We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very peaceful”
Review of Halls Haven Resort

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Halls Haven Resort
Reviewed 2 December 2013

My wife and I arrived for a four night holiday and found the price of Halls Haven to be very reasonable. The staff were amazingly kind and the whole place felt very homey. We only really spent nights at the resort as we went on many walks while in the area, but it was always very quiet and the stay went by without a hitch. We both highly recommend Halls Haven Resort, and if we're ever going to Halls Gap for a holiday again, we will definitely be staying here.

  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ChristianDow
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (65)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

56 - 62 of 65 reviews

Reviewed 30 October 2013

As a couple we rented a unit for four nights. It was clean and tidy, with towels and fully equipped kitchen.
The lady who owns it is very nice, and made us feel very comfortable.
You can play tennis (the lady will give you the raquets) and pay $1 for each ball.
There are some alpacas and goats in the property which makes it interesting for the kids, you can feed them and get close to them.
There is a nice lagoon in the middle, trees and native flowers. It's a peaceful place.
There;s a small place for barbecues too.
It's not the best thing ever but it was good enough. Had a good time.

  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Catasanmartin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 July 2013

Very reasonable rates, quiet setting, lots of emus and kangaroos to spot. Our kids loved the sports equipment (bikes, basketball hoop, etc) though the tennis court was waterlogged. Spacious units, free DVDs (big selection). We had one of the cheaper units, so stove was one of those little electric ovens with two stovetop elements, but we hadn't planned to cook dinner anyway. Beds very soft, so not great for those with back problems. All in all, great value and would probably stay again.

Room Tip: Get a three star unit instead of four star, and use your savings to buy dinner at the Indian restaur...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank TravellingAussieMum
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 June 2013

We booked a 2 bedroom unit (with a small charge for linen), for 3 nights in April Driving through Halls Gap our GPS led us to the bush at the southern end of the property which we eventually found further down the road down a long drive. Evidently we were not the first to be led astray! The location was further out of town than we'd anticipated - we probably would have done more short walks had we been closer to the CBD. Friendly welcome. Nice view of the Grampians.
It would have been nice to try the deluxe cottage with spa and fire but it was hard to get 3 nights over the ANZAC Day period.
Our cabin overlooked the pond and was a bit on the dark side but cosy. Large dining table, 2 seater settee and 2 armchairs. My side of the electric blanket didn't seem to work but there were plenty of blankets in the wardrobe. Rusty BBQs. Lawn covered with roo poo but none in the bush behind the unit although we did see a mob in a far paddock nearer the road.
Commercial sized washing machine great for big backlog of washing. $2 + laundry powder $1.50
TIP Stock up in advance if self catering as there's only one superette in town.

  • Stayed: April 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank omahu
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 January 2013

we're a young family with 2 boys 7 + 9. had a great time relaxing by the pool, playing tennis, shooting the hoop etc . Not a luxury place but very comfortable, had everything we wanted and that's what counts. Would come back again

  • Stayed: January 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ash6449
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 October 2012

We have just returned from a really nice weekend at Halls haven. The Cabins are spotless and the loication is just lovely. The owners were very nice and the dog i think Jack was truly lovely and we had lovely pats. Would always stay there again. And would really recommend to anyone to stay here. But if you do and you go into Halls Gap do not eat at The Black Panther Cafe worst service ever.

  • Stayed: October 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Diamondmelbourne
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 31 January 2012

We (2 adults and 2 children, aged 3 and 5) stayed here a few nights. The place has various cottages and units located around a pond. Certainly this is very pleasant, and the outlook to The Grampians is nice.

We stayed in one of the 2 bedroom units. It was not bad, but not great either. Decor was very dated and the cooking facilites were a micro-oven with two hot plates plus a microwave. This was adequate for basic cooking, but then that was all we wanted to do so that was not a problem. Bedding was a double and 2 singles. The aircon worked well, and was not too noisy.

The kids play gorund is quite basic and could do with an update and improvement. Again, it wasn't bad, just not great.

Service was very good, welcoming and helpful.

Wi-fi is not provided. Also you must bring your own sheets and towels. This would be fine for locals on short trips, but I think international travellers could be caught out (but they can be rented for an additional charge).

The overall question for a place is would I stay there again? And the answer is yes I would.

In summary, it is a place worth considering when travelling to Halls Gap, bit it is not a 'must stay'. The environment is very nice, but the units are adequate - not bad, but not outstanding.

  • Stayed: January 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Dougal73
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Halls Gap hotels
0.6 mi away
Mountain View Motor Inn & Holiday Lodge
2.1 mi away
Comfort Inn Country Plaza Halls Gap
3.0 mi away
The Grampians Motel & The Views Restaurant
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.1 mi away
Halls Gap Caravan Park
Halls Gap Caravan Park
#8 of 42 in Halls Gap
154 reviews
1.8 mi away
Gariwerd Motel
Gariwerd Motel
#1 of 9 in Halls Gap
709 reviews
2.1 mi away
Halls Gap Motel
Halls Gap Motel
#5 of 9 in Halls Gap
123 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Halls Haven Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Halls Haven Resort

Address: 2103 Grampians Road, Halls Gap, Victoria 3318, Australia
Region: Australia > Victoria > Grampians > Halls Gap
Amenities:
Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #14 of 42 Speciality Lodging in Halls Gap
Price Range: £76 - £113 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Halls Haven Resort 4*
Number of rooms: 12
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Situated on 50 acres, our 1 and 2 bedroom self contained units surround our lake. We also have 2 deluxe 2 bedroom spa units fully self contained. All linen is supplied, swimming pool, tennis court and an abundance of local animals including kangaroos, emus and deer roaming over our property. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com and Agoda so you can book your Halls Haven Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Halls Haven Resort Halls Gap, Grampians, Australia

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing