We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great getaway”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
BIG4 Grampians Parkgate Resort
Certificate of Excellence
Mornington, Australia
Level Contributor
23 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Great getaway”
Reviewed 4 July 2014

Family of 2 adults and 3 children ( aged 12-16). We stayed in cedar cabin which had bunks for 4 and double bed.
Accommodation and facilities met our needs. Our main purpose of the trip was to hike along the various tracks around Halls Gap and the cabin met our needs of being able to eat in (if too tired to eat out), have a nice hot shower and relax at night in a well heated room. Having access to toilet blocks in addition to the cabins facilities was also great when more than one person wanted to use the toilet or bathroom at same time.
Suggestion: if eating in, bring in food from Ararat or Stawell as grocery supplies were limited in town.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Suzanne2K2012
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
parkgatevic, Front Office Manager at BIG4 Grampians Parkgate Resort, responded to this review, 11 July 2014
We appreciate you taking the time to respond on Trip Advisor, we hope to see you again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

506 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    406
    88
    8
    2
    2
See reviews for
274
147
4
3
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (80)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Melbourne, Australia
1 review
Reviewed 1 July 2014

We have stayed at a number of Big 4 parks but this is my favourite one. The cabins are spacious with all you need (the microwave doubles as an oven but you can use the camp ovens as well). The staff are very friendly too. We have just come back from a rather wet and cold few days. But if it wasn't we would have been playing tennis and on the jumping pillow (good for teenagers who might be a bit old for the movies).

Helen

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Helen J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
parkgatevic, Front Office Manager at BIG4 Grampians Parkgate Resort, responded to this review, 11 July 2014
Thank you so much for the fantastic review. It is wonderful to have such positive feedback. We hope to see you again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lara, Australia
1 review
Reviewed 1 July 2014 via mobile

Recently stayed here with my mum. Excellent experience!!! Great views and wildlife. Short drive to the many walks and the local pub. The staff were very friendly and welcoming. Great little town will defiantly be back soon, thanks again!!!

Stayed June 2014, travelled with family
Helpful?
Thank MrsKristyO
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
parkgatevic, Front Office Manager at BIG4 Grampians Parkgate Resort, responded to this review, 11 July 2014
Thank you so much for taking the time to review the park. We are so happy you enjoyed your stay.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bendigo, Australia
1 review
Reviewed 28 June 2014

We have stayed many times over the past 30 years. The units are spacious, the facilities are terrific and it represents excellent value for money. A wonderful place to enjoy a holiday. Yes, we will be back.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Joe C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
parkgatevic, Front Office Manager at BIG4 Grampians Parkgate Resort, responded to this review, 29 June 2014
Thank you Joe for taking the time to review the park. We look forward to seeing you again and again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 June 2014 via mobile

We recently stayed at the Parkgate resort at the end of our family Melbourne holiday.
What a way to end the holiday. My partner and I had stayed in Halls Gap previously but our son hasnt and he loved every day of it. My son has the gift of the gab and talks to everyone and anyone and the wonderful staff always chatted away to him like they were best of buds!
We will be returning again in the future!
A truly beautiful park, you should be proud of your hard work and achievements :)

Stayed May 2014, travelled with family
Helpful?
Thank The-Ace-of-Spade
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
parkgatevic, Manager at BIG4 Grampians Parkgate Resort, responded to this review, 25 June 2014
We are so glad you enjoyed your stay. It is great seeing the kids having fun, and our staff always endevour to make families feel at home during their holiday. See you again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
9 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 June 2014 via mobile

Very happy with our one bedroom unit. It was spacious, very clean and had eveything you needed. It would be easy to spend more than a couple of days there and not feel claustrophobic. Staff were friendly and informative and the location was great 1km out of halls gap town centre. The park was not noisy, despite it being practically at capacity.

Stayed June 2014, travelled with friends
Helpful?
Thank Lauren B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Michelle H, Guest Relations Manager at BIG4 Grampians Parkgate Resort, responded to this review, 9 March 2016
Thank you for your review Lauren B. We are lucky to be in such a great location are glad you enjoyed your stay. We hope you will be able to stay longer on your next visit.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
34 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 May 2014

I recently stayed here with some friends, we stayed in one of the newer cabins. The park was peaceful and quiet (we did stay midweek). Our cabin had a lovely little deck, that over looked the hills and grass areas. Kangaroos were seen outside our cabin every evening! The 3 bedroom cabin was large enough for all of us and the couch is super comfortable (many a nap was had on that couch!) New kitchen was well equipped but the only fault was the oven, stove top was very hard to light. The beds were comfortable and both bathrooms clean and spacious. The Park has lots of activities, tennis courts, pool, playground and jumping pillow that all looked like they would get a great workout in the warmer months. The staff were very friendly and always waved when we drove past.
Overall a lovely Caravan Park not far from town.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Kateshep
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Michelle H, Guest Relations Manager at BIG4 Grampians Parkgate Resort, responded to this review, 9 March 2016
Thank you Kateshep for taking the time to write such a detailed review. We have noted your comment about the oven. We encourage all guests to come and see us if there is any issue with the cabin and we will try and fix it. Apart from that it sounds like you had a great time, particularly being able to share the experience with friends. We hope you will visit us again and bring more friends.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Halls Gap hotels
1.5 mi away
Mountain View Motor Inn & Holiday Lodge
1.2 mi away
Comfort Inn Country Plaza Halls Gap
1.0 mi away
Halls Gap Caravan Park
Halls Gap Caravan Park
#7 of 42 in Halls Gap
144 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.8 mi away
Halls Gap Gardens Caravan Park
3.3 mi away
Halls Gap Lakeside Tourist Park
2.6 mi away
The Grampians Motel & The Views Restaurant
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to BIG4 Grampians Parkgate Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about BIG4 Grampians Parkgate Resort

Property: BIG4 Grampians Parkgate Resort
Address: 2372 Grampians Road, Halls Gap, Victoria 3381, Australia
Region: Australia > Victoria > Grampians > Halls Gap
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 42 Speciality Lodging in Halls Gap
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4.5 star — BIG4 Grampians Parkgate Resort 4.5*
Number of rooms: 40
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Parkgate Resort is nestled in the foothills of the majestic Grampians National Park, and centrally located to Halls Gap. Parkgate offers you quality Cabin & Unit accommodation, Caravan and Ensuite sites and a fantastic family holiday in a safe, inviting and relaxing atmosphere.With a range of accommodation options to suit all budgets and situated in some of nature's most breathtaking scenery, you can be assured of a memorable holiday experience so enjoyable... you'll find it hard to leave.With our mountain backdrop and regular visits from the local wildlife, our accommodation choices will suit every taste and budget. Choose from spa units, one and two bedroom cottage units or our cedar cabins. All are self-contained with fully equipped kitchens, bathroom, heating and television. Come and enjoy some of the splendour that we at Halls Gap are privileged to live with every day. Access to the iconic views, features and walking tracks that make the Grampians special are within easy reach. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Traveltool, S.L.U., Agoda, Odigeo and HotelQuickly so you can book your BIG4 Grampians Parkgate Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
BIG4 Grampians Parkgate Resort Halls Gap, Australia

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing