We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“great place to stay”
Review of Halls Haven Resort

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Halls Haven Resort
Melbourne, Australia
1 review
“great place to stay”
Reviewed 7 January 2013

we're a young family with 2 boys 7 + 9. had a great time relaxing by the pool, playing tennis, shooting the hoop etc . Not a luxury place but very comfortable, had everything we wanted and that's what counts. Would come back again

  • Stayed January 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ash6449
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

63 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    25
    28
    4
    2
    4
See reviews for
19
28
3
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (10)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Melbourne
Level 4 Contributor
27 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 October 2012

We have just returned from a really nice weekend at Halls haven. The Cabins are spotless and the loication is just lovely. The owners were very nice and the dog i think Jack was truly lovely and we had lovely pats. Would always stay there again. And would really recommend to anyone to stay here. But if you do and you go into Halls Gap do not eat at The Black Panther Cafe worst service ever.

  • Stayed October 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Diamondmelbourne
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Melbourne, Australia
Level 4 Contributor
29 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
Reviewed 31 January 2012

We (2 adults and 2 children, aged 3 and 5) stayed here a few nights. The place has various cottages and units located around a pond. Certainly this is very pleasant, and the outlook to The Grampians is nice.

We stayed in one of the 2 bedroom units. It was not bad, but not great either. Decor was very dated and the cooking facilites were a micro-oven with two hot plates plus a microwave. This was adequate for basic cooking, but then that was all we wanted to do so that was not a problem. Bedding was a double and 2 singles. The aircon worked well, and was not too noisy.

The kids play gorund is quite basic and could do with an update and improvement. Again, it wasn't bad, just not great.

Service was very good, welcoming and helpful.

Wi-fi is not provided. Also you must bring your own sheets and towels. This would be fine for locals on short trips, but I think international travellers could be caught out (but they can be rented for an additional charge).

The overall question for a place is would I stay there again? And the answer is yes I would.

In summary, it is a place worth considering when travelling to Halls Gap, bit it is not a 'must stay'. The environment is very nice, but the units are adequate - not bad, but not outstanding.

  • Stayed January 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Dougal73
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Melbourne, Victoria, Australia
2 reviews
Reviewed 14 January 2012

We stayed at Halls Haven for 6 nights. The cabins were very clean & well equipped. We were made to feel very welcome & nothing was too much trouble for the owners to make our stay enjoyable. We enjoyed the BBQ facilities overlooking the pond. Lots of Blue Wren’s hoping around the cabins & Kangaroos and Emus grazing all around. We even had an Echidna wandering behind our cabin. Wouldn’t hesitate to stay there again!

  • Stayed January 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Judy T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Melbourne, Australia
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 April 2011

4 nights stay with my 2 grandsons at Halls haven, room was clean and tidy, one of the other occupants in another unit asked me if we had a mouse problem in our unit like they had in their unit. Rats got into my engine and ate the radiator hose overnight, mobile mechanic fixed it the next day at a cost of $175. the next morning the rats did another $355 worth of damage this time chewing threw the wiring and multiple cooling hoses in my Land cruiser. We were stranded there as the car would not even start.
The host Mandy told us to get it towed away and leave, she was not interested in even paying part of the repair bill, she said " not our problem"
WE have the photos and a written assessment by the mechanic as proof that it was caused by rats and or mice at this location.
Mandy did not deny there was a rat infestation on the property and did not care about the damage bill, I am a pensioner and this has affected me greatly

Room Tip: if you stay there dont take your car!!
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank outbackcamper
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HallsHavenEscape, Owner at Halls Haven Resort, responded to this review, 24 March 2012
Halls Haven is situated in a semi-rural location, adjacent to a beautiful bush reserve, which is loved by our regular guests. During early 2011 the surrounding district, and Western Victoria in general, was affected by a mice plague, which was widely publicised and reported in the media at the time. Whilst we have never before had a problem with mice, it was not surprising to find that there was an isolated incident of infestation. We take great pride in the cleanliness and presentation of our facilities, and have a very committed approach to customer service and dealing with any issues related to the comfort of our guests. Our accommodation was fully booked in the immediate period following this report over the highly popular Easter period and we had no evidence or incidence of the reported nature. Whilst unfortunate to the traveller involved, we feel that the isolated nature of the incident indicates that Halls Haven is not in any way responsible for the outcome.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Melbourne
Level 6 Contributor
329 reviews
87 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 214 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 June 2010

Stayed with friends in a two bedroom cottage - had all the kitchen basics so we cooked breakfast and nibbles. We drove into Halls Gap for dinner.
Very restful and peaceful with a small but beautiful lake on site. Shower was hot and clean - the four of us didn't run the hot water out which was great. Well tucked off the road, so absolutely no traffic noise. Not the absolute latest in appointments, but everything was very comfortable, very clean and functional. The beds were super comfy and were good for a great nights sleep. Lovely hosts and a cute dog!
BBQ's out of the front on the side of the lake were a great idea.
Will be back for the Wine Festival next year!

  • Stayed April 2010, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank jiffy2006
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Halls Gap hotels
0.6 mi away
Mountain View Motor Inn & Holiday Lodge
3.0 mi away
The Grampians Motel & The Views Restaurant
1.8 mi away
Gariwerd Motel
Gariwerd Motel
#1 of 9 in Halls Gap
674 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.1 mi away
Halls Gap Motel
Halls Gap Motel
#5 of 9 in Halls Gap
116 reviews
2.1 mi away
Halls Gap Caravan Park
Halls Gap Caravan Park
#7 of 42 in Halls Gap
151 reviews
1.5 mi away
BIG4 Grampians Parkgate Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Halls Haven Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Halls Haven Resort

Property: Halls Haven Resort
Address: 2103 Grampians Road, Halls Gap, Victoria 3318, Australia
Region: Australia > Victoria > Grampians > Halls Gap
Amenities:
Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #14 of 42 Speciality Lodging in Halls Gap
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — Halls Haven Resort 4*
Number of rooms: 12
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Situated on 50 acres, our 1 and 2 bedroom self contained units surround our lake. We also have 2 deluxe 2 bedroom spa units fully self contained. All linen is supplied, swimming pool, tennis court and an abundance of local animals including kangaroos, emus and deer roaming over our property. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Agoda, Odigeo and Hotels.com so you can book your Halls Haven Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Halls Haven Resort Halls Gap, Grampians, Australia

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing