Halls Gap Motel
#5 of 9 in Halls Gap
134 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Halls Gap Log Cabins? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Halls Gap Log Cabins

Address: 245 Grampians Rd, Halls Gap, Victoria 3381, Australia
Region: Australia > Victoria > Grampians > Halls Gap
Amenities:
Free Parking Kitchenette Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #8 of 42 Speciality Lodging in Halls Gap
Price Range: £78 - £105 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 12
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com so you can book your Halls Gap Log Cabins reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Halls Gap Log Cabins Grampians, Australia

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing