We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Halls Gap Motel
Show Prices
Like saving money? We search up to 200 sites for the lowest prices
Nearby Hotels
View Hotel
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
D'Altons Resort(Halls Gap)
View Hotel
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Gariwerd Motel(Halls Gap)
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
View Hotel
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
  • Free Parking
Reviews (136)
Filter reviews
136 results
Traveller rating
53
69
11
2
1
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
53
69
11
2
1
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsroom was cleanminutes walkingfree wifistayed here for one nightmicrowave ovenchecking outbasic facilitiesgreat positiongood sizeconvenient locationbeautiful mountainswould stay againbreakfast and dinnershort breakcentre of townfriendly hostspleasant stay
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
103 - 108 of 136 reviews
Reviewed 30 May 2013

Stayed one night. Double bed room. In the main street close to shops. Fairly modern and reasonably equipped. Clean and bright with lots of lights. Views of the Grampians from outside the room. Free wi-fi although one had to move about the room to find a ‘hot spot’ for reception. Limited mini-bar (not used by us). Comfortable bed. Lots of kangaroos on the lawn in the morning. Good value and we would stay there again.

  • Stayed: March 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank RobertEC47
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Vern K, Manager at Halls Gap Motel, responded to this reviewResponded 16 March 2018

Thanks

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 May 2013

Stayed 2 nights in May 13. Nice spacious environment. We requested for a room further away from the entrance. Room itself is big, bright and basic. Common to find Kangaroos within the compound. Free wi-fi was not working. We had to inform the owner to rectify the situation. As our room is further away from the reception, the wi-fi signal was weak. We had to sit near the window to ensure connectivity. Despite this minor issue, the place is great and value for money, and the owner was kind enough to avail a microwave oven to us upon request. Amenities is about 500m walk away. There is also a restaurant right next door, and another Indian restaurant less than 100m away

Room Tip: Get rooms further away from the reception if you want privacy and nearer to the open spaces. However, note that this may compromise strength of the wi-fi signal
  • Stayed: May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank madbirdy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Vern K, Manager at Halls Gap Motel, responded to this reviewResponded 16 March 2018

Thanks

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 May 2013

Visiting the Grampians was a last minute decision, and we're glad we decided to visit. We did not have much time for some hiking, but will definitely make time for it if we're back.

The motel itself is very well located, within walking distance to shops and restaurants. The view from the motel is very nice and wildlife was plentiful. The managers were polite, friendly and accommodating, so we had no problems from booking via emails to check-in. The room we stayed in has a queen bed and a single bed, just nice for the 3 of us. Beds are comfortable, and the bathroom was decent sized. We requested for a microwave, and the manager quite promptly brought us one.

Halls Gap motel is good value for its location and the great view. We would love to be back next time.

  • Stayed: April 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank cwchang
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Vern K, Manager at Halls Gap Motel, responded to this reviewResponded 16 March 2018

Thanks

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 March 2013

Making a trip to the Grampians was a decision to get out of Melbourne on the F1 weekend. Luckily for us we had booked the room in advance as it was fully occupied. The weekends apparently are the busiest in Halls Gap with lots of students, weekenders and familes coming to explore the National Park. The room we were allocated was a liitle tight but the bathroom was spacious with a shower cubicle. The room has a queen bed and a single bed, a small dining table and a sofa. A mini fridge, toaster and some cutlery/crockery is provided. However upon request we were given a microwave and additional cutlery/crockery. Daily room makeup is upon request and we did not feel the need for it during our short stay. The Motel is only a short walk from the small town centre which has cafes, restaurants, gift shops, newsagent as well as the Visitors Center. In the evening as the sun begins to set, the animals and birds come to graze close to the Motel grounds and the owners have placed chairs in the garden giving visitors an opportunity to observe the birds and animals. It was absolutely wonderful for us. Located in the valley, Halls Gap is surrounded by the mountains and it is beautiful. Weather was perfect except for a little rain and chill during our stay on the second day but we were happy to drive along the trails recommended to view the waterfalls and the lookouts. This was our first visit and we just loved the place.

  • Stayed: March 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank tina p
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Peter S, Manager at Halls Gap Motel, responded to this reviewResponded 29 March 2013

Wow Tina! We are so pleased that you loved the place and all that we had to offer. The wildlife and scenery in the Grampians is quite spectacular and as you mentioned worth the visit. We would love to welcome you back and hope that a return visit is in the future for you.
Kind regards

Jennie
Halls Gap Motel

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 March 2013

Willing to explore a bit of the Grampians, we stopped 2 nights in this motel. We had a great time there. The management was very friendly and helpful (as we got delayed by the fires in the area, they waited for us so we could do our check in and have a place to stay).
The room was big enough and clean.
What was great for us (non aussies) was to have roos all over the place, have a great view on the mountains and we could also see wild deers. It was very cool

  • Stayed: February 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Monique L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Peter S, Manager at Halls Gap Motel, responded to this reviewResponded 7 March 2013

Dear Monique,

Thank you for your positive review. We are always happy to help in any way we can to make all guests including "non Aussies" have an enjoyable experience here at Halls Gap Motel in the Grampians Loved your accents! Thanks again for choosing to stay with us.
Kind regards

Jennie & Daniel

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews