We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great weekend stay”
Review of Grampians Chalets

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Grampians Chalets
Certificate of Excellence
Geelong, Australia
Level Contributor
21 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Great weekend stay”
Reviewed 20 February 2012

Our weekend got off on the right., The chalet manager showed us to our accommodation. We were immediately struck by the lovely smell wafting through our room. Little touches like the fragrance sticks and the fluffy robes were much appreciated. Great location, lovely surroundings. The only hitch was the attachment on the tv which turned it off every hour, ( a bit of a nuisance when you are in the spa!). Lovely big comfortable beds. All in all a great place for a lazy weekend. Would definately stay there again.

Room Tip: Definately get one of the deluxe units overlooking the pond.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Margo R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

80 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    58
    14
    5
    2
    1
See reviews for
18
46
Solo
0
1
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (20)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 16 February 2012

Good value for money, good location (better than many others) relatively modern. I would definitely stay here again. You can walk in to the main part of town in 5-10 minutes, and we were satisfied with the whole stay. Kangaroos and wildlife right out the front (although they are everywhere anyway). Highly recommend.

  • Stayed February 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank RichmondBridge
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 2 December 2011

We stayed here for a night as we returned from a holiday in Adelaide. We are so glad that we did!!

From the moment we arrived it was all smiles and a warm greeting. We were shown to our chalet #6 and were amazed at the space, the beautiful layout, spa and FULL amenities. It was also close to the main street shops, parks and the Zoo where we had a great afternoon.

We were told about the daily wildlife visitors and we looked out upon a pond full of ducks. We also had a beautiful view of the Grampians; in front of us and behind us.

We have already decided to go back for our anniversary, where we plan to relax and completely forget the world as we snuggle up during winter.

Thanks to Evona for making the stay wonderful and for the wine; you made us feel so welcome!

PS the wine was great and we had one fantastic night!! We will see you again soon :)

Room Tip: If you are travelling as a couple (or single) ask for a deluxe cabin.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Bec D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ballarat, Australia
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 October 2011

My husband and I stayed at the Grampians Chalets this time last year and we loved it!! The price was right and the service was fantastic, We stayed in the deluxe Chalet and was amazed at the abundent wildlife right at our door, we had different kinds of birds coming up to eat out of our hands and had wonderful lounge chairs to lay on the deck directly in front of the small lake where ducks were swimming and kangaroos were playing on the horizon, the wine was immensely enjoyed while we were relaxing in the spa and taking in the ambiance of the gas log fire and the electric blankets on the king sized bed were very appreciated, we enjoyed it so much that we booked for this years anniversary and cant wait to be back and do it all over again. T and A Zuecker.

  • Stayed November 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank alana z
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 August 2011

We stayed at one of the deluxe chalets for two nights and it was gorgeous. Beautiful interior, cosy and luxurious in the middle of an amazing setting. We had kangaroos grazing outside our chalet and when it rained the spa bath and complimentary DVD service was most appreciated. Friendly service - so good we stayed an extra night. Highly recommended.

  • Stayed July 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank raqsabroad
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
adelaide
Level Contributor
40 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 May 2011

We booked two nights at Grampian Chalets because of good reviews on Tripadvisor.

However, on arrival in mid afternoon the cabin was very cold. The reverse cycle heating unit didn't work and we were surprised when the managers told us that the previous guests had experienced the same problem. This was not fixed throughout our stay. The gas fire failed to work on the final morning which was freezing cold. We were told it was a regular problem and were offered a very ineffectual electric heater. There were no instructions in the chalet and we didn't even know that there was an electric blanket.

The location was excellent and the cabin was high quality but the cleaning routine needs attention. There were cobwebs and dirt in corners, the tops of the fridge, microwave and cooker hood were dirty and dusty.

  • Stayed May 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank expatozAdelaide
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
syzmczak, Owner at Grampians Chalets, responded to this review, 26 July 2011
we were very sorry about the airconditioner and did have a problem the day before but thought we had fixed it, unfortunately it was a faulty capaciter. The problem was it worked then shut off.
The refridgeration mechanic replaced the fitting the next day . The gas log fire had a carbon
build up and refused to start, a safety feature, unfortunately the same day. Electric blankets are standard in all chalets as advertised. A electric fan heater was supplied to help out our guests.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
55 reviews
32 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 48 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 April 2011

We stayed 2 nights at the Grampians Chalets and upgraded to the couples suite once we got there. Our chalet was on the pond at the back of the property, and had nice views and local kangeroos as neighbours. The chalet was spacious, comfortable and not too badly priced, with a comfortable king size bed and spa. The location was close to the township and close to some of the nearby walks. Reception had DVDs that you could borrow free of charge but the Austar didn't seem to work. We also couldn't get the air conditioner to work and there was no wood for the fire.

It was only on check out that I noticed a sign at reception that mentioned a $50 cleaning charge if the kitchen isn't left cleaned, which I think is ridiculous considering the price of the room and the fact that its not a hostel or caravan park. We went back and washed our few dishes but I think management should rethink this policy, or at the least, mention it when people check in.

Room Tip: Book on of the couples suites
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank leelou28
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
syzmczak, Owner at Grampians Chalets, responded to this review, 26 July 2011
The gas log fire only requires gas, not logs. All chalets have dishwashers for washing dishes.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Halls Gap hotels
1.8 mi away
Mountain View Motor Inn & Holiday Lodge
1.1 mi away
The Grampians Motel & The Views Restaurant
1.2 mi away
Gariwerd Motel
Gariwerd Motel
#1 of 9 in Halls Gap
623 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.3 mi away
DULC Cabins
DULC Cabins
#5 of 42 in Halls Gap
145 reviews
1.8 mi away
Halls Gap Lakeside Tourist Park
1.2 mi away
Halls Gap Valley Lodges
Halls Gap Valley Lodges
#6 of 42 in Halls Gap
112 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Grampians Chalets? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Grampians Chalets

Property: Grampians Chalets
Address: 221-223 Grampians Rd, Halls Gap, Victoria 3381, Australia
Region: Australia > Victoria > Grampians > Halls Gap
Hotel Style:
Ranked #8 of 42 Speciality Lodging in Halls Gap
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Grampians Chalets 4*
Number of rooms: 8
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Agoda, Priceline and Cancelon so you can book your Grampians Chalets reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Grampians Chalets Halls Gap, Australia

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing